We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Some relatives stayed for three nights at this hotel and they loved it. The restaurant and the service is very good.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank Smith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,784)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,023 - 1,029 of 1,785 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

Wow this place is a magnificent restored mansion with ice cold rooms and great beds at a fair price . They really try super hard to take care of you and the WI-FI is the best ever in a hotel .
Now when I go to a restaurant in another country you have to take the culture and flavors under consideration . Why isn't this restaurant area packed out ? Certainly the dining area is superb but for the price of the food wholly molly its just not up to par . You need reservations because its not very filled so they keep staff as needed . Everything gets doused in a not so original gravy although my corvina (fish everything is corvina down here for some reason ) and later fajitas was a 10 . Gordon Ramsay really needs to pop in because the culinary aspects of such a fine looking place are not better really than a Fridays and that is sad because this fine place deserves "fine dining" . The service does magnificent with what they have to work with . You will pay a fortune for your dinning experience here by the way . My advice , stay here , use the Jacuzzi , relax . Have a drink at the bar , but definitely eat elsewhere .

Room Tip: Ask for the cheap room . They say its sold out but it miraculously becomes available . Plus I had an...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TAK_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of our trip in Costa Rica. It is well priced and located only about a mile from the central walk in town and tourist attractions. We walked everywhere and had no problems at all. The staff was very helpful and the food in the restaurant was delicious. We arrived too late for dinner the first night--but had a lovely basket of fruit and a bottle of wine awaiting us (we had upgraded to a suite) and we stowed our stuff and kicked back and relaxed overlooking the city. The second night we had dinner in the dining room and it was delicious! Breakfast was included in our room rate and it was excellent as well. I loved the Gallo Pinto there--lots of different flavors. We will book this hotel again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Virginia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Delicious breakfasts, friendly staff and a charming hotel with well-designed and comfortable rooms, a fantastic sun deck and great decoration. The perfect place to stay in San Jose.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Grano de Oro for a couple of nights in January 2012 and we absolutely loved it!!! The hotel is beautiful-great location, all the staff is super friendly and the food at their restaurant is absolutely outstanding! We ate their almost everyday and there was not one dish we disliked. Everything was prepared with so much love and the quality of food was absolutely first class! Everyone took so good care of us and they really made us feel like home! The interior design of the entire house is abosultely stunning! They have a really pretty outdoor courtyard where we always enjoyed our breakfast - the selection of their fresh pressed fruit juices is fabulous!
The rooms are all super clean, really pretty and very comfortable!
We can recommend this hotel highly to everyone who travels to the beautiful country of Costa Rica. You won't be disappointed - this place is a little paradise in the city of San Jose!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niki123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Wonderful place nice quaint rooms. Excellent staff, very helpful. Always willing to go above and beyond with service. Great doormen. Maid service was great as well.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

A boutique hotel with comfortable rooms, a good restaurant and fairly friendly and professional staff.
Some drawbacks, such as a limited menu, facilities and space.
However, a very interesting starting point in this nature friendly country.

Room Tip: The suites are the best. Choose room 20 or the ones nearby
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlosmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,471 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
900 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,441 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
957 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £117 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro
Grano De Oro San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing