We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel - clean and exquisite!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 7 August 2014

It was so nice to arrive at the Hotel Grano de Oro after 10 days in the jungle and a day of white water rafting. We had our share of insects and bugs, especially at our last hotel in the La Fortuna area. The grounds were so beautiful with folliage everywhere you walk in the courtyards. Although we were near the city center, it seemed we were in the middle of the jungle, but a clean, luxurious jungle. The interior of the hotel was equally charming and exquisitely decorated. After many days together, 2 of our boys were fighting and didn't want to share beds. The hotel happily provided us with a rollaway bed, free of charge and had it set up within 10 minutes of requesting it.

We ate dinner at the restaurant which was expensive, but delicious. It was pricey for a family of 8, but worth the experience and convenience, especially since it was our last night in Costa Rica. The next time we come to Costa Rica, I will definitely make sure we stay longer at the Hotel Grano de Oro.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kathylynne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

588 - 594 of 1,807 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Deserved high ranking for this classic hotel. No it does not have a pool or an exercise room, but the rest is the mark of a high end hotel. The service is impeccable and helpful from the desk to the room.
The rooms are clean and comfortable. One of the big plusses is the quiet in the hotel, located near a main avenue but not on it.
The decor is worthy of taking pictures.
Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank charles v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a beautiful and peaceful hotel in a residential area of San Jose. Relatively close to the airport and downtown attractions.

Excellent customer service! All of the staff were very professional, friendly and always willing to help out. We actually stayed here twice during our recent visit to Costa Rica. It was very helpful to be able to leave some of our luggage at the hotel while we went to other areas of Costa Rica for a few days.

Rooms - beautifully decorated, cozy, impeccably clean and very quiet. The room also had a safe which was a plus for storing valuables.
Rooftop jacuzzi - nice and relaxing
Restaurant - gorgeous!! especially the open patio area. Plus the food was outstanding! Don't miss this dining experience.
Wifi - free and always had a good connection

Kudos for their conservation and green efforts! Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank acatomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

If it wasn't because of my friend recommending, I would never find Grano De Oro. It's located in a residential area, but just 20 minutes from the centro market. The hotel is a charm, every details from the bathroom to the bed is astonishingly beautiful.

Besides, right next to the hotel just around 3 blocks away, check out Machu Pichu - one of our most favorite restaurant in San Jose - Ask the reception for direction

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Exceptional service. Very disappointed in San Jose. Will not put it on my itinerary next time. Room small but adequate and furnished nicely. Bathroom also adequate. Restaurant worth the visit. Best food and atmosphere ever

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ScottsdaleSchnoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon and loved it! It was very clean and we had our own private patio with a beautiful water fountain. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The roof top jacuzzi was nice and peaceful. Loved the decor of the whole place. Plus the restaurant was amazing! Great food and I have to recommend the pistachio martini!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Casey1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This has to be the most unique hotel in San Jose and probably all of Costa Rica. We stayed here five nights in a lovely room with a beautiful courtyard. The service was excellent. The restaurant is definitely one of the best in San Jose, with an international menu. I am an early riser and I thoroughly enjoyed reading the morning paper in the relaxing lobby with complimentary coffee. it is conveniently located, close to the city center, museums and the National Theatre.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor. Quiet, cool, and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gcamp2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#6 of 78 in San Jose
1,526 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
926 reviews
4.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
976 reviews
1.1 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £129 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro
Grano De Oro San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing