We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would love to stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 27 March 2010

On our recent trip to Costa Rica, my husband and I spent our first and last night's at Grano de Oro. On the first, we got an okay room that was located in their small courtyard. The room was stuffy and perfectly fine, but was not what I had expected (I had read quite a bit of the hotel and thought the room would resemble the pictures). Sound also carried really easily around the courtyard, as we could hear someone talking right outside our window. When we returned for our second night's stay, we got a free upgrade to a superior room and it was A LOT nicer. We had air conditioning (we didn't need to use), hardwood floors, a nice bathroom, and a small little garden with a bubbling stream. It was so nice that I was sad to leave it the next morning for the airport. If you're deciding to go, I would go for a superior room, which is not that much more expensive than the standard and is much more comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirlstogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,260 - 1,266 of 1,799 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2010

Oh, what a delightful experience. You will think you have stepped into a beautiful Madrid hotel. Old World charm at it's best. A real treat. The dining room and patio are a feast for the eyes and combine to make dining there especially enjoyable. The service was impeccable. And our room was outstanding for the price. If you stay in San Jose, you can't do better than this.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeepgoingVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

After landing at the airport and picking up our car we headed into San Jose. The traffic was a bit hectic but Grano De Oro is just at the tip of the city so it's easy to get to. Just be careful with the one way streets around the hotel. We parked our car in their gated garage and got to the hotel. As you can see from the pictures the hotel from the outside is beautiful and you wouldn't think you were in SJ. Check in process was simple and we got into our small but very comfortable rooms. We made reservations and had a 5 star dinner. It was pricier than most of other Costa Rican restaurants but none of them were a gourmet restaurant nor French style service. With drinks and food it was a $100 dinner for a couple. Then we checked up the hot tub which was great with good views if you can look over the fence. This was a great start for our 9 day trip in Costa Rica. If you come in late to San Jose or have an early flight out this is the hotel to stay, or for any other reason you want...

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cash31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

This hotel is extremely elegant and tasteful, and a wonderful place to stay in San Jose. We spent a week traveling Costa Rica and spent our last night here, and it was an extremely memorable and special experience. The rooms are gorgeous, the service is impeccable, and the restaurant cannot be beat!! Dinner was pricey, but reasonable considering the quality and worth every cent.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NyBella4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2010

Grano de Oro is THE place to stay in San Jose. It's beautiful, comfortable, and the restaurant is DELICIOUS! Make sure to bring a sweater and something slightly dressy (church dressy, not ball dressy) because Ticos who are at the same restaurant tend to dress up for dinner. My husband and I were beach bumming it in Costa Rica and when we returned to fly out of San Jose we were cold (you're in the mountains and nights get chilly) and felt slightly underdressed.

The restaurant is AMAZING. The food is some of the best in the country. When you fly in and out of CR either stay at Grano de Oro or the surrounding areas- nothing else!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maiga_Milbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2010

One of the most beautiful hotels I've ever been to. Nice rooms, good service and great atmosphere! The restaurant is absolutely great.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabennet79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We had spent a week hiking, biking, rafting and sea kayaking aroudn Cost Rica and wanted something very comfortable for our last night there. Grano de Oro was definitely that. It's a beautiful hotel and the staff was very accommodating. Also, the hotel has a water filtration system. We also had a fabuous meal the hotel restaurant. Definitely not cheap, but well worth it

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,509 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
917 reviews
4.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
1.1 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £132 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro
Grano De Oro San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing