We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel! First time in Central America.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My brother and I stayed here for 3 nights. Staff and accommodations were awesome. The restaurant staff was very efficient and cordial. Our room was perfectly located. Loved hearing the birds at night.

Room Tip: Our room was near a central courtyard with a fountain.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevinjohnson725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,786)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

730 - 736 of 1,786 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed here two nights at the end of our trip, and it was absolutely wonderful. I don't have one negative thing to say. The staff was helpful at every turn and truly took care of us. The room's amenities included shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, lotion, soap, a blow dryer, a non-slip mat for inside the tub, two bathrobes, a coffee pot, extra pillows, a safe, a minibar, a TV, chairs and a table, and lovely french windows that opened and overlooked a small garden below. Surprisingly for San Jose, our room, a king deluxe, was also very quiet. Our room was toward the back of the hotel. And the restaurant was simply fabulous. We ate breakfast and dinner there on our full day at the hotel, and there were absolutely the best meals of the trip. Also, don't miss out on the jacuzzi area. There are two hot tubs with plenty of chairs for relaxing and reading. Also, this hotel is an easy walking distance to the largest park in San Jose, which is lovely in its own right. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themissingtrunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We very much enjoyed the warm and efficient service offered by the Grano de Oro staff. The hotel and restaurant are elegant and well appointed. The room we choose was not big, however very comfortable and perfect for a great night sleep. This is the perfect hotel for everything San Jose, CR.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TopangaMalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed in rm 7 it was lovely. Private enclosed courtyard , good sized bathroom but most importantly a very comfortable bed! Staff all very friendly & helpful & spoke very good English. The restaurant is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSmithsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We arrived late one evening 5 minutes before the restaurant closed. We were greeted outside and the staff provided us with the menus as we checked in tired and hungry. We ordered room service and they delivered our food and wine quickly. The beef tenderloin was absolutely delicious. Just what I wanted for my 50th birthday dinner. The staff, room, and food was excellent. We are looking forward to our return in 3 days before heading back to the U.S. P. Muesse and T. Theriot

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Teddy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

this place is located near the large downtown park in san jose-a drab city in a pretty country that is only worth a days visit if you are flying in/out of san jose airport located about 20 mins. away by car. downtown san jose is fairly compact and the hotel is about a 15 min. walk away from most sites. the hotel itself is very pretty and the rooms comfortable. the ac is quiet-tho the staff when you arrive often leave the windows open letting the bugs in. the restaurant is good if pricey-there are many alternatives in town. there is no pool or hot tub. staff are friendly. there is free wifi.
enjoy....

Room Tip: pick a room away from street noise overlooking the inner Spanish courtyard
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love2travel4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Grano de Oro is awesome. a boutique hotel with a great restaurant and excellent food. Service is absolutely the best! We stayed in a deluxe room with a private patio that was enclosed, had plants, a cafe table and chairs and romantic lighting. This added such an intimate touch. The room was awesome and beautifully decorated. Spacious bathroom with relaxing tub and shower. The restaurant is beautifully decorated in a antebellum style that is quaint. Highly recommend the pineapple juice and Tico breakfast. The duck is an excellent dinner choice. There is an attached gift shop with all items locally made in Costa Rica!

Room Tip: Deluxe Room with enclosed patio with fountain and plants!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marsha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,475 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
900 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,444 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
957 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £117 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro
Grano De Oro San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing