We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, beautiful, great service- great way to start your vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed here just one night to kick off a 10 day trip to Costa Rica, so we didnt stay long, but I was very impressed in under 12 hours. We got in late, the staff was waiting for us and helped us with our kids, bags, etc. I am mobility impaired and even though they are a small hotel they went out of their way to help me. We had a beautiful room in a tiny garden and got room service very late at night b/c we got in so late. The hotel is incredibly charming and pretty. If we go back to San Jose would stay here.

Room Tip: If you are mobility impaired tell them; we got a great room on a lower floor but still quiet and bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvnicehotels2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 652 of 1,820 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed the first and last night of our trip to Costa Rica the end of April/beginning of May. We had a deluxe patio room the first night and the Garden Suite the last night. Both rooms are exceptional-clean, comfortable and beautiful. The staff are attentive and helpful. Ate dinner both nights at the restaurant and breakfast one morning. The service is wonderful, food is delicious and price is reasonable for the quality. Took a cab to the National Museum, ate a local restaurant suggested by staff and walked back from there to the hotel through the Central Market. San Jose is like any other large city in the world. With common sense, it is perfectly safe. Having lived in a neighborhood in San Jose for a summer in college, the hotel's neighborhood is no different or less safe than any other community in the area.

Room Tip: The Garden Suite was worth the additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CW2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My friends and I stayed two weeks in a house in Ojochal, but needed a place in San Jose the night before our flights home. This location was the perfect choice. Great, friendly, knowledgeable staff. Gorgeous and comfortable setting/rooms. Fabulous restaurant... actually just all around fabulous.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pixelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I kept coming back to this hotel as part of my holiday in costa rica. The staff were super friendly and helpful. Rooms were lovely, fresh and clean. Breakfast was delicious. I used room service as the restaurant looked a little too formal for an evening meal when I was on my own. The menu had a good variety and was delicious. I had a massage in their spa which was super relaxing after the long flight to costa rica. Sadly it was fully booked on each of my return trips so it might be worth trying to book in advance. All my rooms were well sized. My only criticism was that guests seem to be awake very early for activities and transfers. Despite the signs in the corridors there was little respect for other guests need for peace and quiet as they left the hotel in the early hours.

Room Tip: 11 was the best one during my stay as it was slightly tucked away. I had an upgrade to 33 on my last...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

After having spent considerable time online searching for a good hotel we decided that this was possibly the best in San Jose. Luckily we were not disappointed.

The hotel is located near the city centre, within a walking distance of 20 minutes. It did not look like other and better hotels are close to the centre. Besides, the city itself does not offers much in terms of points of interest.

On the plus side: the whole hotel grounds and our room were spotlessly clean; our room was on the internal courtyard and it had nice wooden floor and a white bathroom with new appliances. Personnel is helpful and courteous. Being a boutique hotel with only 40 rooms, gives the hotel a lot of character.

It has a couple of jacuzzis on a top level terrace, but no pool. We also ordered breakfast and dinner room service and both were very good.

On the minus side: the room was a bit dark and lacking storage space. The bed was also small and a bit uncomfortable for tall people. A pool would be nice, but I guess there is not enough space for it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dierregi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed at the Grano do Oro after a redeye flight before departing to points further in Costa Rica and, again, at the end of our adventure before flying home. Each time, we were impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel and friendliness of the staff.

The bed was super comfy.
We enjoyed a private terrace with a garden and fountain in one room.
WiFi available.
Delicious restaurant.
All good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RookieHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I think this hotel is very good for the beginning or the ending of your trip. That's what we did and it was very nice and easy getting from and to the airport.
There is a nice park a short walk away and we we're lucky to come when the Art festival was taking place so there was a nice flea market and shows at the park.

The staff & crew - very nice and accommodating. We didn't needed them much but every interaction with them was very pleasant.

The restaurant staff - excellent service!

the restaurant - VERY GOOD!
We ate there twice dinner and breakfast and everything was very good and tasteful.

The rooms - Very nice. the couples rooms did not have a bathtub but all the rest did and it was very nice to discover they had not only Shampoo & soap but also conditioner which I found very useful.
the stream could have been better but we had hot water all the time.

Very clean!! They cleaned our rooms on a daily basis even when we stayed for 2 nights.

The hotel is one of the best (if not the best) decorated hotels I've ever seen!
It is so pretty and green it makes you feel relaxed just by looking around you.

There is no pool ,however, there are 2 Jacuzzi's side by side in the garden.
I think it was nice if they had a pool but we enjoyed the jacuzzi very much.

The hotel is very quite, Which I fund very much , and that is way I think it is suitable for all type of travellers beside big families with little kids who are looking for attractions.


I will gladly come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with bathtub if that matters to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Offy_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,560 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 78 in San Jose
944 reviews
4.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £121 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro
Grano De Oro San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing