We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location in the center of it all ... San Jose, Costa Rica.”
Review of Hotel El Maragato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel El Maragato
Ranked #41 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect location in the center of it all ... San Jose, Costa Rica.”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

It was my first time staying in a hostel, after doing my research I was ready to explore. I stayed for two weeks in Monteverde, and Flamingo, and riding to downtown San Jose it was an eye opener.
The taxi service dropped me off at a nearby hotel around the corner, and I had to walk to El Maragato with my suitcase because of its location. Thankfully a kind employee from the drop off hotel carried my suitcase.
Naturally I was surprised to see so many folks on the streets of San Jose, coming from Monteverde and Flamingo. Yet i was surprised by the looks of the El Maragato from the outaide was very disappointing.The pictures on the Internet of the hostel was totally different from than the actual hostel itself, and is in need of an outside paint job.
The lobby is very bright and clean with nice shiny floors, but floors three and above needs improvement.
The staff is the very best, and everyone was helpful.
On my arrival I mentioned to the desk clerk a handsome guy name Luis ... I think that was his name. I told him about the reviews I read, and suggest not giving me a room facing the balcony. The reviews stated it was not a good idea for sleeping in the front, because of the constant noise outside.
He had no problem giving me room number 603. Although the
room was peaceful, and better than the noise from the busy downtown street. There was one major drawback. It was next to a fire exit, and the bathroom with a window had no curtains which in my point of view made it easy for a pervert to peek in on you. I do not suggest room 603 for a single female traveling alone. As I mentioned earlier the staff was friendly, and will go out of their way to provide information and help at your request.
The cord to my IPhone had given out. I found an IPhone store, but the staff gave me one to use. I didn't need to purchase an extra cord. I was able to practice my Spainsh with a few staff members. You must speak Spanish in San Jose. The staff had no problems correcting my use of verbs.
I would stay here again because of the downtown location, and the staff kindness.
El Maragato is a place to remember.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BooksbyrobynHowzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    44
    17
    9
    14
See reviews for
10
23
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed there for 2 nights, on separate occasions. My first stay was a very positive experience: a nice, clean enough room, awesome staff, and given the location, looked like a very good deal. on my second stay, everything was the same, except for the room: dirty floors, cockroaches in the bathroom, TV not working, and shower was basically not useable. I almost wanted to give it more stars because the staff is just awesome.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vlad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

I am writing this from family angle. We arrived by car (my mistake really, should have stayed away from the city) late. There is nowhere to park so I ended up leaving the car in the street and moving it to the parking lot at 5.30. Rooms are dirty, after walking on carpet your socks are black. Shower had disgusting black growth around shower head. Bad start to a vacation in Costa Rica. Stay away.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Olegred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

First off I must say that the staff are first class. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels over my 67 years and this bunch is amongst the best. The reception staff is so helpful, with their great command of the English language and can't say enough for them, first class. I have scheduled trips from the hotel and they took care of all of the details, even have cab drivers that they knew. I enjoy the free breakfast also and the breakfast staff is helpful as well.The rooms themselves are large, and the beds are adequate. The location is ideal for seeing the sights of San Jose,the National Theater is right around the corner.For the price this is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: As for a room in the back when making reservation, as the front rooms can be a bit noisy, for people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Hotel is located in a busy pedestrian area near the cultural museum, national theatre and national museum. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. I didn't feel at a loss since my Spanish isn't that great. The room was adequate, providing just the basics. WiFi was a little spotty, bathroom was tiny. Room had a balcony which was a nice touch however the pedestrian area was busy and noisy throughout the day and into late evening. Special thanks to Luis & Paolo!

Room Tip: Select a room opposite the street side as they are quieter; book your day excursions through the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s5541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The hotel is in a great location, right in the centre of San Jose. Note it's in a pedestrian area so you won't be able to drive right up to it. The facilities are somewhat basic and dated, but quite adequate, for the money. A reasonable place to spend a night, but not more than that.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agfoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.8 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#27 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#57 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#35 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Casino Costa Rica Morazan
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#22 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Maragato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Maragato

Property: Hotel El Maragato
Address: Avenida Central, Calle 1 and 3, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Maragato 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Maragato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing