We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen better days”
Review of Hotel Dona Ines

Hotel Dona Ines
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Dona Ines
Ranked #69 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Conveniently situated. This once must have been a nice old hotel. It now needs an update and a good clean. Staff helpfull, breakfast adequate (gallo pinto excellent). A lot of potential but needs a good shake up with money being spent on it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dona Ines
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2013

We spent one night at hotel Dona Ines after our arrival in San Jose. The owner is really helpful (also organized our transport from the airport) and friendly. The place itself is a little bit rundown, but o.k.. Matresses and wall paper need and upgrade! We didn't have any problems with cockroaches or whatsoever. The place is close to the city center (where there is not much to see). The hotel is close to the bus stations (only around 10min) and as we had to leave very early in the morning it was quite convenient.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Well, cocroach in my backpack says everything (I really don't like them)... It used to be a nice place but now is humid and dirty. Stuff is helpful and very friendly. Very good location, close to every important spot in the city, like a bus stations and city center which is not nice, to be honest.
Price including breakfast is 65 $.

Room Tip: Ask for room with window.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

The Dona Ines has seen better days. To be fair, it looks like San Jose has too. She (Dona Ines) is clearly a grand old dame fading gracefully. The hotel is clean, quiet and the staff is excellent. There is a charming interior courtyard with lots of period furnishings. The hotel is fundamentally sound, and the breakfast is hearty and wholesome. The staff were tremendously easy to work with over email as we booked from Boston, and the service from check in to breakfast to arranging airport transport was absolutely flawless. While not a Marriott by a long stretch, it was a perfectly adequate for what we were looking for - a safe, clean, comfortable place to rest our heads for a night before continuing on to La Fortuna. Simple enhancements from new fabric on the headboards and settees and better lighting (especially in the bathrooms) would go a long way to enhancing her charms.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preeti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2005

We recently spent one night in this hotel and were somewhat disappointed. The hotel was clean and the staff extremely friendly and helpful, but there were a few drawbacks. The rooms are set around a courtyard, nice but at night it can get noisy when guests arrive late! And the breakfast was very basic. Also, the street where the hotel is located is not very pleasant, but it is not far from the downtown area, and there is an excellent restaurant across the street.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Danielle43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank skywriter82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las del segundo piso a más al fondo son las mejores.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.1 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 77 in San Jose
1,312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#26 of 77 in San Jose
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Morazan Hotel & Casino
Morazan Hotel & Casino
#56 of 77 in San Jose
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
957 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Casa Del Parque
Hostel Casa Del Parque
#3 of 105 in San Jose Metro
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Ines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Ines

Address: Calle 11 Entre Avenida 2 & 6 | Behind La Soledad Church, San Jose 10102, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: £44 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dona Ines 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Dona Ines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing