We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Suzanne B
London, United Kingdom

Lovely hotel for a 1 night stopover in San Jose

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Aug 2017via mobile
We stayed here for 1 night at the beginning of our visit to Costa Rica and 1 night at the end (as we were flying in and out of San Jose). It is a delightful little hotel in the centre of the hustle and bustle of San Jose (but positioned down a side street, so very peaceful). The staff are all extremely polite, friendly and helpful. After a lot of travelling, we were greeted with complimentary drinks, many smiles and a room upgrade. We dined in the restaurant once and the food was very good, in smart but relaxed surroundings. The hotel is spotless and perfect for what we needed. Recommend.
Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£125
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £125
1.1 miles from Hotel Grano de Oro
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £58
  • Expedia.com
    £59
1.1 miles from Hotel Grano de Oro
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Lobby
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £112
  • Expedia.com
    £121
0.6 miles from Hotel Grano de Oro
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £121
  • Hotels.com
1.2 miles from Hotel Grano de Oro
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £74
  • Choice Hotels
    £130
1.3 miles from Hotel Grano de Oro
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £128
  • Hotels.com
1.2 miles from Hotel Grano de Oro
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £79
  • Hotels.com
2.5 miles from Hotel Grano de Oro
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £97
  • Booking.com
1.2 miles from Hotel Grano de Oro
Free Wifi
Free parking
£45
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £45
1.7 miles from Hotel Grano de Oro
Free Wifi
Terrace
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £40
  • Hotels.com
1.4 miles from Hotel Grano de Oro
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in San Jose
Reviews (2,201)
Filter reviews
2,201 results
Traveller rating
1,599
482
75
26
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,599
482
75
26
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel garden suite one night costa rica our honeymoon open courtyard roof terrace boutique hotel last night next morning great restaurant hotel in san jose long flight comfortable rooms fountain jacuzzi tubs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
342 - 347 of 2,201 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Having arrived late into Costa Rica, this hotel proved to be just the right spot. Very large room with mini bar drinks and snacks included. Very comfortable beds. Up early in the morning and was given a lovely packed lunch breakfast as too early for restaurant.
Definite recommendation as friendly staff too.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank nickylukecol
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Location of this very stylish converted mansion is excellent for quick trips to the Commercial Center of San Jose. Professional staff went beyond expectations in providing extra needs. Our initial room was too small for us, and we paid to upgrade to a larger room, which was still a bit tight for two travellers.

Room tip: Best to see the size of the room, as it may be too small for travellers' needs.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spklosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

I love this place for business dinners or weekend getaway breakfast time, with the Pinto, local dish. And I also love to come for a delicious coffee or cocktail. The decor is superb, and even more beautiful during Christmas. The dining experience is great with professional staff and delicately prepared dishes. Time seems to stop when you enter this place.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank jelosamkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed August 1-4. The property is beautiful. Our rooms were on the ground floor surrounded by beautiful local flora.

The hotel resturant is one of the best in the city. The breakfast was best, but dinner highlights included the nut encrusted beef tenderloin and sea bass. The banana coladad and pina colada were among the best I have had.

The staff are wonderful, as would be expected of a property of this caliber. They were always helpful. The only critique was they seemed less aware of things to do in the city.

Below are a few suggestions:

- You can see the main museums in a day. There is a pass you can purchase. If you are a student there is a discount.
- You can walk to the downtown area from the hotel during the day. It is a good way to get some exercise while expereincing the everyday life of Costa Ricans. This is noy a pedestrian friendly city cross streets at cornors and make sure the cars have a red light to stop. Not all corners have wall signals

- The food options are not great outside of the hotel. Lots of American fast food resturants. The cafes are hit or miss for food, but the coffee is amazing everywhere. TIP:The National Theater has a nice cafe that is worth a trip.
-If you exchange money at the hotel you will get less for the convenience. There is a bank and money exchange place half a mile from the hotel. Bring your passport.
- there is a park and sports complex half a mile from the hotel. Walk along 2nd Ave in the direction of traffic. Good place for a walk or jog. They also have paddle boats and bikes for rent. The hotel does not have a gym, so this is an alternate.
-Cabs are readily avaliable in the downtown area. The metered fare is what you pay. It is in colonas not dollars or euros. A trip downtown to the museums during the day was about 17 colonas.
-Safety: Exercise common sense and read travel advisory from your embassy. During our stay and many walks we felt safe. At night the hotel and many locals we met suggested taking cabs.You will see people who are begging on the streets. They were not aggressive usually. Be polite, but firm as needed, and generous when you can. Poverty and underemployment are a world wide problem, but especially in developing countries like Costa Rica.

San Jose is usally a first stop for tourist who are seeking to go to other parts the country. You can experince San Jose in two days. Hotel Grano de Oro is an excellent choice for your stay.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
6  Thank cwatNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 August 2017

When pulling up to this hotel, I saw a beautiful Victorian building. When walking in, we were greeted wonderfully, with cucumber and lemon water. The service was outstanding, and always ready to help up. They gave us great recommendations for lunch, and helped us get around the city.

There is a lush green courtyard leading to the rooms, so it's very different from your regular hotel. The rooms are a good size, but super clean, with bright windows, and a comfortable bed. If I go back to San Jose I would love to stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews