We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”
Review of Hotel Aranjuez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Aranjuez
Ranked #6 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

+ awesome breakfast buffet
+ safeboxes, phones available
+ location is quiet, but still within walking distance of downtown San Jose
+ atmospheric building, great breakfast terrace
+ clean rooms
+ staff's english is not great, but ok
+ free internet computers

- why would you want to stay in San Jose anway? There's no reason for that, the interesting parts of Costa Rica are nature and beaches, not cities.
- thin walls, so late arrivals / early departures will definitely wake you up

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank durin2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    404
    81
    23
    15
See reviews for
153
464
116
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed at the Aranjuez at the beginning and end of our Costa Rica trip.Our rooms were very nice both times. And the breakfast was unbelievable. I read all the great reviews, but was still surprised by the amazing assortment of fabulous foods. Enjoyed the neighborhood- residential/medical with several restaurants nearby. There was a local dance party right around the corner that happens every Friday night- check in out.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdbird324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

As everyone says - breakfast is great! and in a lovely setting. Staff very helpful booking tours, recommending restaurants, etc.. Our room was extremely small and noisy but for the price in a large city it was to be expected. Nice walk to downtown. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbieLaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

The hotel was very nice, and cute. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. A guy at the front desk actually recommended a restaurant to us, drew out a map for us, and then called the place to tell them to give us a warm welcome. And the breakfast buffet included was delicious!

On the downside, completely out of the control of the hotel, San Jose is probably not the best place to visit if you're in Costa Rica for a short period of time, there are a lot of cool attractions in Costa Rica and none of them are in San Jose. However, a lot of tours leave from San Jose so we had to go for a few days. That being said, the hotel is not in the best / safest area - but there are quite a few dining options / drug stores within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HokieFan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle, Co
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This hotel came highly recommended from TripAdvisor and then from people I met once arriving in San Jose. The main building is lovely and the staff was gracious and helpful. They were full when we got there and refered us to another hotel. When we finally got a room at Aranjuez, it was a bit of a dissapointment. The room was in a 9 story apartment building, not the lovely main building. We felt isolated and stuck in a concrete building with no character. The room was clean. The bathroom was nice. There were ants on the floor. The breakfast was great. We only stayed one night and moved to another hotel with a pool and some better ambiance.

Room Tip: Separate apt building is a shoebox. Try and stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeeYaNextTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal, Québec
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Excellent value for the rates, friendly and efficient service, amazing setting in residential neibourhood. You feel like you are living an authentic costarican experience.
The breakfast is included and not to be missed - high end value.
If you enjoy a homey feel to you stay, you will love Aranjuez. It's my third time here :)

Room Tip: I was impressed with room 36. No. 35 is the same. All rooms are different and have their own persona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rozydel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our trip to Costa Rica. The staff were very obliging & helpful - the breakfast is top drawer (& included in your stay). The budget rooms are on a corridor which is quite noisy, so probably not one for the light sleepers. Out first night we had 2 old sunken mattresses, but they were swapped for us on the second night without a fuss. Bathrooms are nice - clean & well maintained property with plenty of character in a safe region.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,417 reviews
2.2 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
6.1 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 76 in San Jose
2,387 reviews
2.0 mi away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aranjuez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aranjuez

Property: Hotel Aranjuez
Address: | 200 mts. norte, 200 oeste y 25 sur de la Iglesia Santa Teresita., San Jose 2070, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aranjuez 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aranjuez is located in San Jose and is surrounded by a tropical garden. Free breakfast buffet, free WiFi access and free private parking are available. Each room here features an authentic historic decor and will provide you with a cable TV, an outdoor seating area and a private bathroom with a bath or shower and a hairdryer. All rooms have a desk and a safety-deposit box. Our wonderfull Breakfast Buffet is also included. At Hotel Aranjuez you will find a 24-hour front desk, a garden and a terrace. Other facilities offered at the property include a tour desk, luggage storage and laundry facilities. The property offers free parking. The hotel is 1.1 km from Pre-Colombian Gold Museum, 1.2 km from National Theatre of Costa Rica and 1.4 km from Metropolitan Cathedral. Juan Santamaria International Airport is 16 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Aranjuez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing