We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Spot for a Stopover”
Review of Hotel La Amistad

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel La Amistad
Ranked #35 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Good Spot for a Stopover”
Reviewed 9 May 2009

This review is based on only a one-night stay, but we enjoyed our stay very much. We were greeted warmly when we arrived, and the service from both Carlos and Matt were great throughout. The room was large, with a king-size bed with a good mattress and nice linens. Nice bathroom, but no counter space and a very low small sink were minuses. Also, we were right at the top of the stairs that come up from the lobby, and voices from the lobby could be heard quite clearly in the room. Wonderful wood floors, sparkling clean. It was nice to have two chairs in the room, as well as a desk for the computer, and high-speed Internet. Excellent lighting, which we always appreciate for reading. We had to leave before the advertised breakfast time, but Carlos got up early and had it all laid out for us an hour early. Overall we give the hotel good marks and will return on our next visit to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LandCruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    47
    23
    16
    4
See reviews for
6
61
90
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2009

The staff are very courteous. Language is not a problem. Easy check in. Quite easy going atmosphere. The owners is always about or a phone call away. Rooms range from basic to full suites. Going back in June for two weeks.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justa49man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2009

We stayed only one night at Hotel La Amistad as we came into Costa Rica through San Jose. We had a problem with our reservation (I had reserved 2 rooms, but they said I only had one.) However, they resolved the confusion with no problem. This hotel is a great value considering that it offers clean (somewhat spartan) rooms and breakfast in the morning. Our bed was a bit uncomfortable (it was sloped, so we kept rolling in toward the middle), and our room was very small, and I was happy we were not to have an extended stay there. However, it was perfect for what we wanted -- an inexpensive place to spend our first night before the real vacation began! The breakfast was quite good -- made to order. There were eggs, ham, pancakes, fruit, cereal. A generally pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank writeabm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2009

The hotel is in an excellent location. Within walking distance from some of the greatest restaurants and a short cab drive away from others. Also, just a brisk walk from downtown where you can see the sights and mingle with the locals. My favorite aspect of the hotel is NO TWO ROOMS ARE ALIKE. The owner Matt Kinkelaar has an eye for detail and comfort that you won't believe. From the most basic room to their luxurious suites I guarantee you won't be disdappointed and I challenge ANY hotel to beat their price... add a FREE hot breakfast made to order EVERY MORNING and you're in travel heaven :) . This hotel is such a treat you won't know what you enjoyed most, Hotel La Amistad or San Jose...

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2009

I was recently on a business trip in San Jose Costa Rica. I travel frequently and I am always looking for great value and to save money, especially in these tough economic times. I have found another such place in San Jose Cost Rica. My first business trip to San Jose, CR was in January '09, my most recent trip was in March/April '09. During my business travels In the US & Canada I usually pay $100 to $130 a night, however at Hotel La Amistad rates are from $70 a night. A 30% savings for me is significant.

The hotel is situated within walking distance from downtown but far enough away that it is in a very safe area. It is one block from Hospital Calderon Guardia and one block in the other direction is a middle to upscale restaurant, Cafe Mundo. I have enjoyed several lunches and dinners there.

The hotel staff are exceptional. The hotel managers, Carlos & Rudy our fluent in english and go above and beyond to provide exceptional friendly service. I required some business assistance several times during my visits and in every instance Rudy & Carlos exceeded my expecations. I have never received better service. I also required some special business assistance and was fortunate enough to have the opportunity to speak with the owner of the hotel, the information & services he provided was invaluable. Once again, exceptional service.

The house keeping staff are superb, they exceeded my expecations every time. They are friendly and accomodating in every respect. They always try to exceed your expectations. This was my fourth stay at the hotel and the experience was the same with every stay, absolutely wonderful.

There are sevel types of rooms. Queen, King & Suites. The rooms have nice hard wood floors which I prefer over carpet. There are several suites including a few new ones. They are exceptional and have ceramic tile. Amistad has rooms to suite every travelers needs. I have stayed in every type of room at the hotel, all are exceptionally clean. If you require more space I suggest requesting a suite, you will certainly be pleased. All the rooms have large tv's and the suites have large flat lcd tv's. 70 channels including two free movie channels.

The lobby is inviting with a comfortable lounge and large lcd flat tv screen. In the morning you will enjoy their free breakfest. Eggs, omelettes, sausage, western. Assortment of freshly cut fruits, watermelon, cantaloupe, pineapple etc. Cereal, orange juice, coffee are also included free of charge.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank treasurehunterjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2009

To start, I have been to Costa Rica a few times. Stay in many different hotels (large chain hotels and small B&B types. unless your staying at the large chain hotels most room in San Jose are kinda small) I think, this is a old mansion that has been refurbished and updated to a hotel. I came across this site and found this hotel price and location to be what I was looking for. after reading the reviews i was hoping most was true. so I called the hotel to find out if there was room available. i booked the cheapest room available for two nights and plan on extending my stay if i find the hotel to my liking. arrived about 1 PM and was welcome by a very friendly staff. The rooms are new and done with great taste. The beds are memory foam mattresss extremely comfortable. i met the owner Matt on my way out. after a short chat he show me the other room in the hotel. the price range was from $69 to $139. the suites are very nicely done. after taking to Matt he offer me a free upgrade to one of the suite to see how i like it. well i extended my stay and was very glad i came a cross this site and found this hotel. To me La Amistad has a feel of large B&B, great customer services and price is very reasonable

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2009

I have stayed here a handful of times & I've had very pleasant experiences. First, the property is clean - from what I have seen it appears the entire hotel has hardwood &/or tile floors & they are kept very clean - I personally do not care for hotel carpet. Second, the price is very reasonable ~ $65 night. Also, for hotel beds they are quite comfortable. Additionally, it is very quiet in the evenings, however, in the morning one can hear people walking about on the hardwood/tile floors but I always awake early so that is a non issue for me. Again, I have enjoyed staying at this property.
Keith Beam

Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank keithclotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Taormina Hotel and Casino
#15 of 77 in San Jose
383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Morazan Hotel & Casino
Morazan Hotel & Casino
#55 of 77 in San Jose
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#37 of 77 in San Jose
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#19 of 77 in San Jose
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vesuvio Hotel
Vesuvio Hotel
#44 of 77 in San Jose
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Hotel Paseo Las Damas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Amistad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Amistad

Property: Hotel La Amistad
Address: Calle 15 Avenida 11, San Jose 1864-1002, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Beach Miami meets Costa Rican Culture. Located in Barrio Otoya and Amon, upon entering the Hotel you see the beautiful Art Deco Tile and Marble, surrounded by rich, dark native wood beams and floors. 34 rooms include 6 Penthouse Suites with King beds, 24 jet Jacuzzi tubs and personal dry sauna as well as, another 26 Luxury Rooms with either King or Queen size beds. All rooms have 80 channels of Cable TV with HBO and Cinemax, flat screen TVs, hardwire and wireless internet access, refrigerator, digital safe and luxurious mattresses. You will find these quiet Barrio's are away from the noise and traffic of downtown but still only a short 5 minute walk to all of San Jose's main attractions - The National Theatre, Museums, Shops, Restaurants, Casino's, Nightlife and Exotic Parks. As always free wireless, long distance calls to USA and Canada and laundry. Breakfast included in price. Ask about our ALL INCLUSIVE options. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, All domestic Beer and Wine, Well Drinks, 50% off top shelf. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Amistad Hotel
La Amistad San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing