We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of Hotel Aranjuez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Aranjuez
Ranked #6 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I chose this hotel based on other travel guide and Trip Advisor reviews, and was not at all disappointed. Like everyone says, the breakfast is fabulous. The grounds are beautiful, with lots of cozy little places to sit and read/chat/relax. Seemed like a pretty safe neighborhood; I had no problems walking around to a bank etc a few blocks away, and the staff was happy to give me a map and point me in the right direction. Wifi was free and a decent speed. There wasn't a mosquito net in my room, or a place to hang one; I'm not sure if this is normal for Costa Rica.

I booked a couple of tours with Expediciones Tropicales through the hotel tour desk, which was very convenient. The tour company picked me up directly from the hotel, and most of the tours included at least one meal. I really enjoyed being able to take day trips out of San Jose to see the volcanoes, rain forest, etc. Be sure to make tour reservations at least one day ahead, and keep in mind that the hotel tour desk is closed on Sundays (not sure about Saturdays).

I'd recommend paying with cash (USD) for your room, tours, etc, as there were additional fees for using a credit card.

I would highly recommend Hotel Aranjuez, and would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: There was a little noise around room 6 in the mornings, I think from a laundry or maintenance room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThisGringaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear guest: We much appreciate your commentary. We are always looking for providing our guests a pleasant and relaxed lodging experience marked by the Costa Rican touch. For that reason we keep the 5 houses that compose the Hotel Aranjuez as arquitechural patrimony. In San José, we do not use mosquito nets. At Hotel Aranjuez, we fumigate the hotel premises every month and we keep attentive to any problem related with mosquitos. The Tour service is open every day from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m.. The Receptionist or the person in charge of Reservations can help our guests at any moment making tours reservations. Thank you so much for highly recommending Hotel Aranjuez and we take your word or having you as our guest in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    404
    81
    23
    15
See reviews for
153
463
116
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My fiancee and I landed in SJ around 6am. Although our room wasn't ready, the staff allowed us to drop off our stuff in a secure spot and explore the town.

A complimentary breakfast is included with each night's stay. Perhaps one of the best "hotel" breakfasts we've ever had (ranged from fresh fruit, to pastries, to made-to-order omelettes, hot coffee, etc.). In a word, fantastic. The breakfast alone is worth it.

The hotel "scenery" is also incredible, from native art to lounge chairs that are situated amongst a lot of foliage.

The rooms were simple and spotless, though the showers did flood a bit. I found there to be a bit of ambient noise that was slightly distracting, but that's because we left the windows open in our room, and our room abutted the front desk area. My fiancee did not find this to be an issue.

The location of the hotel made it really easy to get around on foot. And the staff was very friendly working with us in both English and in Spanish.

My fiancee and I have stayed in about 6 hotels/hostels this trip alone, and by far, the Aranjuez is the best.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words about all the services we offer and to find the hotel "Landscape" "amazing" and "fantastic" breakfast included in the room rate. For all of us, it's always encouraging to know that our customers appreciate the "authentic experience of Costa Rica" we are offering. We enjoyed looking at the pictures. ¡Hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

First, the most outstanding thing- the breakfast. Seems unbelievable how much effort is put into this- its pretty much unique. They must be baking and preparing all night. Stay here for the breakfast alone!
The staff are really helpful, everyone is good natured, the decor and ambience is friendly, interesting and tasteful.
Only issue I had was the bed was a little small for me, but otherwise its clean, tidy, and extremely good value.
Wifi worked, advice given was spot-on, all good in fact! We'll be back whenever we visit San Jose. I hope some more positive reviews can go to combat the overly negative one (by some rather irresponsible-sounding people) and make the Aranjuez higher-rated than the Santo Tomas, which is a far inferior (and unfriendly) place to stay.
Just as a reminder- THE BREAKFAST!

Room Tip: Some of the more expensive rooms aren't adjacent to the garden, so best to ask what is available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear guest: Thank you for sharing with us and Trip Advisor users your lodging experience at Hotel Aranjuez. In fact, we dedicate many hours for baking and preparing all the dishes we serve in our breakfast. Our staff of 4 people work 8 hours per day since 5:30 a.m. for having everything ready at 7 a.m.. This is the main reason for not serving our breakfast before 7 a.m.. Nothing is ready before that time. Besides, the staff just has the exactly time for preparing everything for opening the Buffet Breakfast on time. Once again thank you for appreciating all our efforts for providing “an authentic Costa Rican experience”, which is starting with the culinary taste of our traditional cuisine. ¡Muchas gracias y hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here on our first night in Costa Rica, before heading into the countryside. Hotel is slightly out of the way in a quiet neighborhood, but an easy ride into town. Rooms are simple, but clean and our family room worked perfectly for the four of us. Breakfast buffet was indeed excellent and a great way to set yourself up for the day. Hotel staff were friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Tom: We are glad that we have provided you and your family a good vacation starting feeling. We are wishing you a memorable vacation in our country. We look forward to having you as our guest before departing. ¡Costa Rica pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed here on our last night of our 10 day Costa Rica vacation. Our room was ready when we got there at 11am, so we were able to put our stuff down and head out to explore San Jose. The hotel provides a very helpful map that has a walking tour of the city and points out various cultural spots, restaurants and other highlights. It made me feel much more comfortable when walking around a new city. We had a room with a shared bath, and I thought that would be a problem, but it really wasn't at all. No one was ever in the bathroom when I needed it. And the breakfast. Wow! It really was the best breakfast I had in Costa Rica. The made to order omelette, and the pastries, and everything else were fantastic. Overall, it was a perfect place for our last night there.

Room Tip: Room 17 is right off the street so avoid it if noise is an issue for you at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEG17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear customer: Thank you for considering Hotel Aranjuez “a perfect place for our last night”. We are glad you have enjoyed our services and our breakfast. Besides our cultural map, we offer to our customers one map of the neighborhood including the location of all the “sodas”, cafes, fruit markets, drugstores, “pulperías” and other main points. We also offer a map of the restaurants, bars and cafes nearby. ¡Muchas gracias y hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wettingen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We started here our Costa Rica adventure! Best Breakfast Buffet! A lot of different fruits, breads, cakes! Also gallo pinto and eggs! Nice rooms and beautiful garden!Nice staff! We recommend the hotel and would come back!
We had a really good time at this hotel!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Simona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Simona: Thank you for giving us the satisfaction of providing you "the best breakfast in Costa Rica." It is always a pleasure for all the staff of Hotel Aranjuez knows that you enjoyed our services and the experience of staying in an "authentic Costa Rican home." We hope you visit us again very soon. ¡Muchas gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We showed up at this hotel and asked to rent multiple rooms. They only had one room left - which we accepted and told them we'd figure it out. There were 5 of us trying to pack into a deluxe double and we offered to pay more for the additional guests. When we were checking out the room, they pointed out that the couch was a pull-out and were understanding of the fact that there were more of us.

The issue started at 12:30 am when 4 of us got back. The security guard on the shift declared that it wasn't possible for all of us to stay. At 12:30 in the morning in a foreign city we were told we couldn't stay. A few of us ended up spending a very rough night sleeping in our car by the police station.

While I understand we had too many people for the capacity of the room - that understanding had been made. We had attempted to get additional rooms. The hotel was full, there was no room for more profit.

In stead of sorting out the issue in the morning, we were thrown into a situation that risked our safety.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear customer: As you know, in any hotel in the world, the rooms are made for a particular guest capacity. Upon arrival, before 9 pm as recorded in our system, the clerk told you that we had only one room available for 2 people. For security reasons, we are constantly reviewing our cameras for the movement of people in the Aranjuez Hotel & Apartments. We found that in the room you rented for 2 people, 5 people had entered. The receptionist asks you to respect the agreement of the room's capacity. The receptionist then proceeded to find accommodation options for the other three people. In total, he had to call five hotels, finding accommodations in several of them, including the hotel located in front of the Hotel Aranjuez. We did everything possible to help out your friends. We are very surprised that your friends decided to sleep in the car and not in any of the hotel options we sought out for them (different inexpensive hotels, including one with a shared bathroom).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,416 reviews
2.2 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
6.1 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 76 in San Jose
2,385 reviews
2.0 mi away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aranjuez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aranjuez

Property: Hotel Aranjuez
Address: | 200 mts. norte, 200 oeste y 25 sur de la Iglesia Santa Teresita., San Jose 2070, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aranjuez 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aranjuez is located in San Jose and is surrounded by a tropical garden. Free breakfast buffet, free WiFi access and free private parking are available. Each room here features an authentic historic decor and will provide you with a cable TV, an outdoor seating area and a private bathroom with a bath or shower and a hairdryer. All rooms have a desk and a safety-deposit box. Our wonderfull Breakfast Buffet is also included. At Hotel Aranjuez you will find a 24-hour front desk, a garden and a terrace. Other facilities offered at the property include a tour desk, luggage storage and laundry facilities. The property offers free parking. The hotel is 1.1 km from Pre-Colombian Gold Museum, 1.2 km from National Theatre of Costa Rica and 1.4 km from Metropolitan Cathedral. Juan Santamaria International Airport is 16 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Aranjuez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing