We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, secure location”
Review of Hotel Aranjuez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Aranjuez
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 14 March 2009

I recently stayed for an extended period of time at the Apartamentos Aranjuez, which are kitty corner from the hotel. Family members occasionally stayed in the hotel, so I am familiar with that part, too. I have nothing but high praise for the hotel staff -- from the owner to the maids -- who are friendly, accommodating and professional. The location, in a quiet, relatively safe, middle-class neighborhood whose major features are a hospital and the lovely Santa Teresita Church, is an easy 10-15 minute walk to downtown.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globalista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

614 - 620 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2009

We stayed at the Aranjuez for 3 nights in February of 2009. The place was great. We had a superior room with our personal bathroom. The place is so unique. It feels very comfortable, almost as if you’re staying at someone’s house. They also have three computers near their lobby for you to use, great for checking email or getting info. We walked to the downtown from here, it was about a 20 minute walk to the “Mercado Central”. The place felt very safe, but the outside was a little lonely at night. We would walk to the nearby bakery and a soda called Isabella. The breakfast was really good… lots of pastries, made to order omelets, and lots of other goodies. There was coffee in the hallway all day long. Our room was on the side of the street, so we could hear the cars on the street, but not that big of a deal. If you’re a light sleeper I would suggest requesting a room away from the street. Overall, My wife and I loved this place.
Tours we took from here were: Rafting the Pacuare River and Punta Leona Beach with Tarcoles Crocodile tour

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rawkneee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

We stayed here for one night on our way in and out of Costa Rica (Dec 07). Hotel is easy to find and we took a taxi from the hotel to the bus stop the next morning (as such, we had no breakfast). The front desk recommended a local restaurant nearby for dinner, Isabella (something like that), which was good, reasonably priced, and filled with locals. My husband and I walked around the area with our guide book looking for the restaurants recommended by our guide book but most of them were fairly quiet – we’re glad we went with their recommendation. Rooms are simple and clean. Shared bathroom was clean. Free internet. Excellent coffee in the afternoon.

Note: at the end of the day, the hotel is running a business and they’ll make you feel that way. We had to wait for about an hour or two before our room was available b/c they were cleaning it. Noone told us that there was coffee around the corner from where we were standing or how long it would have taken. We had reservations for two night but asked if we could check out early and they said yes and that they wouldn’t charge us for it. Two months later, they charged my credit card for the 2nd night. Because I had paid cash and they did not give me a receipt, nor did I ask back for the fax confirmation, I wasn’t left with much recourse. Since it was $30, I hope it benefited the local. Something I will remember for next time – I would still stay at this hotel, I would just be a bit more careful.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PIA_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAranjuez, owner at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2009

We are very surprise for the comment about the charge on the Credit Card of this customer. We spoke with him days ago requesting for the cancellation number. As any customer can check in the Cancellations Policies written down in our website and included in the Confirmation: no confirmation is valid without a CANCELATTION NUMBER.
In the website and the confirmation, we also request the customer to be alert of getting in touch with our Reservation Department if they do not receive the CANCELLATION NUMBER.
As every body knows, the messages many times do not get into the system or to the destiny. For that reason, we alert the customer about get in touch with us if they do not get an answer from the Reservations Department.
About the waiting for getting a room ready. We try our best for providing a room to a customer with a early arrival. Sometimes we do not arrive to do so because we do not have rooms available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

I stayed at this hotel for three nights with my husband. we were so impressed with the breakfast buffet! we paid 44 USD per night for a double room with private bath. The room was clean and cosy. There was also a nice TV with lots of english-speaking channels so we could keep ourselves entertained at night as we are not the type to go drinking/clubbing.
The hotel has its own 'tour department' which helps guests to sort out one-day trips or overnight trips. We were in central America for three weeks and we both think Hotel Aranjuez was the best hotel we had stayed there.

The location was OK. It was not directly in the city centre (which we thought was good) -- very peaceful and quiet at night. There are lots of local restaurants nearby so we got to try some lovely casados (try Rest. Isabel!!!). If we ever return to San Jose again, we would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hybridblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2009

We stayed here during nights in San Jose on our way in and out of the Costa Rica. The rooms were simple but clean. The common areas and gardens were very nice. A very filling and tasty breakfast was included with the room.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2009

I originally stayed here a couple of nights at the commencement of a tour of Costa Rica, the hotel is about 10-15 minutes walk from the city centre and fairly easy to find. The room I had was very nice, big, very clean and with TV and private bathroom. There is free internet and plently of stuff to read on CR. The buffet breakfast was excellent it really was with fruit, breads, cereal, meats, cheeses and omelets.
The staff were helpfull and friendly.
This hotel has to come hightly rate as the prices were exceptionally good value.
Only let down was the walk into town really which might not suit everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kimyfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2009

If you have to stay in San Jose when moving around Costa Rica and you are looking for somewhere reasonably priced then this is an excellent option.

The rooms are basic but clean and spacious, the staff are friendly and very helpful and the breakfast which is included is easily worth $5 a person.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
986 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,560 reviews
2.2 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 78 in San Jose
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.6 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,390 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aranjuez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aranjuez

Address: | 200 mts. norte, 200 oeste y 25 sur de la Iglesia Santa Teresita., San Jose 2070, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: £36 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aranjuez 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aranjuez is located in San Jose and is surrounded by a tropical garden. Free breakfast buffet, free WiFi access and free private parking are available. Each room here features an authentic historic decor and will provide you with a cable TV, an outdoor seating area and a private bathroom with a bath or shower and a hairdryer. All rooms have a desk and a safety-deposit box. Our wonderfull Breakfast Buffet is also included. At Hotel Aranjuez you will find a 24-hour front desk, a garden and a terrace. Other facilities offered at the property include a tour desk, luggage storage and laundry facilities. The property offers free parking. The hotel is 1.1 km from Pre-Colombian Gold Museum, 1.2 km from National Theatre of Costa Rica and 1.4 km from Metropolitan Cathedral. Juan Santamaria International Airport is 16 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Aranjuez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing