We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel Grano de Oro”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Trinidad y Tobago
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel Grano de Oro”
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We were invited to a beautiful villa for a week in the Central Pacific Region of Costa Rica (Parrita) and needed to stay in San Jose for one night at the end to scope things out before flying home. I had a friend who now lives in Costa Rica and she recommended the Hotel Grano de Oro.

I contacted the hotel and booked two rooms for our last night and Cynthia promptly return our confirmation and attractive rate. We booked the Deluxe King. Leading up to our trip date I read some reviews here and discovered that not all rooms were air conditioned. Something I never considered, but was thrilled to read about. Naturally, I contacted the hotel again via email and Rolando did acknowledge my request and assigned two Air Conditioned rooms to us.

We left Parrita (Central Pacific) via taxi at 8am and got to the hotel after a very long drive at 5pm. We did ask the taxi to detour to POAS VOLCANO and have our BEST LUNCH at Chubascos.

Walking up the front steps of the hotel with water cascading down on either side is an example of the beautiful flowing waters across the landscape of Costa Rica. The Lobby is a contemporary installation connecting the two old buildings which make up the hotel. The staff were warm and welcoming as was the bellman who escorted s to our rooms 7 and 8 and showed us everything.

Room 8 is an Air Conditioned Deluxe King. On first impression, you think: WOW- Elegant.
The room has dark wooden floors throughout (including the bathroom) and a high ceiling. There was a mini-bar, table with two chairs and tv. The King Bed was a welcome comfort after a week of Eco Adventure. The bathroom featured a His and Hers sink and tub.

The Restaurant is located off the lobby and is around the courtyard. It's Elegant Wine and Golden hues add a richness to this space. It was nice to sit and eat a delicious meal while enjoy the evening rain in the courtyard. By morning the rain had passed and this was the area in which we had a most delicious breakfast.

We asked the front desk to arrange a taxi to the airport, knowing what a previous reviewer had written here about a scam. This was efficiently arranged and we had a comfortable air conditioned minivan to take the three of us and a weeks worth of luggage to the airport at noon. It was prepaid at the Front Desk so I felt very safe about the arrangement.

I loved this hotel and felt I could easily live here. I has a very homely feel to it and its staff all make you feel welcome.

Thank you Hotel Grano de Oro for my last impression of Costa Rica (I'll try to forget the 6 hour delayed AA flight that followed this)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caribartTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,276
    389
    51
    21
    15
See reviews for
289
1,038
58
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

I made a last minute decision to stay at the Grano de Oro the night before my flight. It was the best decision I could have made!

I called the day before I needed the room and spoke with Marco. I asked him for the prices for each room and then I told him I wanted a room with air conditioning. He informed me that they were in the process of renovating all the rooms to have air conditioning, but only 10 of the rooms had it and that he would upgrade me at no charge to one of the rooms that had ac. I was given a Deluxe King room for the standard price.

Once I got to the hotel, they had someone immediately take my luggage to the room and explain how everything worked in the room. The room was beautiful. I had an amazing view of the mountains, a flat screen tv, dimmer lights and a jacuzzi tub which I took advantage of.

I had dinner in the hotel restaurant and the entire wait staff was accommodating. Based on reviews here, I decided to try the Passion fruit margarita and it did not dissapoint! It was delicious. I also had a salad with macadamia nuts, gorgonzola cheese and blackberries, seabass and the tres leches cake. Everything I had tasted great and breakfast the next morning was just a great.

I also had a last minute need in the middle of the night and they had someone get the items I needed and bring them to my room.

The jacuzzi on the roof top is really nice and I got to relax there for a bit.

I had absolutely no problems with getting a taxi to the airport. I stopped by the front desk in the morning and told them the time I needed to be picked up. They asked if I would like to charge it to the room or pay for it directly. When I came back downstairs the taxi was waiting for me and I made it to the airport on a Monday morning in less than 20 minutes.

The only complaint I could say I have is that I had asked for a wake up call and they did not call. I did set the alarm on my phone just in case, so it wasn't that big of a deal.

I would definitely stay here again. The food and the service are top notch.

Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TravelerforLife8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

I've been meaning to write this review for six + months now - I am a student and didn't have time! However, my experience here was so good, that I felt I needed to say something about it.

As many who travel to Costa Rica know, there is not a lot to do in Jan Jose as a tourist. We stayed here twice on our trip and therefore I can say that their service is very consistent. The first night we had traveled from Chicago and were very tired, the hotel staff picked up on this and recommended a massage. The other thing I liked about this hotel is that they recommended several restaurants in the area, despite having one on premise. We chose to stay on premise and were surprised to find the food to be amazing - surprised, because the staff weren't pushy about trying their restaurant.

We had a great relaxing massage AND they didn't try to force us to buy anything from their spa line, or make us feel bad for not wanting to book a second massage - HUGE PLUS IN MY BOOK - I hate when they do this. The one complaint I had was that my husband I could not get a massage at the same time - but it was a minor inconvenience.

The next day our bill was ready when we got downstairs. We happened to mention that we were checking in again in a few days, from the rain forest to our way to the Pacific side of the country. Upon hearing this the concierge mentioned that he would be happy to hold our bill and we could settle it all at once. That was great, because we ended up saving money on the international transactions!

The second time we arrived late, just in time for dinner. We opted to eat our meal at the restaurant, since we were tired and knew the food was going to be great. The following morning we were offered free coffee at their breakfast bar - which we appreciated.

The ambiance is also very pleasing. The hotel is very light and airy. It has a classic, old world feel. The restaurant has an open air courtyard, but there is also indoor seating options - we sat outside the whole time. Really this place just sneaks up on you in the city, the area it is in is nice, but this is just a gorgeous old world building. I believe it was a mansion, which was converted to a hotel. I highly recommend a night here, if you're in San Jose.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kvashi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Although this hotel is very nice looking, the staff mislead us about several items, including transportation arrangements from the hotel to the airport. Our cab driver confirmed this is a regular problem.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EquatorJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose, responded to this review, 10 July 2010
We appreciate your comments and wondered if you would be kind enough to provide us with some details as to how you were mislead, especially regarding the transportation to the airport. With this information we would beable to avoid similiar problems with future guests. We can be contacted at info@hotelgranodeoro.com. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Tried and tried to get into this hotel for our last night in Costa Rica.... was finally able to get 3 rooms for my family. LOVED this hotel. Fun, quirky little place in the heart of San Jose. Didn't do anything outside of the hotel since we were heading back to the U.S. the next morning at 8am. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunna98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2010

What a beautiful hotel. Great dining area, outdoor garden feel, beautiful flowers, decorations. The staff is extremely helpful and accommodating. Nice quieter street but convenient to Paseo Colon, many rent a car places. About a 20 minute straight walk to downtown area, flat walk. Has two jacuzzis, nice atmosphere. Some rooms do not have air conditioning.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maurafrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Beautiful hotel that is just like it shows in the pictures. The rooftop jacuzzi's are very romantic and relaxing. We stayed here on the first and last night of our honeymoon. The food was delicious, the staff was very helpful and warm. Exploring around the hotel was a lot of fun.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LcLuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,417 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
875 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
4.8 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 76 in San Jose
2,387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose

Property: Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Address: Calle 30, between avenida 2 y 4, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted Tropical Victorian mansion, the Grano de Oro Boutique hotel offers the warmth and comfort of staying in a private home with all the amenities of a Luxury hotel. Service is paramount and the always smiling staff welcomes guests to their “home away from home” time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grano De Oro
Grano De Oro San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing