We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Miss!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bulverde, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Do Not Miss!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Even if you do not stay at this hotel (which I highly recommend you do), you absolutely must eat at the restaurant. The food is out of this world and the atmosphere is so relaxing I didn't even need a glass of wine. The service is one word: perfection. You will feel like royalty. The room was large, chic, comfortable, clean, and quiet, with a window looking to the inner tropical garden. The gift shop was also outstanding, with lots of lovely things made in Costa Rica by hand. I only stayed one night at this hotel but would go back and stay longer for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,293
    396
    52
    21
    15
See reviews for
298
1,049
59
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, clean and organized. Rooms are comfy and won't wanna get up bed.
Delicious and excellent quality food in restaurant sitting in a spanish type patio surrounded by plants, birds good ambience music and original arquitecture.
Outstanding service, staff will be happy to help you with anything you need: tours, get around etc...

You will not regret if you stay at this hotel. That is for sure.

Pura vida!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wizkonzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel was absolutely fantastic.! We stayed in the hotel for 11 days and had nothing but perfect service from the time of arrival. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted with a fresh glass of fruit juice, smiles and perfect service.

The entire staff at this hotel are exceptional. From the room service, to the bell men, to the concierge, to the front desk, to the maid service. I'm not sure who trained the staff but they should offer their services to other hotels as well.

The restaurant food was exceptional. Even if you don't stay here at the Gran de Oro stop by and eat at their restaurant. It's the best food we had during our time here in Costa Rica.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to stay in San Jose and travel to visit other daily destinations.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend the ground floor that surrounds the court yard, or atrium it's absolute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jennseely1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was the first hotel we stayed at as a part of our honeymoon in May 2014. This was a great hotel in downtown San Jose. You might think that it would be loud and hear a lot of car traffic considering it's location to a major road but inside the room you do not hear it. Our room was very clean and the perfect size. It included a private rain room that allowed you to sit outside when it rained. There were also Jacuzzi's up on the roof. There was usually no one using them but we traveled during the off season. They were a great way to wrap up a busy day.

The staff were very helpful in setting up excursions or just trying to get around the city. They will also hold your bags if you have overnight excursions but plan to return to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dan0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose is beautiful. The staff is extremely accommodating and helped us with all of our tour and restaurant reservations. The restaurant in the hotel is also very impressive. It is beautiful, and the food is consistently amazing. In addition, we received some incredible massages by the massage service with which the hotel has partnered. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The room had a cozy vibe, it felt more like a bed and breakfast. The bed was very comfortable, the room had a decent bathroom with a big tub, flat screen tv, safe and mini bar/ fridge. The hotel staff was fabulous. I was not feeling well and they offered to make me some chicken broth soup that was not on the menu. They were very kind and friendly. I had the opportunity to get a massage in the hotel and I highly recommend it. The food at the restaurant was excellent along with the service. The hotel offers airport pick up for a charge, contacting ahead is highly recommended, since they were almost not able to accommodate when I called the same day. However, they managed to picked me up.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moyanomaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We booked a room on both bookends of our trip, on the recommendations of two friends, as we flew in and out of San Jose. I am so glad we listened to them!

What a gorgeous entrance to the hotel. We were greeted warmly outside, and were given assistance carrying our bags into the lobby, and eventually to our room. The front desk personnel are great, and we were given a delicious juice in a champagne flute. Nice touch! The personnel speak English very well, but I chose to speak in Spanish to practice up a bit since we were in a Spanish speaking country.

The room was fantastic! We had the garden view room for our first night as the deluxe patio room was not available. It was a great room, large, big bathroom and very comfortable. The view of the garden was very nice and we slept with the windows open, and it was so quiet.

Where we stayed on the Caribbean side of Costa Rica once we left San Jose could not even compare to the Hotel Grano de Oro, and we longed to be back every night. We decided to leave our place in Puerto Viejo one day early and head back to San Jose so we could finish our trip by once again staying in a grand hotel.

This time, the deluxe patio room was available, and it was even better than the garden room. Loved the private patio with bubbling fountain, very large room, and huge bathroom.

The food is excellent! We had 1 breakfast, and 3 dinners over the course of our stays. Service is very good, and the ambience is very relaxing. We sat out on the patio for all of our meals, even once while it was raining.

Some of the amenities in the rooms:
Great wifi
Shampoo, conditioner and body gel provided
In room coffee/ tea
Flat screen TV
Mini bar
Safe
Very comfortable beds

Room Tip: The deluxe patio room was gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chefstevef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,458 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
893 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,426 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
951 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Property: Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro
Grano De Oro San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing