We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Option in San Jose”
Review of Hotel La Amistad

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel La Amistad
Ranked #33 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Option in San Jose”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is a long overdue review. Stayed at this boutique hotel on the first and last nights in San Jose. I must say that the attention to detail was amazing. Even though we only spent two nights in the hotel I was very impress with its staff and facilities. Its location is very convenient as well. If I ever return to Costa Rica I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWUK78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    47
    23
    16
    4
See reviews for
6
61
90
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Nice clean rooms in a small hotel. Good location. Excellent service and the food makes their restaurant a must do in San Jose, even if you don't stay at the hotel. Hotel staff go out of their way to help with directions, car/bus reservations, etc. The 'economy' rooms are small but comfortable and more than adequate. The larger rooms - which require climbing stairs which I have difficulty with - are much roomier and not that much more expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravDevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Food in the inclusive package was the best in town. Nice quiet and out of the way location. The rooms were not 5 star but clean and comfortable and ac is not always needed. Staff was awesome. Will stay again! Had a great time and a great time, great people and a beautiful country.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ianphoto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at the La Amistad many times. The service there never disappoints. They go out of their way to help you with any request that you may have. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Signalizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vtown
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I stayed at the La Amistad 4 times from 2012-2013. I must admit when my friend suggested it on my first trip I was sceptical. Rudy and Carlos or more than friendly and they bust their butts to make everything go smooth. The last time I was able to sleep more than 8 hours was the previous time staying here. Even when I'm at home I can't sleep more than 6! Try to get a room on the 3rd floor if possible. I always try for room 302, 303 or 304. Great value! This is the only place I will stay downtown San Jose if possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VtownLeeroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

There are two suites in the hotel which, according to the website, have kitchenettes. Instead, ours had a sitting area. When I asked about the lack of kitchenette and showed the manager the website, he said that was old. As no one used the kitchenettes they were taken out. There was a gap in the wall tile where the toilet paper holder should have been, and other than the jacuzzi the fixtures and tile seemed old. We did like the form fitting mattress, the only good part of the room. The entire hotel, especially our room being on the interior, seemed dark and depressing. The train to San Jose goes through right next to the hotel and was very noisy. Breakfast was adequate but nothing special so we didn't try the extensive menu for any of the meals. As no one came to ask us what we wanted we had to ask another table of guests how we were to order. That meant going to the alcove and filling out a form. The first morning we decided not to have the room cleaned, and when I told the maid she was very pleased. Although there is a safe in the room there were no directions. We won't bother staying there again. If we asked management questions they were helpful but procedures should have been automatic upon check-in.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robertshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I didn't book a room at the hotel, but I did eat several times at the restaurant. The food is simply outstanding. Chef Jose and his sidekick Juan are way more talented and qualified than you would normally find for a small informal dining area like that at La Amistad. The owner Don is friendly, smart, and quite innovative, and he should expand the restaurant to take advantage of the fine staff he has managed to get on board.

Favorite dish: fish with porcini mushrooms, vegetables and mashed potatoes.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregorySokoloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Taormina Hotel and Casino
#15 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#35 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Casino Costa Rica Morazan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vesuvio Hotel
Vesuvio Hotel
#43 of 84 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#17 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Amistad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Amistad

Property: Hotel La Amistad
Address: Calle 15 Avenida 11, San Jose 1864-1002, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Beach Miami meets Costa Rican Culture. Located in Barrio Otoya and Amon, upon entering the Hotel you see the beautiful Art Deco Tile and Marble, surrounded by rich, dark native wood beams and floors. 34 rooms include 6 Penthouse Suites with King beds, 24 jet Jacuzzi tubs and personal dry sauna as well as, another 26 Luxury Rooms with either King or Queen size beds. All rooms have 80 channels of Cable TV with HBO and Cinemax, flat screen TVs, hardwire and wireless internet access, refrigerator, digital safe and luxurious mattresses. You will find these quiet Barrio's are away from the noise and traffic of downtown but still only a short 5 minute walk to all of San Jose's main attractions - The National Theatre, Museums, Shops, Restaurants, Casino's, Nightlife and Exotic Parks. As always free wireless, long distance calls to USA and Canada and laundry. Breakfast included in price. Ask about our ALL INCLUSIVE options. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, All domestic Beer and Wine, Well Drinks, 50% off top shelf. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Amistad Hotel
La Amistad San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing