We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is golden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Austin,TX
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place is golden”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed here two nights at the end of our trip, and it was absolutely wonderful. I don't have one negative thing to say. The staff was helpful at every turn and truly took care of us. The room's amenities included shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, lotion, soap, a blow dryer, a non-slip mat for inside the tub, two bathrobes, a coffee pot, extra pillows, a safe, a minibar, a TV, chairs and a table, and lovely french windows that opened and overlooked a small garden below. Surprisingly for San Jose, our room, a king deluxe, was also very quiet. Our room was toward the back of the hotel. And the restaurant was simply fabulous. We ate breakfast and dinner there on our full day at the hotel, and there were absolutely the best meals of the trip. Also, don't miss out on the jacuzzi area. There are two hot tubs with plenty of chairs for relaxing and reading. Also, this hotel is an easy walking distance to the largest park in San Jose, which is lovely in its own right. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themissingtrunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,293
    396
    51
    21
    15
See reviews for
298
1,049
58
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We very much enjoyed the warm and efficient service offered by the Grano de Oro staff. The hotel and restaurant are elegant and well appointed. The room we choose was not big, however very comfortable and perfect for a great night sleep. This is the perfect hotel for everything San Jose, CR.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopangaMalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed in rm 7 it was lovely. Private enclosed courtyard , good sized bathroom but most importantly a very comfortable bed! Staff all very friendly & helpful & spoke very good English. The restaurant is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSmithsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We arrived late one evening 5 minutes before the restaurant closed. We were greeted outside and the staff provided us with the menus as we checked in tired and hungry. We ordered room service and they delivered our food and wine quickly. The beef tenderloin was absolutely delicious. Just what I wanted for my 50th birthday dinner. The staff, room, and food was excellent. We are looking forward to our return in 3 days before heading back to the U.S. P. Muesse and T. Theriot

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Teddy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

this place is located near the large downtown park in san jose-a drab city in a pretty country that is only worth a days visit if you are flying in/out of san jose airport located about 20 mins. away by car. downtown san jose is fairly compact and the hotel is about a 15 min. walk away from most sites. the hotel itself is very pretty and the rooms comfortable. the ac is quiet-tho the staff when you arrive often leave the windows open letting the bugs in. the restaurant is good if pricey-there are many alternatives in town. there is no pool or hot tub. staff are friendly. there is free wifi.
enjoy....

Room Tip: pick a room away from street noise overlooking the inner Spanish courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2travel4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Grano de Oro is awesome. a boutique hotel with a great restaurant and excellent food. Service is absolutely the best! We stayed in a deluxe room with a private patio that was enclosed, had plants, a cafe table and chairs and romantic lighting. This added such an intimate touch. The room was awesome and beautifully decorated. Spacious bathroom with relaxing tub and shower. The restaurant is beautifully decorated in a antebellum style that is quaint. Highly recommend the pineapple juice and Tico breakfast. The duck is an excellent dinner choice. There is an attached gift shop with all items locally made in Costa Rica!

Room Tip: Deluxe Room with enclosed patio with fountain and plants!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marsha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morganton, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

After enduring a six hour flight, Grano de Oro was our first stop on on my husband and I's honeymoon. The staff was so incredibly nice, the food at the restaurant delicious, and the accommodations very clean. Anyone with even a one-night stay in San Jose should enjoy this gem of a hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,454 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
892 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,424 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
950 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Property: Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro
Grano De Oro San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing