We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Friendly staff and cute bedrooms. We stayed one night at the start of our 15 day holiday in Costa Rica and two nights at the end.

On our first visit we had a lovely room off the courtyard. They gave us a fruit platter in our room after we had arrived in San Jose quite late.

On our second stay we had a smaller room and it was quite noisy.

The staff on the lobby are friendly the hotel is very attractive and enhanced with tropical flowers. We ate at the restaraunt twice, the food and settings were good but we were not so impressed with the service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,824)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,054 - 1,060 of 1,824 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

We will absolutely come back to this hotel! I don't normally write reviews about hotels but in this case I have to make an exception. Our family visited San Jose in February 2012. We stayed for 2 weeks venturing out on day trips seeing as much of Costa Rica as we could. It was always a highlight returning to the peaceful sanctuary of the Hotel Grano de Oro. Service was always first class and the staff treated us as if we were family. The restaurant is amazing! It was nice to be able to have the choice to either sit inside their beautiful Victorian era dining room or in their outdoor centre courtyard which felt like you were sitting in a tropical garden! I think during our stay we tried almost everything on their dinner menu, never being disappointed, favorites going to either the roast duck or the beef tenderloin! It also seemed like we had our own personal waiter catering to our every need, very impressed. The rooms are very tastefully decorated and seemed like staying in a Victorian mansion which apparently it was before it was renovated into a hotel. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone without any hesitation!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed here one night and liked it a lot. The building is beautiful and beautifully decorated. The staff was very nice and helpful. We didn't actually have a window in our room, but we did have a private semi-outdoor space which really more than made up for it. In the morning, I was walking around in the hallways (which connect to some semi-outdoor areas) just exploring the place and a hummingbird flew by. I would have liked to stay another night.

It was a little pricey, but I don't feel I was grossly overcharged given how nice the place is.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken_from_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed in Grano de oro, for a few days on march 2012. The place is amazing. It all kept that colonial style, and the food, costumer service and rooms were outstanding. The place in general makes you feel very good and relaxed right in the middle of a not that nice city.
If i ever go back to San jose, we´ll stay there no doubt.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patriciabasquette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Absolutely no complaints about this hotel. The room was spectacular, the decor great and the service was excellent. Didn't have much time in San Jose and from the little I did see of it, can't say I'm too upset. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7ericcantona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

A beautiful hotel with excellent service and food. We wished we could have stayed more than one night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbpotter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed here 2+1 nights on our way into and out of Costa Rica. The hotel is located in a neighborhood that looks iffy when you land from North America, but you get accustomed to most houses and shops in San Jose fortified with chain link fences and barbed wire after a while. We weren't sure the GPS was working correctly right up until we got to the intersection that the hotel is at.

We had a standard room the first two nights. The room was located in the ground floor courtyard area. The room itself was immaculately clean and comfortable, even tastefully finished. The next morning we were woken up by birds outside our window, which, even though sounds delightful, is a bit of a pain when it's 5 am and tired after a long flight, all we wanted was to sleep in. There are also plenty of guests leaving early in the morning for day trips from San Jose, and it was noisy beginning at 6 am.

The restaurant is very well reviewed, but frankly, I don't see what the fuss is about over the food. Dinner the night of our arrival was very average. The decor is wonderful, very appealing visually, and the desserts are good if overpriced.

The hotel does not have a pool, but the two rooftop hot tubs are inviting. The staff is pleasant enough, with a sort of detachment that comes with bigger hotels.

The final night of our visit, we had the family suite which cost about $50 more, but was completely worth it. The noise level was much more acceptable in this upstairs suite. It comfortably sleeps 5 in two rooms. On the eve of our departure from CR, we ate at Kalu's - a sandwich and pasta kind of place where the yuppies hang out- about a 10 minute drive from the hotel. Delicious!

The hotel is definitely not within walking distance of the central downtown area, especially if traveling with kids. However, the roads are easily navigable with a GPS and a hotel map.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room where the noise level is way less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VarshaDamle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,563 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
945 reviews
4.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 78 in San Jose
989 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £121 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro
Grano De Oro San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing