We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent downtown hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was the first hotel we stayed at as a part of our honeymoon in May 2014. This was a great hotel in downtown San Jose. You might think that it would be loud and hear a lot of car traffic considering it's location to a major road but inside the room you do not hear it. Our room was very clean and the perfect size. It included a private rain room that allowed you to sit outside when it rained. There were also Jacuzzi's up on the roof. There was usually no one using them but we traveled during the off season. They were a great way to wrap up a busy day.

The staff were very helpful in setting up excursions or just trying to get around the city. They will also hold your bags if you have overnight excursions but plan to return to the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dan0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

610 - 616 of 1,788 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose is beautiful. The staff is extremely accommodating and helped us with all of our tour and restaurant reservations. The restaurant in the hotel is also very impressive. It is beautiful, and the food is consistently amazing. In addition, we received some incredible massages by the massage service with which the hotel has partnered. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The room had a cozy vibe, it felt more like a bed and breakfast. The bed was very comfortable, the room had a decent bathroom with a big tub, flat screen tv, safe and mini bar/ fridge. The hotel staff was fabulous. I was not feeling well and they offered to make me some chicken broth soup that was not on the menu. They were very kind and friendly. I had the opportunity to get a massage in the hotel and I highly recommend it. The food at the restaurant was excellent along with the service. The hotel offers airport pick up for a charge, contacting ahead is highly recommended, since they were almost not able to accommodate when I called the same day. However, they managed to picked me up.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moyanomaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We booked a room on both bookends of our trip, on the recommendations of two friends, as we flew in and out of San Jose. I am so glad we listened to them!

What a gorgeous entrance to the hotel. We were greeted warmly outside, and were given assistance carrying our bags into the lobby, and eventually to our room. The front desk personnel are great, and we were given a delicious juice in a champagne flute. Nice touch! The personnel speak English very well, but I chose to speak in Spanish to practice up a bit since we were in a Spanish speaking country.

The room was fantastic! We had the garden view room for our first night as the deluxe patio room was not available. It was a great room, large, big bathroom and very comfortable. The view of the garden was very nice and we slept with the windows open, and it was so quiet.

Where we stayed on the Caribbean side of Costa Rica once we left San Jose could not even compare to the Hotel Grano de Oro, and we longed to be back every night. We decided to leave our place in Puerto Viejo one day early and head back to San Jose so we could finish our trip by once again staying in a grand hotel.

This time, the deluxe patio room was available, and it was even better than the garden room. Loved the private patio with bubbling fountain, very large room, and huge bathroom.

The food is excellent! We had 1 breakfast, and 3 dinners over the course of our stays. Service is very good, and the ambience is very relaxing. We sat out on the patio for all of our meals, even once while it was raining.

Some of the amenities in the rooms:
Great wifi
Shampoo, conditioner and body gel provided
In room coffee/ tea
Flat screen TV
Mini bar
Safe
Very comfortable beds

Room Tip: The deluxe patio room was gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chefstevef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The accommodations were excellent! The beds were soft, the room was clean, and the staff attentive. The ambiance of the corridors was inviting and quaint. We ate at the restaurant for dinner and they had our reservation down for the wrong night. They scrambled and seated us, but not in the courtyard as we had requested, so we were disappointed with our location in the dining room. The food was okay, but I thought it could have been seasoned better. We also lost our server midway through our dinner with no explanation. I guess he got ill, but the replacement was just as attentive. We arrived on a Saturday and left the next day, so it is hard to say what the neighborhood was like during the work week, but we did walk to the Gold Museum and ate lunch out and felt safe in going to and from which was quite a bit away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TammySnellville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel dependencies are very luxurious.
The attendants are very attentive and serve you with a smile in the face.
The restaurant is impressive.
Good waiters, cost benefit and fabulous food.
Perfect combination.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduardo284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a gorgeous hotel with a great restaurant, and I wish we could have stayed more than one night! The staff was very friendly and courteous and even offered us a free room upgrade. I would definitely recommend getting a room with a garden patio - ours was beautiful, filled with lush plants, and was a perfect place to relax or enjoy room service. I liked that the hotel was in San Jose proper, and was an easy 20-minute walk to the Mercado Central.

Room Tip: A garden patio room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,486 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
908 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
961 reviews
4.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,459 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £122 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro
Grano De Oro San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing