We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best choice in San Jose - for everyone”
Review of Hotel Aranjuez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Aranjuez
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I was searching for a good place, but still not that expensive in San Jose, Costa Rica.

I was talking to some nice guys in Panama, they recommended me Aranjuez.
I also find them in the internet, but, i thought, i will arrive, and go by myself, and will get a room anyway, they have around 35 rooms.

Okay, i arrived by Bus from Panama, late, around 23:30 pm.

Only few Taxi driver where waiting for the passengers, and my Taxi Driver told me: im sorry, if you dont have a reservation, they do not allowed me, to go there, there are some new rules about this neighborhood.

Me: tired from trip, stupid like a chicken, i believed this guy. I didnt ask for calling there, i thought, in Costa Rica, they are used to Turism, like for example in Brasil, and they are fair.

Not, they are not.

DO NOT BELIEVE those guys...

So we ended up in a HORRIBLE Hotel Room, for 30 US, dirty like hell...

When i walk down, the driver went already, and the Hotel Guy was smiling about me. So i told myself, you mess it up, you have to deal with that. So i slept actually pretty good, and the next day i ask a taxi driver to bring me to Aranjuez.

Aranjuez located in a real good neighborhood, from outside you can not imagine, what a big and nice place is waiting for you.

They have a lots of nice and comfortable sofas, and friendly atmosphere, so you feel well from the beginning on.

I arrived around 11:00 am, they ask me for wait, until they finish cleaning the room.
They offer free coffee and water.

After 1 hour i ask them again, they ask me to wait. Another 1 hour, the guy on the reception said, ah, okay, here is your key, he just forget me...

But, the room was very nice, i really liked the decoration, flat screen tv, and free wifi everywhere in the Hotel. And free breakfast - amazing variety - for 38 US...

The downtown is like 15 minutes, by walking, by car like 2-3 US.

Unfortunately they dosent had the same room for me for the following night, so, i moved in a Suite for 46 US. There are also available rooms for 25 without own bathroom, i think, thats allright as well, because, the public bathrooms are also in a nice condition.

Summary: Amazing peaceful place with a garden, clean and nice rooms with breakfast and that staring from 25 US???? GO FOR IT!

Room Tip: all roooms are in good conditions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Simon: Thank you for sharing with us and Trip Advisor users your lodging experience at Hotel Aranjuez. We much appreciate all the efforts you made up for getting to our Hotel. We must insist in your recommendation of not paying any attention to a taxi driver looking for taking you to a destination not requested by you. We must mention that we are working out for improving the Reception service. Once again thank you for appreciating that much the “authentic Costa Rican offert”. ¡Hasta pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

I almost hesitate to write a review about the Aranjuez for fear that if it gets too popular I'll have trouble booking a room. We have stayed here several times and have never found anything to complain about. The hotel is named for the Barrio Aranjuez area where it is located, on the east side of downtown San Jose. This was an upper middle class neighborhood from the 1920's. It is within walking distance of good restaurants and tourists attractions. The hotel itself consists of what where five separate houses. They are all connected after a fashion, with all sorts of halls, gardens and curious nooks. The hotel has an interesting variety of local art and crafts that seems different on each visit. There are several different lounge and patio areas that are great for a nap or a quiet read. This place is about as far as you can get from the global hotel franchise world, every room is different. The best thing however is the breakfast (included). This has to be one of the best breakfast buffets ever. A huge array of fresh fruit, pastry and other goodies, different every morning. You can also get pancakes and made to order omelets. The hotel staff are very friendly and speak excellent English. I must admit the Aranjuez may not be to everyone's liking. The buildings are old and everything is either wood or tile so noise carries well. The rooms that open directly onto a garden area rather than an inside corridor (or near the kitchen) are quieter. The hotel is also fairly close to one of the commuter rail lines and on weekdays (not sure about the weekends) the trains start hooting for the numerous road crossings at about 5:30am. So maybe not the best place for a late sleeper but breakfast starts at seven and you certainly will not want to miss that!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Wayne: We much appreciate your detailed comment and the photos. Thank you so much for taking time for writing it and, specially, for being our loyalty customer. You must know that we will always make all our efforts for have a room available for you. We always suggest including your name in the waiting list in those busy days. It’s usual that people make last minute cancellations that we offer to customers in the waiting list. ¡Hasta muy pronto! ¡Muchas gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My partner and I stayed at Hotel Aranjuez on a two night stopover in San Jose on our way to Panama. The hotel itself was lovely, and very reasonably priced for the quality of the accommodation and the included breakfast. In particular it was the staff working at the hotel (particularly Dennis) that made our stay there all the more memorable, as they offered us so much advice and assistance in terms of onward travel plans, helping us to print documents and helping us to exchange money etc. They were always more than willing to hep and spoke wonderful English. Thank you to the staff at Hotel Aranjuez.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Sarah: All our staff is very proud of have providing you a “memorable stay” at Hotel Aranjuez. We are always looking for giving the best and the warmest welcoming to our guests. Thank you very much for enjoying all we offer. We are looking forward to have you as our guest in the near future. ¡Hasta entonces!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here two separate times during our travels through Costa Rica. Hotel Aranjuez is a gem in San José. We stayed in a Superior room, with a private bathroom. The design of the hotel is great. It is a bunch of old houses that they have connected to make one hotel. The rooms have a vintage/ "shabby chic" feel, and the bathrooms have a great design with modern fixtures (and plenty of hot water in the shower). The breakfast buffet is absolutely amazing! The staff is very helpful and attentive. Our only critique is the level of noise from other guests (the neighborhood is very quiet) that could be heard from some of the rooms. For our first stay, we were in Room 5, and we could hear people coming in and out and people hanging out in the common areas. During our second visit, we stayed in Room 26, and that was quieter. The hotel is within easy walking distance of some of the main plazas, the Avenida Central, and good dining.

Room Tip: "Rooms away from common areas are the most private."
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Liz: Thank you for considering Hotel Aranjuez as “a gem in San José”. We have integrated five houses built in the 30`s. During the 21 years existence of the Hotel Aranjuez we have been working in the preservation of the houses. We preserve untouched the structure and the architectural richness of the houses. We are proud that you consider this as a “value”, even if due to this reason, we have some noise problems in some areas. Once again thank you for sharing with us your lodging experience at Hotel Aranjuez, that we hope will not be the last one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have stayed at Aranjuez 6 or 7 times and it's always been good. Not this time. We were in room 34, which really doesn't matter since the whole hotel was affected. Shortly after returning from breakfast a couple of men showed up in the small common area outside of our room, They started up a gasoline powered pump, noisy, the exhaust was pointed directly at our windows. Like most hotels in San Jose, the room is not air conditioned so the fumes came right in. If that wasn't bad enough, we got a knock on the door asking us to step out while they sprayed the room. When asked what they were using, their only reply was it was ecological and then "Pura Vida" We left the room but they seemed to follow us wherever we went, firing up the sprayer and spraying.

I know that this sort of thing is needed but why not a simple hand operated pump us sprayer and at least start with the unoccupied rooms?

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Larry: We deeply regret all the inconvenience we caused you during your stay at Hotel Aranjuez. As you are aware, already living in Puerto Viejo, the Ministry of Health of Costa Rica makes a strong campaign to fight dengue (Aedes aegypti) and chikungunya virus. In order to protect the health of our customers during the winter time we are making, monthly, fumigation with stronger organic products that warrant the use of other more noisy machines, very different from those used during the spraying routine. The fumigation began after 10 am, because at this time, usually, most of our guests are out of the Hotel and the new guests have not arrived. We always start spraying in gardens, social areas and rooms unoccupied. Again we ask we apologize for not having offered in this sixth visit to Hotel Aranjuez, as calmly as the other occasions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed there for one night upon our arrival in San Jose. Very welcoming staff. Exceptionnally nice interior garden with hummingbirds and a few nice spots to relax. Very peaceful. The room was simple but quite nice. We had two simple beds for the kids and a double bed for us. Very afordable, with a particularly good breakfast buffet included (the best we had in Costa Rica).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Louis-Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Louis-Eric: It is a pleasure to know that your family felt welcoming in our Hotel. Thank you for enjoying the “Costarrican” ambience that is the essential of Hotel Aranjuez. We are very proud that you considered our breakfast the “the best you had in Costa Rica”. Once again ¡muchas gracias! y ¡hasta pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Really good hotel in great location.

Lovely rooms, good knowledgable staff and is the breakfast great.

Excellent value for money!

There seemed to be a mixture of holiday makers and local business people.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TalesFromFarOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear James: We much appreciate your kind words about our Hotel and services. We hope you will be able to repeat your visit to Costa Rica and the Hotel Aranjuez in the near future. ¡Muchas gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
998 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,599 reviews
2.2 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
0.6 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aranjuez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aranjuez

Address: | 200 mts. norte, 200 oeste y 25 sur de la Iglesia Santa Teresita., San Jose 2070, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: £37 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aranjuez 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aranjuez is located in San Jose and is surrounded by a tropical garden. Free breakfast buffet, free WiFi access and free private parking are available. Each room here features an authentic historic decor and will provide you with a cable TV, an outdoor seating area and a private bathroom with a bath or shower and a hairdryer. All rooms have a desk and a safety-deposit box. Our wonderfull Breakfast Buffet is also included. At Hotel Aranjuez you will find a 24-hour front desk, a garden and a terrace. Other facilities offered at the property include a tour desk, luggage storage and laundry facilities. The property offers free parking. The hotel is 1.1 km from Pre-Colombian Gold Museum, 1.2 km from National Theatre of Costa Rica and 1.4 km from Metropolitan Cathedral. Juan Santamaria International Airport is 16 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Aranjuez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing