We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I only stayed here one night, but it was fab. Big comfy bed, tv, wifi, bathtub....lovely decor that is elegant and welcoming. The guy at the desk got me pizza as I got in late and was starving. The staff were so sweet. I would definitely stay here again and will be booking here for my last night in Costa Rica this trip. Pura Vida x

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

613 - 619 of 1,807 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

My family and I stayed one night at the Hotel Grano De Oro prior to leaving for the airport the following morning. I wish we would have stayed longer. The rooms are simple, yet luxurious with all the amenities required. Our rooms opened up to a garden atrium. Stunning! The staff is so very attentive and accommodating. The restaurant is very elegant and all of the meals are absolutely delicious. If traveling through or staying in San Jose, I definitely recommend a stay at the Hotel Grano de Oro. There are five other boutique hotels that are in partnership with Hotel Grano throughout Costa Rica. If I return to Costa Rica, I would love to stay at one of these boutique hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms opening up to the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Wondering_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Even if you do not stay at this hotel (which I highly recommend you do), you absolutely must eat at the restaurant. The food is out of this world and the atmosphere is so relaxing I didn't even need a glass of wine. The service is one word: perfection. You will feel like royalty. The room was large, chic, comfortable, clean, and quiet, with a window looking to the inner tropical garden. The gift shop was also outstanding, with lots of lovely things made in Costa Rica by hand. I only stayed one night at this hotel but would go back and stay longer for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, clean and organized. Rooms are comfy and won't wanna get up bed.
Delicious and excellent quality food in restaurant sitting in a spanish type patio surrounded by plants, birds good ambience music and original arquitecture.
Outstanding service, staff will be happy to help you with anything you need: tours, get around etc...

You will not regret if you stay at this hotel. That is for sure.

Pura vida!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Wizkonzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel was absolutely fantastic.! We stayed in the hotel for 11 days and had nothing but perfect service from the time of arrival. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted with a fresh glass of fruit juice, smiles and perfect service.

The entire staff at this hotel are exceptional. From the room service, to the bell men, to the concierge, to the front desk, to the maid service. I'm not sure who trained the staff but they should offer their services to other hotels as well.

The restaurant food was exceptional. Even if you don't stay here at the Gran de Oro stop by and eat at their restaurant. It's the best food we had during our time here in Costa Rica.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to stay in San Jose and travel to visit other daily destinations.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend the ground floor that surrounds the court yard, or atrium it's absolute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jennseely1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was the first hotel we stayed at as a part of our honeymoon in May 2014. This was a great hotel in downtown San Jose. You might think that it would be loud and hear a lot of car traffic considering it's location to a major road but inside the room you do not hear it. Our room was very clean and the perfect size. It included a private rain room that allowed you to sit outside when it rained. There were also Jacuzzi's up on the roof. There was usually no one using them but we traveled during the off season. They were a great way to wrap up a busy day.

The staff were very helpful in setting up excursions or just trying to get around the city. They will also hold your bags if you have overnight excursions but plan to return to the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dan0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose is beautiful. The staff is extremely accommodating and helped us with all of our tour and restaurant reservations. The restaurant in the hotel is also very impressive. It is beautiful, and the food is consistently amazing. In addition, we received some incredible massages by the massage service with which the hotel has partnered. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,521 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
925 reviews
4.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
975 reviews
1.1 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £129 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro
Grano De Oro San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing