We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet family hotel”
Review of Hotel El Maragato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel El Maragato
Ranked #43 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 19 October 2012

A centrally located hotel in San Jose, Costa Rica, right in the pedestrian second avenue, near the National Theater. Clean, large rooms. Reasonable priced, breakfast included. Clean basic rooms with satellite TV. Only complaint is that you have to run the hot water for several minutes to have it warm. Ask for rooms far from the street, since the street becomes very noisy early in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms far from the street, since noise starts very early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Once again my stay was the very best. The rooms are always clean. The a/c always works great. Out of 1 to 10. I rate this hotel 9. Your right in the center of all the fun day or night. Thanks once again to all the staff that made my stay great.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Digness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2008

I stayed three nights at the hotel, after two nights at the Gran Hotel Costa Rica, which only has a much nicer lobby. Changed Hotels due to the preponderance of large, boorishly behaved North American 'tour' groups. Not at all civilized! Happily, the rooms at the Maragato were much cleaner and better kept than the Gran Hotel. The bed was newer with nice, clean white sheets, and the bathroom was spic and span. Yes, there was plenty of hot water, too! The front desk staff were obliging and professional. Didn't use the restaurant, but it looked just fine. The location of the hotel is great (I got a room with a balcony overlooking the pedestrian Avenida Central), and it was nice to sit outside and watch the world go by. Will stay there again when in San Jose.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CarefullyConsidered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2007

This was the best value in San Jose. Its in a great location, right downtown on one of the more central avenues. The hotel concierge was very helpful, spoke excellent English. He showed us the room before we took it. The room was nice clean and reasonably priced. The room included continental breakfast in the morning and the waiters were very nice and friendly. They have security that stay in the lobby at night and they lock the doors. I would definitely stay here again and I would recommend it over the Gran Costa Rican which was down the street.

Stayed: October 2007
4  Thank orbit001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Boca Raton, Florida
125
Reviewed 23 December 2005

In the middle of San Jose-Rooms are spacious(larger and cleaner than Hotel Costa Rica)English speaking employees. Rooms on the street side all have a balcony as does the dining room. Rooms on other side are very quiet with great views of the mountains. Noise on street side is mild and gone by midnight. Noise at the Hotel Costa Rica is 24/7 due to the 24/7 casino noise that shoots up to all the rooms there. Great home style meals in the dining room(2 balconies available to eat at). No "heating" or air conditioning necessary at any time of the year due to the mild constant climate. Safest hotel in San Jose as there is only one way in or out and door is locked at midnight. I have never seen any bug at the hotel. Rooms are thoroughly cleaned everyday by a friendly staff.

Stayed: November 2004
25  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2005

Now, I've stayed in some dives all around the world, but this one sure tops my list as the skeeviest hotel I've ever stayed at. When I walked in the front door, I just knew we should have turned around and walked right out. Thinking our room was pre-paid (like the website said) we stayed. First of all, the rooms have absolutely no air conditioning, so if you do decide to stay here, ask for the lowest possible floor. The noise level will be greater down there, but at least you'll be comfortable if you dare to slip in between the sheets of the beds. The ceiling tiles were stained and we even were graced by the presence of a roach! Yippie! At night, the active foot-street is bustinling until the wee-hours of the morning. If that's what you're into, then this is the hotel for you! Otherwise, trek across the foot-street to the Gran Costa Rican and stay there!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jesikah6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AldiAdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#54 of 78 in San Jose
514 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#26 of 78 in San Jose
301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#28 of 78 in San Jose
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#38 of 78 in San Jose
167 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kaps Place
Hotel Kaps Place
#27 of 78 in San Jose
314 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes
Hotel Arrecifes
#63 of 78 in San Jose
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Maragato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Maragato

Address: Avenida Central, Calle 1 and 3, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: £14 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Maragato 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Maragato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing