We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel La Amistad, inexpensive and clean”
Review of Hotel La Amistad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Amistad
Ranked #40 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 22 August 2007

Hotel La Amistad is located on the main street in La Fortuna. The rooms are set back from the street, so it is quiet. The rooms are simple, clean, and inexpensive, with hot water showers, and some have AC. I noticed a tour group of italian tourists checked in, but most of the guests were ticos. The hotel is family owned, and they are pleasant and helpful. Anything you want is within walking distance.

Thank Tautog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mkink, owner at Hotel La Amistad, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2009

This is not our Hotel. There is a Second Hotel in La Fortuna that goes by the name of La Amistad. While the review is neither good or bad, I thought that it was important to let people know that we are in the city of San Jose and La Fortuna is 2 hours North. I do here that the La Amistad in La Fortuna is also very nice and well run.

Regards
Matt
Hotel La Amistad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2007

We were told the hotel was recently bought by an American. There is alot of work being done on the inside. It seems when it's finished the place will look pretty nice. The room was nice enough; safe, tv (cable), nice bathroom w/ blow dryer, hot! water, telephone. Staff was great! Internet is available in the rooms and once signed on it was much faster than I expected. Area fine to walk in day, near stores and flea market. Flea market place to buy souveniiers, not not airport or fancy stores.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Julio Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mkink, Owner at Hotel La Amistad, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2008

To all

The Hotel changed ownership as of Oct 1 2006. We have spent the last year updating the rooms and lobby with the following:

All rooms have a King or Queen bed with memoryfoam matteresses, electronic safe, refridgerators, new televisions, wireless internet, free internet cafe. We are finishing up the new bar - restaurant as of April 2008. We will be updating the website with new photos of the lobby and rooms.

We currently have 3 penthouse suites with hot and wet saunas, jacuzzi tub and balcony overlooking the city. We welcome all comments and concerns and can be forwarded directly to the owner at mkinkelaar@msn.com.

Enjoy Costa Rica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2007

Not a bad place to stay if you're only staying a night or two as we did at the beginning and end of your stay in Costa Rica. Rooms were dated, but spacious and clean (well, the first room we had was anyway! - the second had a really thick layer of dust and lots of cobwebs around the curtain tracks, but I guess it's a little hard to keep on top of things in a dusty city?). Was first a little put off by the iron gate across the doorway, but at night realised this was for our safety which was a good thing. Breakfast was buffet style and filling. Internet access was really slow and the lighting in the internet area at night is terrible - make sure you use during the day! Staff were nice enough.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jillypuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2006

We were extremely disappointed in this hotel, which we felt was way overpriced for what it offered. Our simple room was adequate in size, with two good size beds, and had a safe (a real plus) BUT the kitchen (for which we had paid extra) had no pots and pans so was of little use. (There was a microwave but , when we arrived late in the evening, we had no microwavable food with us or appropriate containers.) There was a bathroom with the room but the large cockroach which crawled towards my daughter when she opened the bathroom door was something of a negative. The included breakfast (which was a no frills "dorm-style" buffet) in a pleasant dining area with a nice array of tables was stated to be until 10 a.m. but, when we came down at 9:15 a.m., there were only the last
vestiges of some scrambled eggs, rice and fried bananas so we just had cereal, toast and juice. Around 9:35 a.m., some more rice was brought out but no more eggs appeared and no-one came to see how we were doing or to offer us anything.

The hotel is about 10 minutes walk into town - a pleasant, slightly hilly, walk but not one that we would want to do after dark.

We would not return to this hotel and, in fact, we cancelled the reservation which we had made for the end of our Costa Rica trip and, instead, had a delightful experience in a lovely, more centrally located, hotel for about the same price that we would have spent at the Amistad.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank oxfordquill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mkink, Owner at Hotel La Amistad, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2009

This was prior to the management change in Oct. 2006 and renovations. Many of the photos are of the old Hotel prior to renovations.

Sorry for the confusion
Matt
Hotel La Amistad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2006

The beds weren't comfy, but the room was reasonably clean. The breakfast was exactly the same every day, and the staff appeared to know very little about getting around Costa Rica to the touristy places like Arenal or Monteverde. They also appeared to know very little about places that were nearby like places to eat, dance or set-up tours. On the up hand, it was just a few blocks from the city center, and our room had air conditioning.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Altruistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mkink, owner at Hotel La Amistad, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2009

This was prior to the management change in Oct. 2006 and renovations. Many of the photos are of the old Hotel prior to renovations.

Sorry for the confusion
Matt
Hotel La Amistad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Rochester, NY
13
Reviewed 22 February 2006

Stayed alone. Staff were all very helpful.
Arranged my Tram Tour which was Great!

Marlene is very attractive (did not ask her out :-)

Was my first trip to Costa Rica, enjoyed all of it.
Neighbor hood is quiet at night but noisy during the
day. Spent too much time a few blocks away at
Jonny's Sports Bar but was very convenient.

Unless I get a better offer from a new found friend,
I will definitely stay at the Amistad again.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2005

If you are young (or young at heart), or just sociable, you should stay here when in San Jose. The staff are legendary in their helpfulness, most especially Rudolfo. He is extra ordinarily friendly and helpful. [--]. We had two great stays here and I am sure you ll find the hotel fantastic too.

13  Thank m4rtin27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Castillo
Hotel Castillo
#42 of 78 in San Jose
28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#18 of 78 in San Jose
441 reviews
3.9 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#14 of 78 in San Jose
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
997 reviews
2 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Amistad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Amistad

Address: Calle 15 Avenida 11, San Jose 1864-1002, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: £70 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Amistad 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Beach Miami meets Costa Rican Culture. Located in Barrio Otoya and Amon, upon entering the Hotel you see the beautiful Art Deco Tile and Marble, surrounded by rich, dark native wood beams and floors. 34 rooms include 6 Penthouse Suites with King beds, 24 jet Jacuzzi tubs and personal dry sauna as well as, another 26 Luxury Rooms with either King or Queen size beds. All rooms have 80 channels of Cable TV with HBO and Cinemax, flat screen TVs, hardwire and wireless internet access, refrigerator, digital safe and luxurious mattresses. You will find these quiet Barrio's are away from the noise and traffic of downtown but still only a short 5 minute walk to all of San Jose's main attractions - The National Theatre, Museums, Shops, Restaurants, Casino's, Nightlife and Exotic Parks. As always free wireless, long distance calls to USA and Canada and laundry. Breakfast included in price. Ask about our ALL INCLUSIVE options. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, All domestic Beer and Wine, Well Drinks, 50% off top shelf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Amistad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Amistad Hotel
La Amistad San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing