We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like the Prez”
Review of Hotel La Amistad

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel La Amistad
Ranked #36 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Treated like the Prez”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

I stayed in the suite for a week. The service was outstanding from the maids to the manager. I been to San Jose many times usually staying at Best Western or Del Rey. I was treated poorly at Best Western and Del Rey is too busy with the casino and constant bar crowd 24/7. At La Amistad I was able to relax, no charge for guest, good breakfast and its location is just out of the way enough that you wont be bombarded by panhandlers and druggies as soon as you step out the door like the other two hotels I mentioned. Ive found my choice of Hotel in San Jose..I wont be staying anywhere else

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaeldelacolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    47
    23
    16
    4
See reviews for
6
61
90
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, FL
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Hotel La Amistad offers various room sizes and options, all at reasonable prices. Where this hotel excels above and beyond the others is the fact that management is very helpful both prior and during your stay. I emailed at least five other hotels in this price category and higher, and didn't get a response from most of them. Rudy at the front desk was wonderful in all aspects by answering numerous questions I had relating to the room, the area, amenities and methods of payment. La Amistad offers free internet (w/three computers) and free international long distance from your room to the US and Canada, along with free local calls. Yes, you read correctly, free international phone cals from your room! If you stay elsewhere, get ready to spend $2 or more per minute to check in with your family or business associates back home. In essence, a person can successfully argue that the room cost is free, assuming you dial the States or Canada a few times per day, as I did. La Amistad also offers free breakfast for most items and a small, reasonable charge for more costly breakfast options. Additionally, the maid service cleaned my rood spotless and there was never a time when I needed to complain about cleanliness, and I am picky. Although I did not attend, the Sportsmen's Lodge is right down the street in easy walking distance for men looking for companionship. Another strong aspect of the Hotel Amistad, though, is the fact that a person can walk down the street approximately one block and you have Cafe Mundo which is a marvelous cafe, clean and with good, decent food at fair prices. When I was there, Cafe Mundo opens at 11:00 am and I think closed at 10:00 or 11:00 p.m.
Their menu is in both English and Spanish, and their waitresses offered very good service with above average attitude, which is often times not found in Costa Rica. For those of you that would enjoy getting out of San Jose on tours, Rudy at the front desk will be more than happy to assist you with any tour of your choice. I booked the Calypso Tour through Rudy and this tour company was exceptional in all regards.
Hotel Amistad is not a Hyatt Regency, but you are not paying $250 per night, either. This hotel offers the highest quality in value vs. cost that I have ever experienced, and I have travelled extensively.
I have stayed in hotels costing up to $400 per night, yet I have yet to sleep in a Temperpudic (spellling??) mattress at any of them. Yes, the Amistad has this, too. A good night's sleep is important. For those of you that may have read about a train that is close to the hotel, you read correctly. This train is not an issue if you bring inexpensive foam ear plugs....I never heard the train except for the night I forgot to wear them. I did not eat in Amistad's restaurant except for breakfast, so I can not rate their food except that other people said it was quite good. They do not have a spa.
If any of you have any questions, feel free to contact me at 1michaelmeyer@gmail.com and I will be happy to assist or answer any of your questions.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael1474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2011

They accidentally overbooked the queen rooms and I was put in one of the Penthouse rooms for the same price. All of the staff speaks English and was extremely friendly and helpful.

I was convinced by a friend to try this place out instead of the Europa which is where I normally stay. He said "it's worth the extra money believe me" and he was right.

The laundry service is free and so is the made to order breakfast (please tip).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nfstern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights of my 7 day stay in Costa Rica. The staff was very helpful in giving me ideas to tour the city as well as setting up my rental car and taxi cab rides. I ate breakfast and dinners here. All food was fresh and amazing! Highly recommend for a stay in the city!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlynn_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Very basic rooms with cheap and limited bedding, furnishings and supplies. Bathrooms are dirty. Continuous noisy stream of residents bringing hookers to the hotel. Next to a busy train line with noisy trains and horns 24x7.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MSPtravelerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2011

I stayed at the Amistad a few days ago. The place is very laid back with a nice bar and excellent food. The room consisted of a large bathroom and moderate living quarters. Shower had plenty of pressure, not like at the Holiday Inn. Room consisted of a queen bed, a table and chair. Had a safe, refrigerator, and closet. There was a large TV with plenty of English channels to peruse. The highlights of the hotel are not the rooms, but the exceptional staff and fine dining that this hotel has to offer. The bartender had me pick out four movies from the local video vendor to play at the Bar. I would highly recommend staying here. This hotel was a good value compared to the others that I stayed in this area.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weebles246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2011

I stayed here for the loction and was very surprised to find a 4 star restaurant in the lobby.
Ienjoyed the food so much, i arranged my schedule so we would be at the hotel for meal times.
Rudy works at the front desk, he's the greatest for all things needed.
except for the early morning train passing by, the rooms where were above avarage.
my room had a jacuzzi tub, large shower and plenty of room.
I will be staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roofdr69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Taormina Hotel and Casino
#18 of 78 in San Jose
384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Morazan Hotel & Casino
Morazan Hotel & Casino
#56 of 78 in San Jose
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#15 of 78 in San Jose
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#40 of 78 in San Jose
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vesuvio Hotel
Vesuvio Hotel
#46 of 78 in San Jose
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Amistad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Amistad

Property: Hotel La Amistad
Address: Calle 15 Avenida 11, San Jose 1864-1002, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Beach Miami meets Costa Rican Culture. Located in Barrio Otoya and Amon, upon entering the Hotel you see the beautiful Art Deco Tile and Marble, surrounded by rich, dark native wood beams and floors. 34 rooms include 6 Penthouse Suites with King beds, 24 jet Jacuzzi tubs and personal dry sauna as well as, another 26 Luxury Rooms with either King or Queen size beds. All rooms have 80 channels of Cable TV with HBO and Cinemax, flat screen TVs, hardwire and wireless internet access, refrigerator, digital safe and luxurious mattresses. You will find these quiet Barrio's are away from the noise and traffic of downtown but still only a short 5 minute walk to all of San Jose's main attractions - The National Theatre, Museums, Shops, Restaurants, Casino's, Nightlife and Exotic Parks. As always free wireless, long distance calls to USA and Canada and laundry. Breakfast included in price. Ask about our ALL INCLUSIVE options. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, All domestic Beer and Wine, Well Drinks, 50% off top shelf. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Amistad Hotel
La Amistad San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing