We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for an extended stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colours Oasis Resort
Ranked #31 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2011

I spent 6 days at Colours with friends, using it as the base for day trips in and around San Jose. The staff were helpful and very accomodating to the arrival schedules of my friends. We rented the full apartment (#29) which was more than enough room for 3 men and their gear. Having a kitchen also made making pool-side snacks and drinks easier.

The sign of a good guesthouse is in the ambiance that the host creates for the guests. Colours excels in making a great environment. The staff are friendly, without being obtrusive. There are always other interesting travellers to swap tales. And when you need quiet, private time, the layout of the resort and rooms provides space for down-time. Much nicer and less stress than staying in downtown San Jose.

Thanks James for making my stay comfortable and fun!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ottawa_JF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2011

Very good gay hotel. Nice rooms but be warned there is no air conditioning. We did not mind it as there was a ceiling fan. Staff were good.
Only issues if the weight machine was broken, they allow smoking in the pool and the restaurant/bar (which is a major negative issue for us), and food in the restuarant was best average and over-priced. I would not recommend eating there. Breakfast was good but should have included a better selection of fresh fruit.

Allowing smoking in the common areas is unacceptable otherwise I would have given this location a higher rating.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Halifaxfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

This place is walking distance to Plaza Mayor Mall which met my needs. However, the manager seemed like an angry man and the staff appeared fearful. Breakfast was minimal and basic consisting of a side plate of fresh fruit a couple of eggs and toast. The best part of staying here was for the company of two friendly gay men who were charming company for a solo women traveller.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acp87a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Had a great time here! I was backpacking through Central America and used Colours as a nice break from ‘roughing-it’. Prior to arriving, the staff was very attentive to e-mails and planning. The rooms are awesome with robes, big beds and plenty of pillows.

The internet is VERY slow – be warned. The hot tub was also down, however the manager noticed I was trying to use it and immediately fixed it. Same with the internet. If something is wrong, tell the staff, they are right on it and ready to help out.

The place was quiet, so if you are planning on meeting up with people, don’t plan on it. I was able to meet 8 new friends, but the other nights the place was very quiet. Easy cab ride to anywhere.

Enjoyed the stay there, and am very thankful to the staff for everything they did – great service.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmchf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

My friends booked this hotel for us on a recent trip to Costa Rica in late December. The place is not in a good neighborhood and secluded especially from other gay locations. My room had a broken window adn it was very cold that day. Also, there was no internet connectivity in this room -- staff told me to go downstairs. The jacuzzi and the treadmill were broken and the place ws empty -- go figure.

I will say that the front desk staff was pleasant but there are NO other positives.

AVOID this place. We checked out the same day. If you are looking for a nice accomodation try the Hotel Beacon in Escazu.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MuscldPapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We stayed here for a day when we arrived in Costa Rica and for another day before we left… it’s a great little place in a quiet neighborhood with attentive friendly/helpful staff and the price includes breakfast. I would recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjmiller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

Colours Oasis Resort is in a very pretty and secluded spanish style building in a safe residential neighborhood. You actually can't tell how pretty it is from the outside, which I guess adds to the secluded part.

Be clear that this is mostly a spot for men, not women. My partner and I did, however, enjoy staying here though it would have been nice if we didn't feel like the token dykes. It's great to have a gay hotel to stay at but we wonder when the gay spots will start marketing to women too...as an aside, our lonely planet didn't mention anything for gay women.

The showers are fantastic here. Seriously, worth the money alone. The rooms are very nice too and the staff is super friendly and hospitable. And doesn't that make such a difference? The breakfasts are nothing special but they do the trick. In general, we really liked staying here - it's a lovely place and we would recommend it - to men and women.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ari R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
#32 of 78 in San Jose
111 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#28 of 78 in San Jose
511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#13 of 78 in San Jose
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#38 of 78 in San Jose
167 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Kaps Place
Hotel Kaps Place
#27 of 78 in San Jose
314 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colours Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colours Oasis Resort

Address: Esquina Noroeste del Triangulo del Bulevar | Rohrmoser, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £35 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colours Oasis Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verdant, tropical, warm, beautiful year-round raft rapids, stroll rainforests, hike volcanoes, sample hottest gay nightlife in Latin America or just lounge poolside, Colours, your adventure home base exploring "The Wilds of Costa Rica". Premier, largest and only of its kind in the Capital City, designed for our deserving gay guests. Inclusive boutique hotel serving "the community" and their straight friends, conveniently located - stately Boulevard Rohrmoser. Stylish, intimate complex with all the amenities, bar and restaurant plus our renowned attentive 24 hour reception service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Colours Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colours Oasis Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing