We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in San Jose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 18 February 2014

A beautiful old world hotel. While the rooms are a bit small, they were quite comfortable. The hotel is only a block and a half off the central avenue, but the beautiful gardens made us feel like we were in the remote jungle. The restaurant is world class, but very European. The only caveat is the "free shuttle" which the driver asked for money on both occasions.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room. Some of the rooms are buried underground
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timjcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

684 - 690 of 1,788 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

My partner and I stayed here for one night at the end of our week trip in Costa Rica in March 2013. It was a fantastic way to end our vacation. The hotel is small and feels like a boutique hotel. I was impressed with the furnishings in our room and bathroom, and the restaurant, with its outdoor courtyard, is charming. A few other reviewers commented on the hotel's location. When we first arrived I thought the location seemed a little odd and out of the way. But after spending a little time in San Jose, I think the location is excellent. The neighborhood feels quiet and safe and the central part of town is only a 15/20 minute walk, or a very short cab ride away. It's within easy walking distance of a fairly large and nice park as well as a handful of restaurants and convenience stores. If you're staying in San Jose before or after your trip, I recommend staying here rather than near the airport. While the city doesn't have a tremendous amount to offer in terms of tourist attractions, it's worth checking out and you can't go wrong with this hotel. (It is also easy to get to/from the airport if you have a rental car.)

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank marco3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My husband and I stayed one night at Hotel Grano de Oro on a recent trip to Costa Rica. The hotel staff was easy to deal with during online bookings. We arrived during the early morning hours and were allowed immediate check in. The front desk and bell staff were friendly and accommodating and helped us to our room. The room was luxurious with a comfortable bed and modern decorations and amenities. The hotel is located in a safe area and we walked to the city center and to a nearby restaurant for dinner. We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Grano de Oro and would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shayni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We had two great nights here in an amazing and comfortable room. The whole place was charming and the staff were excellent.

But outstripping even that was dinner. We ate in the restaurant the first night and (unusually for us because we tend to explore) we ate there again on the second night. Beautifully cooked and presented food; from good ingredients and not over-elaborate; backed up by a good wine list.

A great end to a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Our room had a grotto with a fountain and we only found the switch to turn it off on day 2. On the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p47rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the beginning of our vacation and one night at the end. What can I say?This hotel is fantastic, like something out of a film of bygone times. The rooms are spacious, peaceful and quiet. The staff are so helpful and professional but what amazed us the most was the food. The food quality is outstanding, presentation, service,atmosphere in the dining room, everything was unbelievable. Also, the price was extremely reasonable, if this had been in the UK it would have been 100 times the cost for probably not the same quality. I would just like to mention the waiter that served our table who was called Hugo. This man is professional, polite and a credit to the hotel.
On check out the following day we had an early start for our flight back to the UK. We requested a breakfast box and expected a few sandwiches in a box .No, not this hotel,,we had 2 huge boxes packed with juice,croissants,yogurts,jams etc!!!
Highly recommended and really hope one day we will return to this special hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jax11ard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

From the moment you step into the Grano de Oro you feel the gradeur of yesterday. We felt very welcomed, the staff were all great, the hotel is a beautifully updated classic hotel which became our home away from home while in San Jose. The city of San Jose is a bit grimey, but this was prestine. We had delicious meals there each day, and our room, a suite, had a magnificent view of the city especially at night. We chose the right place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for the suite with a view to get the most out of your stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed here only 2 nights at the start of our trip and feel we were too jet lagged to appreciate it fully!
The mansion is very cosy, the rooms are great and the restaurant very posh! On sunday night this seems to be the meeting place for rich Costa ricans and business people.
From here we took a trip to Poas

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChP313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,486 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
908 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
961 reviews
4.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,459 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £122 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro
Grano De Oro San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing