We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cared for and nourished”
Review of Hotel Aranjuez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Aranjuez
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Beautiful hotel in the city... lovely garden, amazing breakfast and sensibly/fairly priced! little touched like hairdryer in the bathroom, free filtered water and computers make all the difference in whether you feel like a GUEST or a customer!!! lots of areas to relax in and close to town. Very good service, Thankyou! xxx

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 54Dakini54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear guest: It’s a pleasure to know that all our efforts for providing you a memorable stay at Hotel Aranjuez have been achieved. Thank you for letting us to know that we are working in the correct way. ¡Hasta pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,014)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Aranjuez
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

266 - 272 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Hotel Aranjuez, which is made up of several houses of the 30's with lots of character as well as picturesque courtyards & rest areas inbetween.
The rooms were clean, comfortable and well equiped with safe, WiFi, TV, etc..., only the bathroom was a little basic and it was sometimes difficult to have hot water with enough pressure in the morning.
It is also conveniently located just outside of the hustle and bustle of downtown San Jose, but very close at the same time (about 10 mins away by foot).
The staff offered me a parking place in their garage, considering that parking isn't free in the surrounding areas, it was much appreciated.
The breakfast was divine (by far the best one of all my stay in Costa Rica) : fresh fruits, pastries, eggs, ham, cheese, scones, muffins, bread, juice, pickles, vegetables, toasts, appetizers, granola, gallo pinto, yoghurts, desserts, cereals, etc..., the choice, the choice ! The whole served in a beautiful and very green garden. The only thing that was a problem is that I had room #5 which is very close to the reception and breakfast room and so it was really noisy early in the morning.
Anyway, this hotel offers great value for the money, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Eric: We much appreciate your kind words about the Hotel grounds and our services. We are proud of had offering you the best breakfast in Costa Rica. Thank you for “highly recommending” our Hotel to Trip Advisor users. We enjoyed looking the pictures. ¡Hasta pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We loved our one night stay here after arriving in the evening into SJO. This place is a great value for the money. The staff are helpful and polite. Though in a residential area, it was easy to get a cab from the hotel to venture to a nearby jazz cafe. We felt safe in the neighborhood we were in. The whole place is cute. Our room was unique, charming, clean, and had 3 beds which was perfect. The free wifi signal was decent in our room. There is on-site parking available first come first serve, street parking, and a nearby pay lot around the corner that also has 24 hour security. The complimentary breakfast was divine and in the most beautiful outdoor garden area surrounded by local plants. By divine I also mean a great value: eggs, beans, breads, freshly made jam, meats, cheeses, plantains (yum!!), cereals, fruit, pastries, coffee, tea, and guava juice. At $50 USD, it is well worth checking out. I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nica1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear guest: For all of us is always a pleasure to know that we have offered a great value lodging service for a very affordable price. Thank you for sharing with us and Trip Advisor users this commentary. We will be working hard for not disappointing you during your next visit to Hotel Aranjuez. Muchas gracias y hasta pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had a very nice stay there, I absolutely loved the garden / relax area, breakfast was super tasty and looked really luxurious :)

Rooms are nice, beds are ok, we had some big ants in the room but I guess it's normal in CR.
The only problem was no light in the bathroom, we notified about that but they didn't fix it during our stay.

The location was also good for us, we walked to the city center, there is a big supermercado ~500meters away, neighborhood looks safe.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandering_EJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear guest: We ask you for our deepest apologies for not being able to provide the service you and your friends deserved as our customers. We apologize for not being able to solve the problems with the room immediately. Since now, we will look for new ways for avoid a situation like this in the future. I personally invite our guests to reach me if any problem it's not solved efficiently by our staff. Once again thank you very much for alerting us of these problems related with our customer service. We will be waiting for the information we personally request you. ¡Muchas gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This hotel is so beautiful and charming, its like being invited into a local family residence, everyone knows you and they are so polite. We just got back from a 9 day trip to Coast Rica and used this hotel for a base. I can't rave too much about the Breakfast, Javier, the chef, puts out a spread that is known all over town. We had a taxi driver , when he was taking us back to the hotel commented, "they have a great breakfast, we all know it". The location is within walking distance of several great cafes, Gregory at the front desk, recommended 4 different restaurants to us and they were all great. The neighborhood is friendly and beautiful and we felt secure the whole time we were there.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with windows looking out over the garden
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Director General at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear guest: We are so proud to have left in your memory an authentic Costa Rican welcoming feeling. We all work for introducing our guest to a real Costa Rican natural ambiance. That’s the main reason we keep the five houses that compose the Hotel Aranjuez as patrimony. In the same way, we dedicate many efforts to prepare a breakfast that combine the best of the Costa Rican culinary traditions with the new tendencies of cooking and presenting the local products. We must mention that in our website we have included two maps with all the restaurants, cafes and bars located nearby and in the famous Barrio Escalante. Thank you so much for sharing with us and Trip Advisor this comment. We are looking forward to have you as our guest very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed at Aranjuez after arriving into Costa Rica on a later flight. The staff made booking, check in, and parking easy. Our room was clean and comfortable with a huge bathroom. The hotel is made up of several houses, with courtyards between, in a residential neighborhood. We felt like we got to see part of the city away from the main tourist areas. And of course, the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear guest: For us is always very important to know that our customers spent a comfortable stay at Hotel Aranjuez. We are glad that you found interested the location of the Hotel. Many attractions are located nearby as museums, parks, la “Aduana” and la Casa del Cuño. Besides, few blocks ahead our customers can find a large gastronomic offer composed of several restaurants, bars and cafes. In our website we have included two maps with a list of the main historical, communal and gastronomic attractions of the neighborhood. We hope you give us the opportunity of having you as our guest, once again, in the near future. ¡Hasta entonces!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel based on trip advisor. I did not know what to expect as we drove up. Concerned is probably the best word.

That quickly disappeared once we saw the interior. Nice outdooor patio that makes you feel as if you are in the jungle... wonderful maze of halls and rooms with fantastic sitting areas... common areas... travel info... etc. The breakfast was by far the best we had during our stay... easily worth 1/2 the room rate! Come hungry! Fantastic hosts and a wonderful place to start our vacation.

We were not looking for resorts.... just reasonable accomodations. Hotel Arenjuez set the bar high and no place we stayed left the same impression that this hotel did.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank Arick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Arick: We much appreciate the good feeling your comment left in all of us. It’s just stimulated to know that we left in your memory such a good “impression”. Thank you for giving this value to our “autochthonous” and “no traditional hotel”. And you are right, our breakfast, in fact, almost worth half of the room rate. Hasta su próxima visita!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
957 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,475 reviews
2.2 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.6 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 77 in San Jose
1,313 reviews
6.1 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aranjuez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aranjuez

Address: | 200 mts. norte, 200 oeste y 25 sur de la Iglesia Santa Teresita., San Jose 2070, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: £37 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aranjuez 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aranjuez is located in San Jose and is surrounded by a tropical garden. Free breakfast buffet, free WiFi access and free private parking are available. Each room here features an authentic historic decor and will provide you with a cable TV, an outdoor seating area and a private bathroom with a bath or shower and a hairdryer. All rooms have a desk and a safety-deposit box. Our wonderfull Breakfast Buffet is also included. At Hotel Aranjuez you will find a 24-hour front desk, a garden and a terrace. Other facilities offered at the property include a tour desk, luggage storage and laundry facilities. The property offers free parking. The hotel is 1.1 km from Pre-Colombian Gold Museum, 1.2 km from National Theatre of Costa Rica and 1.4 km from Metropolitan Cathedral. Juan Santamaria International Airport is 16 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Aranjuez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing