We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday surf & turf menu”
Review of Hotel La Amistad

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel La Amistad
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sunday surf & turf menu”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Was staying at a nearby hotel but visited Amistad for their Sunday night special menu. Had the surf and turf menu which included starters, a huge main and desert all for under $10. I have to say when I arrived at the hotel there was a great atmosphere. The restaurant bar area was buzzing with many happy customers, many of whom seemed liked regulars. If you like American football then this was playing at the bar. On seeing the great atmosphere was slightly envious I wasn't staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gambarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    47
    23
    16
    4
See reviews for
6
61
90
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel gets exceptional reviews.
I don't think it merits all that much praise. On the positive side the rates are great, especially the all inclusive. Makes it cheaper than staying at home. Also the bar atmosphere is great with the tv, the disco lights, fog, etc. it's just plain fun. Carol at the bar is charming and very nice. Jenny is wild and hilarious.
I did not eat the food. Tried to have breakfast but there was no service. Hello?
Front desk is amiable and efficient. They don't look it, but they are.
Now the big negatives...
The noise. Forget the train, what's worse is the noise from the lobby. I don't complain about bar noise, hey deal with it. But post bar patron's noise and every conversation starting at 530am is heard in detail. And there are a number of people in the lobby at 530am, believe me. Fishermen no doubt.
I'm very busy when I am in SJ And I need my beauty sleep. I got little. I was in room 203 btw.
In my room I had a jacuzzi (did not work) and dry steam (ditto).
Also the bathroom amenities were: shampoo (which was ok), soap (could be better), and towels that did not make it around my 38 waist.
Spotty wifi.
I would stay again, but there are other good choices in Barrio Amon.

Room Tip: Away from the main area over the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackietrehorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mkink, Owner at Hotel La Amistad, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Guest

We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. The date in question was Halloween Evening here (think Mardi Gras) and the entire town was slammed. Not a good excuse I know, but it happens. If you contact the Hotel Website with a phone number we can try to make it up to you. For all Guests, If something does not work in the room than please let the front desk know so they can correct the situation or show you how to use the amenities. In this case the Jacuzzi and Dry Sauna were set on a breaker that needs to be turned on. We do this so that guests do not leave them on all day. The breaker is in the room.

Again we apologize for any discomfort you may have had.

Regards
Team Amistad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Amistad in San Jose Costa Rica and must say I am always impressed.
Staff is extremely friendly, courteous and respectful. Everyone who works at the Amistad has a smile and truly cares that your stay is enjoyable. My room wasn't ready upon my arrival and the housekeeping manager personally asked me to be patient while she and an army of staff turned the room to spic & span cleanliness in under 5 minutes. Wonderful, super nice people, from front desk, to housekeeping to the ownership: simply a first class outfit.
The Amistad offers an all inclusive option whereby a guest may have three square meals a day and all the well drinks you care for. In reality if you chose to, they would feed you as often as you like but the portions are so huge and fresh you won't be able to go overboard. The chicken imperial is amazing. Tender juicy chicken breast with vegetables you'd swear both the bird and the veggies were harvested that day. The pork chop: oh my lord the pork chop! Remember the flintstones opening when they place the huge brontosaurus rib out for Fred? The Amistad pork chop is bigger! Tender, juicy, the absolute best pork chop on planet earth.
The ownership: first class gentlemen, greets each guest as an old friend and offers to aid with planning of daily excursions from ATV to rafting to fishing to restaurant tours.
One fine afternoon the owner asked about the lobby if anyone would like to join a group to visit Ram Luna a famous restaurant perched atop the mountains surrounding San Jose. We joined and were treated to a narrated tour through the countryside on the way to a beautiful restaurant in the sky. As it is a rainforest, rain did pass over for about 10 minutes followed by a brilliant rainbow, an added treat for my birthday. The ownership arranged for the staff to sing happy birthday in traditional native attire & masks! So kind.
If you have the chance, stay at the Amistad in San Jose and be treated better than your own family would treat you!
Matt, you and your team are the finest caliber providing one of the most enjoyable stays one could hope for. Thank you.
Keep the all inclusive going and I WILL return for that pork chop!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank KtotheaMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I dont even know really where to being it was so great... But I have to say it saved my vacation!!
I stayed as an all inclusive guest meaning that all drinks food and 3 meals is included. And for $89 for a king it was great value for a single traveler and please bear in mind that I don't drink!!! (not one drop of alcohol) and I still say 89 is a great deal. Some of these guys are drinking Imperial beer like it was their last day on earth.

Why I still say its a good deal...
1. It a nuisance to worry about food. and drinks so when i'm lazy I eat here when i'm adventurous I eat where ever I want. You want 4 cups of coffee Take it!! 3 soda TAKE it !! a bowl of soup TAKE IT..you go out for a day eat whatever you want whenever you want!! BUT !!

Matts food is great... I cant say it enough his food is great.. his Med. Chicken, his Seafood Pasta, his sandwiches his steak nights . It felt like home. I always felt if I needed help, help was available.

Lets put it this way! if it was 125 a night id still come back with no inclusive i still come back. but then id have to go buy 4 bottles of water and plan out meals. Pain in my tush.

On to the Room. Its a room. it was clean had a safe a fridge.. IT IS NOT 4 seasons but it was a good room, I slept like the dead. No guest charges ;) =_) no hassles. But it was very relax, very classy no illicit characters hanging around. I saw families couples eating there kids Imagine a nice home run by a nice couple. a lot of people were drinking but it wasn't loud rude obnoxious drunks.

NOW I AM ALSO VERY MAD cause I almost didn't goto Amistad cause of the complain of the train noises.
the Hotel has taken care of the train noises, and its barely audible. the train doesn't run on the weekend. and funniest part is!! its not a freight train its kind of like a LIRR commuter light rail train. But I can confirm train not a problem and i'm a very light sleeper.

I thought it was a CSX behemoth train moving 90 cars of freight. it was a commuter train and they did something but no more "honking" it just rolls through.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Boutique hotel ran by 2 handsome North American guys... Surf and turf 10.00 US and a great massage by Hazel... Loved the euro feel and Tempurpedic beds.... Rudy was very accommodating and Dan was very handsome and most helpful at dinner as they got busy...will stay here again!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YonnaCromeensMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is a long overdue review. Stayed at this boutique hotel on the first and last nights in San Jose. I must say that the attention to detail was amazing. Even though we only spent two nights in the hotel I was very impress with its staff and facilities. Its location is very convenient as well. If I ever return to Costa Rica I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWUK78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Nice clean rooms in a small hotel. Good location. Excellent service and the food makes their restaurant a must do in San Jose, even if you don't stay at the hotel. Hotel staff go out of their way to help with directions, car/bus reservations, etc. The 'economy' rooms are small but comfortable and more than adequate. The larger rooms - which require climbing stairs which I have difficulty with - are much roomier and not that much more expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravDevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Taormina Hotel and Casino
#19 of 78 in San Jose
384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Morazan Hotel & Casino
Morazan Hotel & Casino
#56 of 78 in San Jose
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#15 of 78 in San Jose
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#40 of 78 in San Jose
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vesuvio Hotel
Vesuvio Hotel
#46 of 78 in San Jose
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Amistad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Amistad

Property: Hotel La Amistad
Address: Calle 15 Avenida 11, San Jose 1864-1002, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Beach Miami meets Costa Rican Culture. Located in Barrio Otoya and Amon, upon entering the Hotel you see the beautiful Art Deco Tile and Marble, surrounded by rich, dark native wood beams and floors. 34 rooms include 6 Penthouse Suites with King beds, 24 jet Jacuzzi tubs and personal dry sauna as well as, another 26 Luxury Rooms with either King or Queen size beds. All rooms have 80 channels of Cable TV with HBO and Cinemax, flat screen TVs, hardwire and wireless internet access, refrigerator, digital safe and luxurious mattresses. You will find these quiet Barrio's are away from the noise and traffic of downtown but still only a short 5 minute walk to all of San Jose's main attractions - The National Theatre, Museums, Shops, Restaurants, Casino's, Nightlife and Exotic Parks. As always free wireless, long distance calls to USA and Canada and laundry. Breakfast included in price. Ask about our ALL INCLUSIVE options. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, All domestic Beer and Wine, Well Drinks, 50% off top shelf. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Amistad Hotel
La Amistad San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing