We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfriendly, unclean and unwelcoming.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Ridgway Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Ridgway Hostel
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unfriendly, unclean and unwelcoming.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

As we arrived, we were given the key to our room and told its location. The lady behind the desk did not bother to show us bathrooms, shower rooms or offer any advice on services provided.
Reached the room to find it filthy, when we told the lady she came with a broom and swept the floor, leaving everything else. Despite advertising hot showers, all the water was cold. At breakfast, Tea was requested and they said why dont we drink coffee instead, as they had none.
Communication was poor and the people unfriendly.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AyeWeegie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casa-ridgway, Manager at Casa Ridgway Hostel, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
I am sorry to hear that you didn't have a good reception experience. Some nights we have volunteers from the NGO help at the front desk and it is possible that was the case.

We have been restructuring Casa Ridgway in order to have a more constant service. We do have tea for breakfast and we have fixed all our shower heads in order to correct the water heating problem.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    14
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
15
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2009

What a terrible place! We were late and tired, so we didn't have much choice. The lady from the hostel was very grumpy when we arrived, but the next day she was more helpfull. The rooms did not look very bad at first sight, but after a while there appeared to be many cockroaches and other crawling animals.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amsterdamno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casa-ridgway, Manager at Casa Ridgway Hostel, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Yes Costa Rica the most biodiverse country in the world... The good and the bad. We regularly call the exterminator to get rid of these pesky neighbors. I have mentioned this problem to our comission board and we will double up the efforts to treat the problem where previous exterminators might have failed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2009

stayed in this hostel for one night after we arrived in San Jose and decided to move out immediately the next morning. The room was austere but we were not expecting anything great since it was just a hostel and not a hotel. The bathroom could do with some renovation, though. The bedlinen and pillows looked dirty and old and we found some hair from the previous guests on the bed. it felt so disgusting that we slept with our jackets and jeans on that bed. there were just too many cockroaches in the room, too!! The people at reception are extremely nice and friendly at Casa Ridgway but unfortunately we could not really stand the cockroaches...

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hybridblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casa-ridgway, Manager at Casa Ridgway Hostel, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
We have great rooms, but not every room is the same and there are 2 rooms that have the humidity problem. For those who are reading this review, feel free to ask to see a couple of different rooms.

We are sorry hear about the cockroach experience, I have notified the commission board about these reviews so we can double up the efforts to erradicate them while also not using ultra deadly chemicals...

Costa Rica definitely has an amazing biodiversity for the good and the bad... The season also affect cockroach appearance... After rains, in costa rican homes sometimes cockroaches come out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2008

First off, the owner and staff are wonderful and courteous. For $14 I got a private room. However, the room itself is what you would get for $14. The entire room smelled of mildew and the linens were still half wet. Although you get privacy with the walls, they are paper thin and you can make out a conversation coming from the kitchen area. Thankfully everyone is respectful at night and try to be quiet, but when anyone walks on the hardwood floors in the hallway outside it makes terribly loud sounds which makes getting a good night's sleep difficult. I recommend it only for budget backpackers who want the privacy of your own room but the affordability of a hostel.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Not very cleanly, walls too thin
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank atkim122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2006

I've been to Casa Ridgway three times now and it is my favorite place to stay in San Jose, Costa Rica. My trips were part of my master's research and I needed a quiet, cheap place where I could work. A fellow traveler tipped me off about this place, which is affiliated with the Quaker Peace Center. It is not a place for partiers--quiet hours start at 10 pm sharp. But it great for the socially-minded student wanting to connect with an international group. They have a great library with peace-related literature and travel books, as well as a kitchen, TV room, and free internet access (although only 1 computer on the slow side). There are both dorm rooms and singles, which don't cost much more--$12 for my last stay. Several of the rooms are dedicated to peace activists, mine was for Martin Luther King, Jr and had inspiring pictures and quotes on the walls. My room also had a desk where I could work, a large, comfortable bed, and I was able to get free wireless on my laptop. Everything was very clean and much better looking than most hostels I've stayed at (wood floors, nice decorations, pretty bathrooms). There was a good, free breakfast every morning. The neighborhood was generally safe, although like all areas of San Jose it is better to use taxis at night. The place isn't walking distance to the Coca-Cola bus terminals, but only a quick and cheap cab ride away. I highly recommend it for those looking for something different than your typical hostel.

  • Liked — Price, security
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Vegan_Traveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.1 mi away
Posada Del Museo
Posada Del Museo
#48 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel
Aranjuez Hotel
#6 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Casa Del Parque
Hostel Casa Del Parque
#3 of 104 in San Jose Metro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostel Shakti
Hostel Shakti
#54 of 79 in San Jose
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Costa Rica Backpackers
Costa Rica Backpackers
#33 of 79 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kaps Place
Kaps Place
#2 of 67 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ridgway Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ridgway Hostel

Property: Casa Ridgway Hostel
Address: Calle 15 | between Av . 6 and 8, San Jose 10104, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 79 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Ridgway is a small guest house located in San Jose, Costa Rica. It is operated by the non-profit organization, Centro de los Amigos para la Paz (CAP, Center of Friends for Peace). We are situated on a quiet street near the center of town, conveniently located near many popular attractions and activities. The guest house offers private rooms and dormitory bedrooms with shared bathrooms, at modest prices. A communal kitchen and patio-dining area are available to all guests. A unique feature of our rooms is that they are each in the process of being dedicated to a peace activist. Some of these activists include: Archbishop Oscar Romero, Mahatma Gandhi, Martin Luther King, Mother Teresa, Linus Pauling, Anne Frank, Chief Seattle, Aung San Sun Kyi, Leo Tolstoy, and George Bernard Shaw. In addition to supporting the operation of CAP, Casa Ridgway welcomes people from all over the world, and promotes peace through hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Ridgway Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing