We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£175
No prepayment needed
Hotels.com
£175
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
£171
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,197)
Filter reviews
2,197 results
Traveller rating
1,597
481
75
25
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,597
481
75
25
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel garden suite one night costa rica our honeymoon open courtyard roof terrace boutique hotel last night next morning great restaurant hotel in san jose long flight comfortable rooms fountain jacuzzi tubs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
330 - 335 of 2,197 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We were very surprised at the style and opulence of the Hotel Grano de Oro when we arrived in San Jose for a one night stay. The hotel staff were all extremely helpful and friendly and the restaurant meal was excellent. Only a 15 minute walk to downtown San Jose (but city doesn't offer much so not worth more than a fleeting visit).

Room tip: We choose a family room with 2 x double beds and 1 x single as works out more cost effective.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2017

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and this was our favorite place. It was so romantic, the windows open, the breeze, the city noises! Breakfast was fabulous and our room was quaint and comfortable. This is not a typical hotel and that's exactly why we loved it.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weque
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We had SUCH a good time staying at Hotel Grano de Oro in San Jose! From the moment we stepped out of the car the staff was wonderfully welcoming and the 'boutique' hotel feel was warm and comfortable. The rooms are cozy and tastefully decorated - more traditional feel, which was perfect and a little indoor terrace. We were in room 5, which is in the smaller section of the hotel right over the restaurant. Absolutely perfect! Reasonable pricing. Everything in the mini-fridge (except alcoholic drinks) were included in the stay. They also gave us two drink vouchers (that could be used for alcoholic or non-alcoholic drinks) at the bar. We asked to use them for non-alcoholic drinks with breakfast and they graciously said yes.

The restaurant was great. We had breakfast every morning in the restaurant and the dinner one of the nights we there. Friends that are local to the area wanted to go back for dinner on our last night in San Jose (we were staying at an airport hotel the last night, but came back for dinner). The staff was very friendly and attentive. The prices were competitive, so no problem having meals there unlike most hotels.

Spa services were really nice. The massage therapist came to the room to get me and walk me over to the spa room. I had a nice massage and well priced as well.

Service charge of 10% is already included in services, you can leave an additional tip if you'd like and the staff doesn't pressure you either way.

Location is great- less than ten minute walk to centre of San Jose. You can uber (which is REALLY inexpensive in Costa Rica) or walk. Lots of restaurants (mostly chains), shops and rental car places on the main strip.

The ONLY thing I wish was different was that there were only two towels in the room and we requested an extra one. We had to request the extra towel every night though after the room had been serviced. That being said, they brought it up immediately every time we asked.

We had originally tried to book at another hotel that wound up being under renovation. Thank goodness for that because we fell in love with this hotel and plan on staying here every time we are in San Jose in the future!

Room tip: Ask for a room over the restaurant!
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sarahelizabeth88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Comfortable hotel stayed here for one night. Location is great- less than ten minute walk to centre of San Jose. Friendly staff. Didn't have dinner but breakfast was good. Would stay again if in San Jose

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank AJR272013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2017

We stayed here for four nights prior to travelling around Costa Rican countryside. It is a lovely historic property converted to a 'boutique' hotel. The room was a nice size for our needs with very comfortable twin beds. A nice touch was the free snacks and coffee maker in the room. Breakfast was delicious with fruit salad, small brioche and banana bread before the main breakfast choice. Nice to see a breakfast menu rather than the ubiquitous self-service buffet. We dined here our second night and the restaurant takes on a comfortable charm.The staff was so nice and friendly during our visit. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MikenJimPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews