We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff made our vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colours Oasis Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colours Oasis Resort
Ranked #30 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great staff made our vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

James and his staff helped arrange a terrific vacation to Costa Rica on short notice in high season. My wife and I decided to visit the country to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We've travelled a great deal in Europe with family and friends and wanted to see someplace different with just the two of us. Colours was the only reservation we made and only for our first night. We made no specific plans so we could go where we pleased without being tied to a program before getting a chance to "feel" the country. The resort made for a great "base camp" with easy access to both the center of San Jose and the airport. James helped us work out an itinerary that allowed us to maximize our time in country in just a few hours. He and his front desk staff then worked out the details for two other hotels (one near the Arsenal volcano and the other on the beach in Samara) as well as all transfers between all with return to Colours the day before our departure. They worked out all the details and the itinerary flowed without a hitch. Their recommendations were spot on making for a very enjoyable week. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed two days in two different rooms. Both were very good. The pictures give you a good idea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    72
    23
    12
    7
See reviews for
5
89
64
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

My partner and I stayed at Colours for about four days at the end of our Costa Rican vacation. The hotel website touts the premises as the “premier” gay hotel in San Jose. I’m not sure I’d use that adjective in describing the place. The hotel is typical of many gay owned/catered establishments we’ve stayed at in Palm Springs, Fort Lauderdale and the like - pleasant though can’t compete with a traditional hotel in terms of facilities. That being said, we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it.

The hotel is located in a quiet, and not too scenic, residential neighborhood. It seemed safe enough, but nothing that would make you want to stroll down the street and window shop. From the outside, the building appears windowless and somewhat fortified. Once inside, however, the place opens up around a small central area. The hotel itself seems cobbled together from three or four different buildings, all joined together and surrounding a courtyard. A dark, though attractive, lobby leads out to the pool that takes up virtually the entire courtyard. The size of the pool left little room to pass in places. A sun deck is located on one roof and the patio does have enough space for a small bar, some rocking chairs and lounge chairs. Tucked in the corner are two - two! - hot tubs. The weather in December was cool and occasionally rainy so we did not use the pool. (After a week in Manuel Antonio, the cool weather was welcome!)

We had a room on the second floor, which shared a sitting room with three other rooms. The sitting room provided a bit of extra space and privacy from the guests congregating around the pool and in the lobby. The furnishings in our room were older, but functional and the king sized bed was actually quite comfortable. The bedding and extra pillows were a nice touch. The room has a t.v. and we enjoyed watching a bit of Central American entertainment before turning in. The bathroom was small, but spotless and in good shape. It featured a carwash type shower system that took me a few minutes to figure out, but nice. The hot tubs were below our window, which allowed us to hear some interesting - and sometimes hilarious - conversations into the evening. Our room was otherwise quiet once the hot tub emptied out.

The hotel guests caters mainly to gay men, but is not gay exclusive. During our stay, several straight couples passed by, and a somewhat confused looking elderly Japanese couple and their adult daughter were also guests. They were charming and added a bit of intrigue to the surroundings.

The hotel provides a full breakfast in the morning and serves lunch, dinner and snacks through out the day. It also has a full bar, which we used regularly.

The staff make the hotel. They cleaned our room thoroughly each day and kept the grounds and public areas spotless. The owner provided a wealth of suggestions for sightseeing and the staff that manned the bar and the little restaurant were always friendly. We had our own car which we drove all over the place, without incident - even downtown. A guard outside the hotel watched over it at night.

I recommend this hotel if you are gay and want to stay among other gay men. You’ll find comfortable, clean rooms, helpful staff and food and cocktails if you want. If you crave space and the sort of environment provided by a more traditional resort or hotel, you might not enjoy this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a more expensive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krabi
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012 via mobile

Colours felt like home in Costa Rica and made for a great starting point and ending point on my trip. James is incredibly knowledgeable about the whole country and gives some great advice on what to see and do.

The rooms are quite modern and very comfortable and clean, and the hotel retains that Mediterranean villa feel with a beautiful pool in the middle of it all. It really does feel like an oasis in the city.

Breakfasts are hot and nice, staff was all very professional and friendly, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anybody traveling to Costa Rica. Great place to meet new people too... thanks guys!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

After flying all night to get to Costa Rica, it was great to find our way to Colours. They arranged to have a driver meet us at the airport. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. We booked an 11 day ground tour through their sister travel company ColoursDestinations.com. They did a great job and highly recommend them. It made transferring from place to place so easy and they selected great tour operators too.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian-and-Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

I had read previous reviews and figured I would have a good stay at Colours, but it was even better than I expected. The entire staff was great. The owner, James, was super helpful and friendly. Ricardo, Jose, and Liz were also great. The complimentary breakfast was tasty and the fresh squeezed orange juice every morning was also a treat. The entire place was always clean and all the other visitors were very inviting and talkative, which made us feel super comfortable. I wish we could have stayed longer (5 day trip) because it truly felt like a home away from home. I will definitely stay here again if/when I go back to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 23 and it was perfect! Roomy enough for me and my partner with a touch of sophisti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The World
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Very helpful kind staff at this guesthouse. Set around a lovely pool and relaxing gardens, definitely away from the crowds and hustle and bustle of San Jose. Perfect place to spend first/last nights in Costa Rica.

Had booked 2 nights, but a delayed flight meant I arrived a day late. Instead of charging me cancellation fees for the night the actually gave me the money as a credit which I used against food, taxi to the airport the next day and a short private city tour, all effortlessly arranged by the guesthouse.

Service was good and helpful without being intrusive which can easily be the case with smaller establishments.

If you are looking for a friendly clean unpretentious place to stay in San Jose would definitely recommend Colours Oasis.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WarwickintheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

I had a very pleasant experience at Colours Oasis. I called ahead and scheduled the shuttle to pick us up at the airport, very nice driver carried our bags and with a smile drove us to the hotel about 25 minutes away. Allan was there to greet us and made sure our room was ready ASAP despite our morning arrival. Drinks at the bar were always available at the bar and lunch was very tasty (nacho platter is a must). We arranged to have dinner there and had nothing but the most tasty chicken. Our room was very comfortable and the shower was clean and spacious. The pool was a bit cold but it's Costa Rica, you want it that way. Plenty of things to chose from during breakfast (included in the price). Having Liz arrange transportation for us was a plus, she is really amazing. We had such a great time we bought a Day Pass before our flight back and we had the same amazing experience as the prior week. This is a quiet place, away from crazy city noise and close enough in a cab (inexpensive ride). Stay here and you will be able to experience true hospitality. Thanks to Allan, Liz and the rest of the staff for making our stay so pleasant. We will go back for sure!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aljebedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#12 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
#29 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
2.3 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#4 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colours Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colours Oasis Resort

Property: Colours Oasis Resort
Address: Esquina Noroeste del Triangulo del Bulevar | Rohrmoser, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Colours Oasis Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verdant, tropical, warm, beautiful year-round raft rapids, stroll rainforests, hike volcanoes, sample hottest gay nightlife in Latin America or just lounge poolside, Colours, your adventure home base exploring "The Wilds of Costa Rica". Premier, largest and only of its kind in the Capital City, designed for our deserving gay guests. Inclusive boutique hotel serving "the community" and their straight friends, conveniently located - stately Boulevard Rohrmoser. Stylish, intimate complex with all the amenities, bar and restaurant plus our renowned attentive 24 hour reception service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Colours Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colours Oasis Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing