We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kekoldi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kekoldi Hotel
Ranked #35 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Friendly service”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Friendly family run small hotel with personal service. Excellent location right in city centre near Plaza Morazán. Good breakfast. No real frills but good value for money. All in all good choice for a city centre stay

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    62
    17
    5
    8
See reviews for
14
63
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

David you are fabulous, thanks so much for you help and your beautiful smile. Kekoldi is a not a pristine 5 star hotel, but it was perfect for my San Jose stay. Reasonably priced and a great location.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank likeafishoutofwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Nice hotel in San Jose and quite good located. Very central and easy to reach. Not the newist hotel in town but quite good. The rooms are nice and not to small. Everything worked and the beds were ok. The staff are nice and serviceminded. A part of the staff spoke English. The breakfast was nice and tasted good. The hotel offer good value for your money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Great little hotel in a great location. Close to the zoo and beautiful parks. Rooms are well presented and clean. Nearby shopping and restaurants. Tiny garden in the heart of the city. Service could be inproved but satisfactory.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomotrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

If you want to stay in a small hotel definitely you won't pass this one. It is an amazing hotel full of great staffs and it is locate in the city of town. It is close to everything, shopping centre, night clubs, bars everything. And if you can't speak Spanish you should definitely stay here because all the staffs can speak English pretty good and they are willing to help.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anyier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we were delighted with the greeting provided by the hotel management and staff when we stayed during early July 2013. The breakfast is very tasty and fresh and is a combination of self serve with a choice of hot food too. We found the rooms to be spacious and very clean, with nice crisp bed linen which I really like. Our bedroom overlooked the private rear garden, which is full of tropical flowers we never see in the UK ! The new owner Francisco was helpful with information about Central America and CR specifically. The rooms are probably ready for a quick makeover, but confident this will happen. Most helpful was David who is the Assistant Manager and found time to explain and book some great local restaurants and entertainment. Finally, almost everything is walking distance from the Hotel, including down town markets or upscale restaurants.

Room Tip: An upstairs en suite bed room overlooking the garden is our recommendation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip_holmes_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed at the Kelkoldi Hotel for two nights the beginning of April 2013. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The breakfasts were good. Fruits, Toast, Cereals, Eggs, Coffee, Juice, etc. You can sit inside or in their fabulous interior courtyard under the trees. The room we stayed in was massive. The shower had hot water. We ha da great view of the street below and the school and mural across the street. They have a wonderful front courtyard/balcony that is a staircase up above the street where you can chill and have wine and watch all the action down below. Very private. I would have liked to have stayed longer. Maybe in the future. Thanks for everything David & Guillermo. Cheers, Dave & Angel. Los Angeles City.

Room Tip: The room we had was the front room upstaris overlooking the main street. If you are a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Cowan_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#44 of 85 in San Jose
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
922 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vesuvio Hotel
Vesuvio Hotel
#45 of 85 in San Jose
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#59 of 85 in San Jose
484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Don Carlos
Hotel Don Carlos
#19 of 85 in San Jose
432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#23 of 85 in San Jose
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kekoldi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kekoldi Hotel

Property: Kekoldi Hotel
Address: Avenida 9, between Calle 5 and 7, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kekoldi Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel with secluded garden in downtown San Jose, walking distance to all points of tourist interest, bars, restaurants, clubs, movie theaters, bus stations, museums, etc. 10 elegant, well appointed guest rooms. Free Internet terminal and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kekoldi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kekoldi Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing