We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confortable basecamp”
Review of Hotel Aranjuez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Aranjuez
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Confortable basecamp”
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel, our goal was to take a break from the pacific side before heading to Tortuguero. You can't expect from outside how cute it is inside. The fact that you can parc your car in a safe place and walk easily to the downtown, to the zoo and to all what there is to see around, is a huge Plus. We reserved the superior plus room, wich is equivalent to a La Quinta standard room. It was spacious, clean with a small garden path. Like everybody said, the breakfast was delicious. I didn't like the fact that you hear people in the corridor even if they are not talking loudly. So if this disturbs you, ask for a quiet room situated at the end of the corridor for example. I had my purse stolen the last morning at breakfast time. The tables in the garden were all occupied so we stayed in a sort of dinning room near the kitchen and I only left like 2 minutes. I asked the waiter, he told me to go to the front desk, and there, the guy told me to ask the waiter... Anyways, they said they searched but I didn't see anybody taking it seriously. I give 4 points because it's a nice place and the ratio quality/price deserves it. But I keep the fifth point for another place and I blame myself for the lost of my purse.

Room Tip: Sounds like a dumb advise but according to my experience, do not let your belongings unattended.If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minamtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjara, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
We want to inform you that due to the situation you went through we’ve taken serious actions to increase the security in our social areas like the installation of new cameras. Even if the 80% of our clients are from the United States of America, we can’t have control over all the people that get around the Hotel Aranjuez. In any case, we always recommend our clients to keep an eye on their personal belongings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    404
    82
    24
    15
See reviews for
154
467
116
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I stayed in this hotel back in October 2009 when I based myself in San Jose. I found it to be a very convenient hotel which wasn't too expensive and is suitable for travellers who want to unwind before or after their trips within Costa Rica. The rooms had comfortable beds, a private shower, a telephone which offered free calls within Costa Rica, and a security safe box to place your valuables in. The breakfast service was very good, you had a wide range of choice of foods, fruit juices, and coffee, all of which you could have as much as you like. Free internet was also available but at the time of my stay there was only 2 computers available so sometimes you had to wait for somebody to come off, otherwise I believe WiFi was also available. The staff were helpful with information you needed to know, and the city centre was only a 10 minute walk away otherwise the hotel was located away from the hustle and bustle of the city. You can also book tours from the hotel.

The only negative things I had to say about the hotel was that one receptionist seemed that he couldn't be bothered to help book a tour for me and told me to phone the company, and I also got bitten by ants in one room. Otherwise it wasn't such a big deal.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RazorRen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific NW
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The Hotel is a hidden gem with a B&B feel, excellent staff and as others have already reported it has one of the best breakfast buffets to be found. We opted for the superior plus room which we found to be quite large, well furnished and clean. This is not your cookie cutter 'major chain" hotel, but that is the reason we choose to stay here. Our room faced the interior greenspace and was quiet. The rooms are in former houses that have been remodelled and connected by stairs and hallways. We would stay here again when we return to San Jose.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PNWTraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linden, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Spent two nights here before returning home. Most buildings have bars on the windows to prevent vandalism so I was really glad this hotel provided secure parking behind a metal gate. Very friendly staff. Our room the first night was on the inside part of the hotel which is quite loud. I think the website might brag about soundproof rooms. If they do, that is not true at all. The second night was much quieter so you might want to request a room NOT on the inside section. The breakfast buffet is really great. It's included in the price. I love the garden setting in the breakfast area. I do agree with another reviewer about the sand paper towels. Wow!!! Never experienced such poor quality towels. They air dry everything which is great for the environment but not for the body!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarlaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjara, Gerente at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Thank you for your commentary. We inform you that we’ve change our laundry supplier and, also, our towels. So we hope that we won’t have any more problems with this major importance subject.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This hotel does not seem like much from the outside but once we stepped inside, we felt comfortable and were greeted with excellent service. The place feels small and somewhat old and creaky but it is very clean and has hot water showers. The breakfast however, leads you into a whole new world. It is like dining in a garden of Eden. The presentation and variety is amazing and the food and coffee are delicious. The breakfast is definitely a 5 star plus experience.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for an excellent mid range price accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 707SuzyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I really should have given them 5 stars, but didn't for probably the wrong reasons; the place is a bit on the spartan, rustic side. Don't get me wrong, it's clean, friendly, in a good neighbourhood (safe) and is an unreal bargain for what you pay. It also has a free buffet breakfast that would fall in anyone's book as a 4-5 star. I stayed at the Best Western Carriere in San Jose last year, if anyone reading this has, and the breakfast buffets are comparable between the two. One is 150 US dollars a night, this one is about 50!! We stayed 2 nights on upon arriving in San Jose, and will be staying again (booked it already) the night before we head home to Canada. Book early; this place is full almost every night! A big shout out to my little red squirrel buddy: he'll eat right out of your hand if you have the right offering. I saw someone else feed him, but when I tried, he came right up, turned his nose up to fruit, pasta, meat, bread and I forget which else. Finicky little bugger. I'll figure it out next time!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rink64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex/Torrox
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Simple but friendly and full of character. The buffet breakfast set out on the delightful verandah looking over the garden is superb and way better than one would expect at this price point. The rooms are simple but comfortable. No, the plumbing, TV etc are not 5 star standards but you are not paying 5 star prices. The walk into downtown San Jose is about 15 minutes, uphill coming back. Taxis are only a couple of Dollars. The area around the hotel seems safe at night and there are a couple of local snack bars/bakeries just down the road. Walking back from town probably not a good idea at night as there are some fairly isolated areas. We were recommended to a tour company before we left UK and it turned out to be the same one that operates from the hotel tour desk. They were superb. We did the Highlights tour (Doka Coffee/Poas Volcano/La Paz Wildlife Refuge and Waterfalls) La Paz is the real 'must see' for us. These tours seem always available so no need to book before arrival. We also had some booking issues, the confusion in our case was caused by them taking my middle name as the surname, hence not being able to find the booking when I tried to confirm it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveandfleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
943 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,433 reviews
2.2 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
6.1 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,406 reviews
0.6 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 77 in San Jose
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aranjuez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aranjuez

Property: Hotel Aranjuez
Address: | 200 mts. norte, 200 oeste y 25 sur de la Iglesia Santa Teresita., San Jose 2070, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aranjuez 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aranjuez is located in San Jose and is surrounded by a tropical garden. Free breakfast buffet, free WiFi access and free private parking are available. Each room here features an authentic historic decor and will provide you with a cable TV, an outdoor seating area and a private bathroom with a bath or shower and a hairdryer. All rooms have a desk and a safety-deposit box. Our wonderfull Breakfast Buffet is also included. At Hotel Aranjuez you will find a 24-hour front desk, a garden and a terrace. Other facilities offered at the property include a tour desk, luggage storage and laundry facilities. The property offers free parking. The hotel is 1.1 km from Pre-Colombian Gold Museum, 1.2 km from National Theatre of Costa Rica and 1.4 km from Metropolitan Cathedral. Juan Santamaria International Airport is 16 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Aranjuez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing