We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm and peaceful hostel in the middle of the city”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Ridgway Hostel
Madison, South Dakota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Calm and peaceful hostel in the middle of the city”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I have stayed at Casa Ridgway many times over the past 7 years. I always find the hostel to be warm and welcoming. this is a great place to recuperate from flights and or long bus rides.

They always provide a good breakfast which includes fruit. a great way to start your day.

Be prepared for an older building. Good beds. And typical Tico hot water showers. New visitors to hostels or Central America may find some customs different. Great and helpful people with.years of experience.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simplylesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    14
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
15
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Esteli, Nicaragua
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I have stayed at Casa Ridgeway over the years, every time I had to stay the night in San Jose. Although I still think it is a nice place, my most recent stay will be my last, however, as the new owner has made "policy" changes that made me feel less like a Friend and more like a client.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg District, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

It is clean, quiet and safe, which seemed to position it quite high against other San Jose competition. Shared bathrooms are very clean and nice.

Other than that it was a bit more expensive that average hostels in Costa Rica & we did not get the free breakfast despite arranging that it will be available earlier than normally.

The area seems quite abandoned at night.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukasz555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Last November I needed two overnights in San Jose and searched long and hard to find a place that would provide what I needed: a clean, quiet place to sleep. Casa Ridgway did just that. The people were very friendly and helpful, made me feel right at home. One of the reasons I chose Casa Ridgway aside from the above is because I saw a cat's photo on their website and, being a cat lover myself, I figured if they had a cat roaming around, they are good people. My assumption served to be correct and George (the cat) and I had a good time together.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Global
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stay at Casa Ridgeway when we are in SJ because it supports the Peace Center which does important work in promoting a more peaceful world. If you are interested you can get involved in their activities while you stay there - we do. People who are in Costa Rica for more than just a holiday often stay at C.Ridgway and you can share stories of voluntary work in conservation and social projects over breakfast, and really find out more about how Costa Rica ticks. It also has connections with the original Monteverde community, founded on the pursuit of peace, and members often stay there when they are in town. If you are after more than a place to crash and hang out with backpackers then I recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terra-ist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Things seem to take a while here, maybe because everyone's so at peace... Took a little while to figure out if we could have a room (they'd not received our email apparently) and then to figure out which one was available.

Once that was sorted, the room itself was OK, but the bathroom was dirty (urine & poo stains on the toilet seat). We mentioned this to the staff that evening, but nothing was done about it before we moved rooms the next day (the first room was reserved for the second night we stayed, so we switched). Could hear dance music Saturday evening and Sunday morning (maybe someone with a big sound system or a bar nearby), but not late or early enough to disturb our sleep.

Breakfast (included, served 7.45-8.30) was good - coffee, tea, fruit, scrambled egg & bread. Shared kitchen was well-equipped and clean. Laundry was $6 for a large load.

Lots of books around the place, including lots of travel guides for reference which was helpful for us after we lost our Lonely Planet!

Room Tip: Check it's clean before accepting it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Great value and staff is friendly the location is safe and near to the fun Places in San Jose. A quiet place with a clean kitchen for client use.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.3 mi away
Posada Del Museo
Posada Del Museo
#49 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel Shakti
Hostel Shakti
#56 of 82 in San Jose
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Casa Del Parque
Hostel Casa Del Parque
#4 of 110 in San Jose Metro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Costa Rica Backpackers
Costa Rica Backpackers
#17 of 82 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aldea San Jose
Aldea San Jose
#5 of 82 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Alfi
Casa Alfi
#8 of 70 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ridgway Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ridgway Hostel

Property: Casa Ridgway Hostel
Address: Calle 15 | between Av . 6 and 8, San Jose 10104, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 82 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Ridgway is a small guest house located in San Jose, Costa Rica. It is operated by the non-profit organization, Centro de los Amigos para la Paz (CAP, Center of Friends for Peace). We are situated on a quiet street near the center of town, conveniently located near many popular attractions and activities. The guest house offers private rooms and dormitory bedrooms with shared bathrooms, at modest prices. A communal kitchen and patio-dining area are available to all guests. A unique feature of our rooms is that they are each in the process of being dedicated to a peace activist. Some of these activists include: Archbishop Oscar Romero, Mahatma Gandhi, Martin Luther King, Mother Teresa, Linus Pauling, Anne Frank, Chief Seattle, Aung San Sun Kyi, Leo Tolstoy, and George Bernard Shaw. In addition to supporting the operation of CAP, Casa Ridgway welcomes people from all over the world, and promotes peace through hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Ridgway Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing