We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel with excellent breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aranjuez Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aranjuez Hotel
Ranked #6 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Mancos, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel with excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

This hotel has beautiful gardens throughout the building making it easy to forget you are in the middle of a huge city. The breakfast buffet was amazing--delicious and beautifully presented. Service was excellent and everyone was incredibly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uhohherewegoagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear customer: It is a pleasure to know that you have had a memorable stay at Hotel Aranjuez as is our commitment. We all are working strongly for improving our services in order to provide our guests the most welcoming stay. We hope to have you as our guest in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    391
    78
    22
    14
See reviews for
147
443
111
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Pluses: breakfast was clearly the best & most varied & plentiful in all of Costa Rica. Location close to the center of the city. (See minuses). Rooms were fine.
Minuses: hotel is on the edge of a pretty sketchy area. Noisy neighbors can be a problem as walls are thin. Water pressure in shower can vary but mostly ok. Again (as in all of CR) no hot water in the sink.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 2NCaliftravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Dr.Frank: We much appreciate your review. The Hotel Aranjuez was born from the old Costa Rican houses that composed the unique architecture of San José. Keeping that in mind, we build the hotel keeping the original wood structure (like the floor and the walls). In order to avoid those noise problems, we have been working, for the last years, in the reshuffle of all the rooms. Our objective is to keep intact the structure while giving our clients all the commodities. Is a hard work, but we want to let you know that we’re doing, as always, our best to be the best option in San José.
The Hotel Aranjuez is situated in a university area. Just a few blocks away from the Hotel you can find two private universities: University Hispanoamerica and University Internacional de las Américas. The neighborhood is pretty quiet and secure. San José downtown is at just 15 minutes walking from the Hotel so all the noise coming from there won’t affect the tranquility of our guests. This is the advantage of Hotel Aranjuez, while being near the city; it keeps all the tranquility that you deserve.Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

This was such a great place to stay. The staff are friendly and helpful, the hotel is so interesting and well-thought out, and it is a short walk to downtown.

The breakfast buffet is unparalleled anywhere. There are appetizers, fruit platters, hot and cold entrees and pastries. Really, you are paying for the breakfast and the room in thrown in for free.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canadianfamily17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear guest: Thank you for writing this review. We are so happy that you consider Hotel Aranjuez as “A very cool place to stay”. Thank you for enjoying all our services, services that we are always trying to improve. All our kitchen staff is so proud that you have found the breakfast “unparalleled anywhere”. We hope that you and your family visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

The rooms were basic, but secure, with 2 beds, a fan, and safe. The hotel is walking distance from downtown. Staff were excellent and helpful, and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding, making the Aranjuez an excellent value. I would recommend it as a good option for budget conscious travelers.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Jhon: Thank you very much for your commentary, we're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Aranjuez. We're always trying to be better for our clients and when we read a positive review, we feel that we're heading the correct way. Our rooms, original of the houses, keep untouched the old days feelings. Nevertheless, we have implemented changes for turning them into eco-friendly rooms. The lighting has been changed into LED ones, the bathrooms are low water consume as well as the showers. The water is warmed through solar panels. All furniture is made of wood, rescued from our joinery workshop. Once again, thank you very much and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Isidro de El General, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

But at least now we have found a comfortable and lovely place to stay.

Being country bumpkins who live in the "Southern Zone" of Costa Rica, we always resist the idea of having to stay overnight in San Jose. We also avoid paying tourist prices for a place to lay our head, although the hostel scene is increasingly youth-culture oriented, and, well - we're not.

Aranjuez is a reasonably quiet location on a side street. We are comfortable walking for 20 minutes just to clear our heads after the bus trip over the Cerro de la Muerte, and within that distance we noted several worthy restaurants and many respectable sodas.

We opted for a room with shared bath and it was quite clean and acceptable. Beautiful actually, with an artistic respect for the original building, tile, and wood. The room and the bathroom were very intelligently designed and laid out, which is a rarity in the hotels within our experience.

Everything worked. Another rarity.

Yes the breakfast buffet is real!

We are convinced that this is the place for us. And now that we know Aranjuez exists, it will actually be fun to consider spending a night in San Jose.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Jeff: Thank you very much for your commentary, we're glad that, from now on, you have a new place in San José and your trips to the capital city are, in some way, better than before.
Like you said, nearby the Hotel Aranjuez there're several restaurant and sodas. Also, downtown is approximately 15 minutes from the hotel so the noise coming from the city is not something to worry about.
Rooms at Hotel Aranjuez keep that artistic respect for the original building, we have not altered the original structure so you can have an authentic Costa Rican experience with an excellent buffet breakfast prepared by our chef and baker every day.
Once again, thank you very much and we hope that the next time you'll pass through San José, you'll stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Our room was good, front desk staff good, and the atmosphere of the hotel was lovely. However, this just was not the hotel for us. We were three girlfriend's travelling together, staying at the hotel for one night as our launching pad to the rest of Costa Rica. We and sat down in the common area in the garden to have a beer and chat at about 7:30 pm and were asked to by hotel staff to be quiet as a couple was trying to sleep in a room nearby. We were having a relatively quiet conversation and it was early in the evening. There are signs asking for quiet after 10 pm which is reasonable, however it was 7:30. I guess the paper thin walls I saw in other reviews were to blame.

We are mature and not looking for the party - just the ability to have a conversation with each other. We felt like we were constantly whispering and were staying in a library or on a meditation retreat. If that is your thing, Aranjuez is a great hotel. For us, it was just too quiet.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indigocat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear guest: Thank you for your commentary. We're very sorry for your inconvenient here at the Hotel Aranjuez. Your problem is something that we're working on. The signs ask for quiet after 10 p.m, so at 7:30 p.m our clients can have a pleasant conversation at our social areas. We have already talked with our staff and mentioned them the little problem that you have had...
The paper thin walls that you have mentioned are something that we're working on but the work is hard due to the important objective of the Hotel Aranjuez of preserving the original structure. In 2013, we have remodeled an important number of rooms, putting soundproof walls, new illumination and, also, we've remodeled the bathrooms. In this new year, we hope to finish the task and remodel the remaining rooms.
Once again, thank you very much for taking your time in making a review for our Hotel. We hope that you'll give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We only stayed one night, but the room was spacious, clean and secure. The staff were very helpful, breakfast was awesome, and the location is pretty ideal as a starting point for walking tours of the city, being about 10 minutes from the nearest museum.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Chris: We're glad that you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel Aranjuez. We're always trying our best to be your best option in San José and that work begins with our staff. They're trained to always be helpful and kind with all our guests. The breakfast is prepared, daily, by our Chef and baker, with the best ingredients, all natural, bought only from local producers.
We hope to see you soon at Hotel Aranjuez!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.4 mi away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aranjuez Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranjuez Hotel

Property: Aranjuez Hotel
Address: 19th Street, Avenues 11 & 13, San Jose 2070, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aranjuez Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aranjuez is located in San Jose and is surrounded by a tropical garden. Free breakfast buffet, free WiFi access and free private parking are available. Each room here features an authentic historic decor and will provide you with a cable TV, an outdoor seating area and a private bathroom with a bath or shower and a hairdryer. All rooms have a desk and a safety-deposit box. Our wonderfull Breakfast Buffet is also included. At Hotel Aranjuez you will find a 24-hour front desk, a garden and a terrace. Other facilities offered at the property include a tour desk, luggage storage and laundry facilities. The property offers free parking. The hotel is 1.1 km from Pre-Colombian Gold Museum, 1.2 km from National Theatre of Costa Rica and 1.4 km from Metropolitan Cathedral. Juan Santamaria International Airport is 16 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Aranjuez Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing