We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous hotel, iffy location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 15 February 2012

this hotel is wonderful, like stepping back in time but with modern amenities. the only draw back is the area around the hotel is a bit spotty, but that seems to be the norm in san jose. the rooms are well appointed with good bathrooms. there are 2 hot tubs on the terrace, the bar/restaurant are is beautiful with stained glass and art everywhere. the food is incredible, wonderfully seasoned and sauced. it was our best meal in costa rica. service is perfect with a very helpful staff. we stay here our first 2 nights before heading off the see the country and it was a great beginning.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
Thank verysatisfied09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,087 - 1,093 of 1,807 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed here on our way in and out of San Jose (one night each time), and it was the perfect place to relax and refresh. We chose the standard room but it was everything we needed. The food in the restaurant is very good, as is their choice of wines. The staff were also wonderful, and the front reception desk really helpful. I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Standard room was excellent so I suspect you'll be fine whatever you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gftb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We started our Costa Rica vacation at this hotel as our commute to our first resort was a 3.5 hour drive from San Jose. The hotel was very nice. It is situated within walking distance to the main shopping and restaurants of San Jose. We did take a strole around town but decided to have dinner at our own hotel which I'm sure likely topped anywhere else we could have eaten. We stayed in their best room - the Vista De Oro Suite. It was everything it stated it would be. Large, grand and decadent. The jacuzzi worked a little slow but we were still able to enjoy it. Our friends stayed in one of the garden suites which was very pretty as it had a view of a tropical garden to which there were many within the hotel. The staff were friendly and helped make our stay very enjoyable. A great way to start of a vacation!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is away from the lobby. This is a boutique Inn style hotel so it is an old wood...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OffTheBeatenPath_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The Hotel Grano de Oro is a beautiful building and although our room was a bit small, it had its own private patio with foutain that was wonderful! It was clean, the shower was good sized and the service was excellent!

No breakfast offered. I enjoyed my dinner but my husband was disappointed with his sea bass. Still, it was a lovely restaurant and we both really liked our time spent there.

San Jose was very much like any big foreign city - people everywhere, crazy traffic and many vendors selling average-ish souvenirs but we had fun walking around the central market taking in the local culture and got some good souvenirs from a store recommended to us by the front desk. I would definitely stop and ask the front desk for recommendations/directions if you aren't interested in "exploring" as San Jose can be difficult to navigate since not all the streets are labeled.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private terrace - not sure if they all had them, but ours did and we loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This is really beautiful hotel in the city. Super clean and very professional staff. The restaurant there is also excellent. We had dinner and breakfast. It is a little pricey but worth it. The only thing that is a little tricky is there is not much to do around the hotel. Also, there is a roof top jacuzzi that is great after you spend a week traveling through CR. I would stay there again if I was in San Jose.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrockny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

The hotel is very nice, but if you can skip San Jose - do so. There is NOTHING to do. I thought we would be able to walk around and visit stores and have dinner. Boy, was I wrong. We walked up the boulevard and it is just filled with junk type discount stores. We ended up eating at Wendy's or something like that.....so disappointed.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ts118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleGDO, General Manager at Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

We are pleased you felt the hotel was nice but very disappointed that you felt there was nothing to do in San Jose. We wish you would have asked! To start off we recommend the popular ‘Barrio Bird Walking Tour’ which really doesn’t have anything to do with birds but will introduce you, in two hours, to the true, vibrant city center and its wonderful people. Once you are familiar with the center you can explore on your own, visiting the Gold or Jade Museum, the central market, the Costa Rica Art Museum ….. and when you want to take a break, enjoy a cup of Costa Rican coffee at the Cafe 1810 in front of the stately Teatro National, or try some of the world’s best coffee ice cream at Pops ice cream store just around the corner on Ave Central, or better yet do both! Hopefully you will give San Jose another chance and really get to know her!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The great thing about the Hotel Grano de Oro is that most of us have heard not to spend that much time in San Jose, that there isn't much to see, etc. So when you pull up to HGO, you feel that you found a gem because it's such a wonderful hotel with tons of character. We stayed one night before we left for Tabacon and it was such a wonderful first night. We had a cute room facing an outdoor courtyard. There are multiple rooms scattered about the hotel with tons of winding hallways! The manager left us a tropical fruit plate since it was our honeymoon which was nice. The room was moderate sized and the bathroom spacious. Everything was extremely clean. The front desk was extremely helpful. We ate dinner the first night at the hotel which was delicious and then the next day, we had breakfast in the courtyard which was lovely!! We took the advice of the front desk and did a 3 hour walk through downtown which was great to just experience the city. We walked back to HGO and used their hot tub which was really nice (although not that hot). If there was more to do in San Jose or the hotel was closer to the airport, we would have stayed longer. The hotel does offer pickup from the San Jose airport to their hotel for $30 which was reasonable and our driver was super nice!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfindoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#6 of 78 in San Jose
1,527 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
926 reviews
4.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
976 reviews
1.1 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £129 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro
Grano De Oro San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing