We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECTION!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dallas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“PERFECTION!”
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Hotel and grounds gorgeous, rooms gorgeous, food fabulous, staff was excellent, there is no other way to describe this property other than absolute perfection! We also stayed here our last night in CR. It was so charming and made for an enjoyable stay in San Jose. We loved sitting at our table in the elegant courtyard of the restaurant and talking over our vacation. The food was by far the best of our vacation and less expensive than the meals in the tourist towns. Was a delightful experience!! Will absolutely be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skkeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,276
    389
    51
    21
    15
See reviews for
289
1,038
58
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Osprey, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2009

We spent our last night here before flying back to the US. After a week in the jungle it was bliss to walk into this beautiful hotel. We had two rooms, one with 2 adults and 1 child and the other with 2 adults and 2 children. When we booked all that was left were two rooms with 2 queen beds. The rooms were very large compared to the standard hotel room so we didn't feel cramped at all. Very quiet hotel considering you are almost in the middle of San Jose. There is no pool but there is a rooftop garden with two hot tubs. The kids loved this during the day but I can see it being a very romantic spot in the evening for adults. We had our final evening dinner in the hotel restaurant which is considered one of the best in town. Very elegant, top notch service and outstanding food. Very pricey, especially after $4 arroz con pollo most of the week. Nice final evening after a spectacular week. The hotel is really not near anything for tourists but a 5 minute taxi ride gets you into the heart of San Jose. Very nice gift shop with surprisingly good prices. I got a banana paper pad as a last minute gift for $4 and it was $14.99 at the airport. If you've forgotten any gifts, know you are not getting ripped off here. Staff was very good about giving directions and advice and setting up car service and ordering taxis. Great way to end our trip.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jemmasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

We loved our short stay at Grano de Oro! The room was perfect for us and our two children, ages 8 and 10, but even more, we LOVED our fabulous drinks and dinner at the restaurant Saturday night - the server was attentive to all of us, including our kids, and our food was fabulous. It was the perfect way to wind down from our travel from the states and begin our trip. Our room was very nice and just the right size for the 4 of us.

Our bright, fresh and scrumptious breakfast was almost as good as our dinner...a wonderful way to start the day travelling to the mountains. Everyone made our first night in Costa Rica so special. My husband and I stayed here about 11 years ago and the improvements and expansions made enhanced the hotel, but kept what was so special the first time! Even my kids said it was one of their favorite hotels!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoMom24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, CA, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

We enjoyed our stay at the Grano de Oro on our last night in Costa Rica. Our room was comfortable and our stay was relaxing. The staff was helpful in arranging an early wake-up call and shuttle to the airport. The roof-top Jacuzzi was very nice as well. After 10 days of adventure our daughters said, "There was a good TV and Wifi for once!" The adults enjoyed staying in an historic San Jose hotel -- charming!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelfamily09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Wow. I really wasn't expecting anything like this when I decided to check in to somewhere nice for my final night in Costa Rica. I only wish I'd found it earlier on in my trip. It's a beautiful building of a certain age which has been renovated and maintained in an extremely stylish way; very sympathetic to its original structure.

I had a plush room on the ground floor which was set in a courtyard that had plants aplenty. It felt very tropical. It was a good size (by my UK standards) and I wanted for nothing. The communal areas are lovely and peaceful.

The restaurant and bar are amazing. The right side of upmarket without being stuffy. Felt very special and the food and cocktails did not disappoint. Really, really good.

The location is not why you choose this hotel, but taxis are plentiful to get you into town and back without it marring the experience.

Loved it.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rs05272014j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We just returned from a 9 day vacation in Costa Rica. Grano de Oro was our last stop prior to departure. The hotel is beautiful and elegant, especially the restaurant. I agree with others that it is located in a undesirable area. San Jose is not one of those cities people want to visit, it is dirty, noisy, and crowded. I did not feel safe. So, the hotel is all one will see when staying there. The room was beautiful and comfortable. The weather was nice, so A/C was not an issue for us, but I could see it as a problem if it were hot. I would recommend the hotel if you have to stay in San Jose, but I do not foresee myself ever returning to the city.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLnaturegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We were blown away by the luxury of our room. The hotel restaurant is expensive but worth it. The service found at the Grano de Oro is without flaw.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackypaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,416 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
874 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
4.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 76 in San Jose
2,387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Property: Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro
Grano De Oro San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing