We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home away in San Jose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colours Oasis Resort
Ranked #31 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Colours is an establishment like no other, a small boutique property that is more guesthouse than hotel, akin to a family home with an everchanging stream of friends stopping by for a visit.
A diverse mix of guests --- men, women, gay, straight, couples, singles, groups of friends, introduced into a relaxed atmosphere, allow an experience here much like that offered by a train trip. A portion of, or moment in a journey almost unto itself, unhurried, where new acquaintances are often met over a meal or a drink.
The staff offer friendly and accessible yet unobtrusive service. Many of the employees have been with the owner James for a decade or more.
The available accommodations, from a modest single room, to an expansive apartment suite offer an option for any budget.
Every time we come back, Colours becomes a little more a true home away.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ed4_vida_rica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2012

The manager was really helpful - even before we arrived, due to a problem with American Airlines not allowing us to fly (as we didn't have a return flight from Costa Rica), he advised on various optons. Hotel is very friendly, nice rooms and pool. But stayed too long in San Jose - there's not much to see.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Everything was great at this Gay Hotel and I would recommend it to everybody. Cant tell you enough what a great little spot of paradise this place was in "gritty San Jose".

Now for the not so good... I wouldnt recommend staying in San Jose for more than a couple of days. Just not a lot to see and frankly, I didnt feel safe. 99.9% of the businesses have guards out in front, and it was recommended that we dont walk out at night. (not a lot to do in the area) What you do find when you walk out is a lot of buildings with gates, and bobbed wire to keep others out... Be aware and street wise in San Jose, better yet skip it...

Room Tip: i thought all the rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I have heard about Colours for many years but had never stayed until the other day when my business partner and I found ourselves in San Jose for the night with no hotel reservations made any where.

The staff and hotel owner, James were so warm and welcoming, and accommodating. Everything was fantastic, clean, and yet, simple. They have a full service bar and restaurant, so if you feel like chilling for the day, you can do so.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank blueosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Super comfortable place and friendly staff = a great place to stay in San Jose.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whooguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I run a restaurant on the Caribbean coastline of Costa Rica and often have to make trips to San Jose to shop. And even though I have an apartment in the city I just prefer to stay at Colors because its welcoming and it makes me feel pampered. The staff is friendly, the rooms are all unique and the location is good for my shopping but also convenient for the airport. If you want nightlife its just a cab ride away as well. The bilingual staff and owner are always there to help and very knowledgeable about the city and country . Rooms are clean and the beds and linens are of good quality. The common areas are pretty and especially pool area. I always tell my friends to stay and they all have been very happy with my recommendation. Good value

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kokibeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I own a small hotel on the Caribbean side of Costa Rica. Given that I go to San Jose on a regular basis, I want a place to stay that feels very comfortable and treats me like a guest. When I need a break from looking after my own guests, I hide out in Colours for a couple days and take in some "retail therapy".

Rooms are very nice (especially the updated ones). Beds are very comfortable and are king size. Staff is always accommodating. Always feel secure and each room has in-room safes.

It is one the few places in San Jose, that if you just want to hang out at the hotel, you will have a great day just doing that.

Room Tip: Ask for the updated rooms. They have been nicely appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank colinsito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
#32 of 78 in San Jose
111 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#26 of 78 in San Jose
511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#13 of 78 in San Jose
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#38 of 78 in San Jose
166 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites
3.6 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#53 of 78 in San Jose
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colours Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colours Oasis Resort

Address: Esquina Noroeste del Triangulo del Bulevar | Rohrmoser, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £35 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colours Oasis Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verdant, tropical, warm, beautiful year-round raft rapids, stroll rainforests, hike volcanoes, sample hottest gay nightlife in Latin America or just lounge poolside, Colours, your adventure home base exploring "The Wilds of Costa Rica". Premier, largest and only of its kind in the Capital City, designed for our deserving gay guests. Inclusive boutique hotel serving "the community" and their straight friends, conveniently located - stately Boulevard Rohrmoser. Stylish, intimate complex with all the amenities, bar and restaurant plus our renowned attentive 24 hour reception service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Colours Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colours Oasis Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing