We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colours Oasis Resort
Ranked #32 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This is a nice hotel close to the NatureAir airport in San Jose (Tobias Bolanos, SYQ). Other than that, it is far out from the city center. It feels very safe.
The English speaking staff is friendly and welcoming. The hotel serves also as a local gay-friendly bar, and the vibe is light and relaxing.
The rooms are very well equipped and clean, with hot water all day long and decent wifi.
The facility also offers nice jacuzzi, a "business center" with a single computer and several common areas with comfortable sofas.
They offer you a shuttle to SYQ airport for $6 - this is way too much for a very short ride. Try to get your own taxi for a more reasonable price.
After staying and eating there I suffered from a 24-hours stomach ache (only time it happened to me in Costa Rica). I hope this is just a rare incident.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhiteSlope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

I stayed here my first night in town before heading into the jungle and it was really perfect for my purposes, with helpful staff to direct you into town, and an easy to get to location from the airport. If you are a trendy traveler, looking for a boutique hotel and "open" atmosphere, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natasha_LaBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

we are married couple stayed here to party in san jose and still have safe cozy retreat to go home to.I would recomend this hotel for price and personalized service. All of the staff was very friendly and willing to give help or advice.Louis diego was our front desk clerk when we arrived and went above and beyound the call of duty to make our stay excellent.my wife and i are both in hospitality industry and would rather have stayed at this private quiet oasis than in fancier name hotel in san jose.Hotel is located just outside san jose and had 24 hr security. cant wait for return stay

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 6,197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

My friend and I chose to stay at Colours because of its proximity to the US Consulate after her passport (and pretty much everything else) was stolen. Colours was truly an oasis for her after such an ordeal. The place made her feel so safe. We stayed in a small room on the bottom floor, in the corner, which was cozy and felt like a little cave of comfort. Location wise, it just depends on what you are in SJ to do, for how long, and how much you want to pay for taxis. Breakfast was delicious, as were the margaritas. The staff were so helpful and kind. They arranged a taxi/shuttle for me to the airport for $20. The only negative things I would say are in regards to upkeep/maintenance. The ceiling of our room leaked a bit, luckily right near the door where a plant was, but it still made the floor wet. Also, there are two hot tubs, one of which is filled with those Chuck-E-Cheese balls (awesome idea), and they seemed to be a bit dirty and have temperature regulation issues. Fine when you're an adult and can identify when water is too hot to be in, but I'd be cautious with kiddos. Overall though, I will definitely be back and send folks to this hotel when in SJ.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CocoKueppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed in room 18, I personally love that there is mixed crowd. Clean rooms, laundry service, our neighbor chose to have his mom recover there after surgery, she was sweet as a hard candy Christmas. My friend joined a day late, I just had to pencil him in. Another friend rode with us to the airport for a convenient $10 charge. All of the staff went out of there way to make us feel at home. TOTALLY GOING BACK!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WickedVyrgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Nice welcoming, nice boutique hotel, very nice reception lady, we had a great time there, nice pool, its better to get a room around the pool, you feel very at home and welcoming here, it's a great location to discover the city of San José.

Room Tip: choose a room around the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrSmith74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Colours Oasis Resort has all the prerequisites to be a home away from home. I liked the complex with all its nooks and crannies and the small pool area with the plants. Sadly, the place did not live up to my expectations. Colours is located in Rohrmoser, an outer district of the capital city of San Jose. One is not really located in downtown San Jose so none of the sites are in walking distance of anything. There is no view such as you would find in places like Escazu or Santa Ana. The entire complex is rather space-constrained. The biggest deficiency for me was the complete lack of any acceptable modern communications infrastructure. I have never seen so many wireless server signals, none of them with any useful signal strength to hook up my cell phone or laptop onto the internet. The one single workstation available for guests seems to be from the 20th century and offers internet connections at absolute snails-pace. I only had faint cell coverage throughout the hotel complex and none whatsoever inside the room. When I travel, being able to communicate is of primary importance. The rooms are clean and the showers functional but you could hear the people in the adjacent rooms cough. The tiny bar has a very limited selection of anything and once I was ready to sample the restaurant food the kitchen had closed down (9:15pm). I was directed to a Costa Rican soda around the corner with an - guess what - excellent wireless signal. I will be thinking twice before checking into Colours Resort again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcelMPfister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
#31 of 78 in San Jose
111 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#28 of 78 in San Jose
511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#13 of 78 in San Jose
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#38 of 78 in San Jose
166 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites
3.6 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#53 of 78 in San Jose
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colours Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colours Oasis Resort

Address: Esquina Noroeste del Triangulo del Bulevar | Rohrmoser, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £36 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colours Oasis Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verdant, tropical, warm, beautiful year-round raft rapids, stroll rainforests, hike volcanoes, sample hottest gay nightlife in Latin America or just lounge poolside, Colours, your adventure home base exploring "The Wilds of Costa Rica". Premier, largest and only of its kind in the Capital City, designed for our deserving gay guests. Inclusive boutique hotel serving "the community" and their straight friends, conveniently located - stately Boulevard Rohrmoser. Stylish, intimate complex with all the amenities, bar and restaurant plus our renowned attentive 24 hour reception service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Colours Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colours Oasis Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing