We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,121)
Filter reviews
1,121 results
Traveller rating
531
444
96
30
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
531
444
96
30
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costa rica the main hotel made to order omelets breakfast buffet superior room tropical garden awesome breakfast budget hotel quiet neighborhood shared bathroom common areas plantains only stayed one night charming hotel hotel in san jose pollo nooks
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,121 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2018

We stayed at Hotel Aranjuez for our first night in Costa Rica. It situated right in the middle of San Jose, but you feel like you are in the jungle. The hotel is clean and well kept, with beautiful gardens. Our room was clean and well-kept. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was absolutely incredible - a massive spread in a courtyard filled with plants and trees.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Shealyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Dear Shealyn:
Thank you very much for considering Hotel Aranjuez "a confortable escape in the heart of San José". Like you mentioned, Hotel Aranjuez is located near historical landmarks as National and Jade Musseum among others. Near the hotel, our clients can enjoy the variety and quality of the Paseo Gastronómico La Luz, a neighbourhood full of restaurants and bars. We invite our guests to check the map of the city that we offer by free or downloud the 3 maps from our website. The buffet breakfast is one of our strengths. All the food is prepared in artisanal way. We hope that the cozy atmosphere of Hotel Aranjuez and our breakfast will remain in your memory as "an authentic Costa Rican lodging experience". We hope you visit us once again in the very short future! ¡Hasta entonces!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Was recommended in our guidebook. Unfortunately it's not particularly central and, as a result, we had to get taxis everywhere which was expensive. The room itself was quite basic (budget double room), and the bathroom door didn't close properly which wasn't ideal.

The hotel restaurant was the only one recommended by the receptionist when asked and we, along with several other diners, waited for about an hour before being served what was expensive but basic food, not ideal for allergy sufferers (fiancee is gluten free). We asked several times about how long our food would take and were told 5 minutes on each occasion .

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jberringer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear jberringer1: At Hotel Aranjuez we have offer types of rooms at the main building and at the anex. With a little bathroom, the Budget rooms are the best option for those who seeks a beautiful place at a very good price. If your searching for bigger rooms, we have the Standard, Superior and Superior Plus and Deluxe rooms, each with characteristics that will make your stay at Hotel Aranjuez, unique. About our location, we are centraly located between National and Jade Musseum (7 blocks ahead) and the Gastronomical Center La Luz (more than 22 food options between coffee places, al type of restaurants, bars and entertainment spots). Guest can check all the informations in the map we provide by free or downlaud the maps from our website. Make sure that we are improving the serving time in the Café. ¡Muchas gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

We arrived in San José, with jetlag and a 3 and 5 year old. Perfect hotel, locatie and excellent breakfast with view! The setup of the hotel is a very nice integration of traditional middleclass houses.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Gerhard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Gerhard: We much appreciate your review. As you mention,we have a great location that sits back off San José Downtown (we're at just 10 minutes walking from the center) so there is no outside noise coming from the city. Also, we work with much care for offering to our clients a surprising morning start. For that reason,we serve a memorable breakfast, plenty of fresh and natural options, all bought to local producers and prepared in artisanal way. ¡Muchas gracias y hasta pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

The clever owner bought 4 or 5 old familly houses in Aranjuez, -almost downtown- and comunicating them he built the hotel. It's a clean, peacefull one. Good for families, very decent place. But something you are not allowed to miss is their breakfast . THE BEST in town.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Gerardo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear Gerardo: Thank you very much for sharing with TripAdvisor users, your lodging experience at Hotel Aranjuez! The buffet breakfast is one of our strengths. All the food is prepared daily, in artisanal way for our kitchen staff. We want that our Hotel is remembered not only for the cozy atmosphere it offers, but also for the extremely good breakfast. With "a lot of options and good coffee" we conquer our customer's heart! We take this opportunity to mention that we also offer, in our anex, equipped studios or apartments for those looking for more facililties for longer stays. Hope to see you visit in the near future¡ ¡Hasta entonces!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

We stayed at this hotel for one night once arriving in San Jose. It is not far from the airport but after picking up our rental it took us quite a while to get there. Driving in downtown San Jose can be quite a challenge! We got a little nervous based on the hotel's surrounding neighborhoods but once we arrived we were immediately drawn to the quirky and inviting entryway. We were able to park our car behind a secure gate and check in was a breeze. The hotel itself is a bunch of old homes connected with gardens and walkways filled with exotic plants and artwork. We loved everything about this charming place, including the small cafe attached to the front. The best part of this hotel for us was the breakfast. Oh my, was it fantastic!! So many choices and everything was so good, it was the perfect way to begin our journey in Costa Rica!

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Marcy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Hotel Aranjuez, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Dear Marcy:

Thank you very much for taking your time to write this beautifull review on TripAdvisor.

We work day by day in recovering our traditions. We focus on the rescue of our architectural heritage, the hospitality of our people, our culinary tradition and the conservation of the environment. We invite our guest to know all about our eco policies. All our rooms are unique and reflect the infrastructure of the 30s. Our Kitchen staff made all the dishes we serve in our breakfast in artisanal way with Costa Rican recipies and products. At 1147, the cafe-restaurant attached to the front, we keep the same concept.

Thank you again for this lovely review and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews