We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet little oasis, literally!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colours Oasis Resort
Ranked #30 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet little oasis, literally!”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

My friend and I chose to stay at Colours because of its proximity to the US Consulate after her passport (and pretty much everything else) was stolen. Colours was truly an oasis for her after such an ordeal. The place made her feel so safe. We stayed in a small room on the bottom floor, in the corner, which was cozy and felt like a little cave of comfort. Location wise, it just depends on what you are in SJ to do, for how long, and how much you want to pay for taxis. Breakfast was delicious, as were the margaritas. The staff were so helpful and kind. They arranged a taxi/shuttle for me to the airport for $20. The only negative things I would say are in regards to upkeep/maintenance. The ceiling of our room leaked a bit, luckily right near the door where a plant was, but it still made the floor wet. Also, there are two hot tubs, one of which is filled with those Chuck-E-Cheese balls (awesome idea), and they seemed to be a bit dirty and have temperature regulation issues. Fine when you're an adult and can identify when water is too hot to be in, but I'd be cautious with kiddos. Overall though, I will definitely be back and send folks to this hotel when in SJ.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoKueppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    73
    24
    12
    7
See reviews for
5
91
65
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed in room 18, I personally love that there is mixed crowd. Clean rooms, laundry service, our neighbor chose to have his mom recover there after surgery, she was sweet as a hard candy Christmas. My friend joined a day late, I just had to pencil him in. Another friend rode with us to the airport for a convenient $10 charge. All of the staff went out of there way to make us feel at home. TOTALLY GOING BACK!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WickedVyrgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
157 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Nice welcoming, nice boutique hotel, very nice reception lady, we had a great time there, nice pool, its better to get a room around the pool, you feel very at home and welcoming here, it's a great location to discover the city of San José.

Room Tip: choose a room around the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrSmith74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Isidro de El General, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Colours Oasis Resort has all the prerequisites to be a home away from home. I liked the complex with all its nooks and crannies and the small pool area with the plants. Sadly, the place did not live up to my expectations. Colours is located in Rohrmoser, an outer district of the capital city of San Jose. One is not really located in downtown San Jose so none of the sites are in walking distance of anything. There is no view such as you would find in places like Escazu or Santa Ana. The entire complex is rather space-constrained. The biggest deficiency for me was the complete lack of any acceptable modern communications infrastructure. I have never seen so many wireless server signals, none of them with any useful signal strength to hook up my cell phone or laptop onto the internet. The one single workstation available for guests seems to be from the 20th century and offers internet connections at absolute snails-pace. I only had faint cell coverage throughout the hotel complex and none whatsoever inside the room. When I travel, being able to communicate is of primary importance. The rooms are clean and the showers functional but you could hear the people in the adjacent rooms cough. The tiny bar has a very limited selection of anything and once I was ready to sample the restaurant food the kitchen had closed down (9:15pm). I was directed to a Costa Rican soda around the corner with an - guess what - excellent wireless signal. I will be thinking twice before checking into Colours Resort again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcelMPfister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bocas del Toro
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We only stayed here for one night due to an early flight out of San Jose, but would definitely return. Good location near Sabana Park, nice restaurant/bar on premises and very nice rooms surrounding a courtyard with pool and hot tubs. Great value for San Jose. The staff was very friendly and helpful and made our few hours there very comfortable. And the place was very well set up with great artwork everywhere and feels intimate and quiet from the outside bustle of the city. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panamatraveler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golfito, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2013

This is a lovely hotel in the western part of the city called Rohrmoser. The employees and staff are very helpful and non intrusive. The hotel was and is primarily gay but it has been more relationship inclusive as of late. There are lots of different rooms for various budgets and a restaurant on-site. I like the pizza alot! Like the majority of hotels in Costa Rica this hotel is not your standard cookie-cutter U.S. style hotel. If your looking for a Hampton Inn experience or are a fussy traveler looking to pay $9.99 a night for a Ritz Carlton Suite this place is not for you. Actually, this country is not for you. I have stayed here at least 5 times and each time I find it charming and laid-back. Most of the time I meet other guests and have remained friends with them.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank springboks1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Location is decent, a bit residential but an easy walk to restaurants and basic shopping. We only stayed on night as we passed through town but it was a nice place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3.8 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
0.3 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#13 of 76 in San Jose
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
#28 of 76 in San Jose
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#42 of 76 in San Jose
109 reviews
2.1 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
872 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#55 of 76 in San Jose
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colours Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colours Oasis Resort

Property: Colours Oasis Resort
Address: Esquina Noroeste del Triangulo del Bulevar | Rohrmoser, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Colours Oasis Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verdant, tropical, warm, beautiful year-round raft rapids, stroll rainforests, hike volcanoes, sample hottest gay nightlife in Latin America or just lounge poolside, Colours, your adventure home base exploring "The Wilds of Costa Rica". Premier, largest and only of its kind in the Capital City, designed for our deserving gay guests. Inclusive boutique hotel serving "the community" and their straight friends, conveniently located - stately Boulevard Rohrmoser. Stylish, intimate complex with all the amenities, bar and restaurant plus our renowned attentive 24 hour reception service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Colours Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colours Oasis Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing