We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with character”
Review of Hotel Don Carlos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Don Carlos
Ranked #20 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hotel with character”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Our family of 5 spent only one night on the way back to the states. We had the "family room" which was super reasonable at $100. If you want a familiar, never left the states feel, then this isn't for you. Our room was basic but clean and very fun for all five of us to room together. The layout with several floors, iron railings, indoor windows and paintings on the wall give the hotel a unique character and charm. For a tight budget or a little adventure, the Don Carlos is great. Staff are very friendly and helpful, and the arrangements to get to the airport for a 7AM flight went off without a hitch. Our room was on the street and somewhat noisy until about 10PM.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob_at_large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    175
    79
    20
    11
See reviews for
81
172
40
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We spent 2 nights here. Friendly and welcoming staff. Safe, quieter part of the city but a short 10min walk from the theatre, museums and centre. The food was good and well priced, the rooms were clean and sufficient and the service was good. Nice courtyard area. Free PC and Internet use 24/7, as well as wireless. Would stay there again. A more authentic experience than the American chain hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The history of this location drew us in - the former presidential palace, and on a side street in downtown San Jose. And I remember the great gift shop during my study abroad days. But coming back with young kids.... this probably wasn't the right hotel for us. It's a tough drive into town, with traffic, noise, smog, etc. So we were pretty worn out by the time we arrived. And while the country as a whole is safe, we were concerned about walking around the city with the kids. Therefore, for our one night stay, we felt somewhat trapped.

If you are traveling solo, or as a couple, this might be a better fit. Especially if you will be in San Jose for a couple of days. But if you are looking to pass through for one night, pick something outside of the city center.

The front desk staff was very helpful, and arranged a cab for us that night and the following day for our trip to the airport. The gift shop is still great, but it seems to be about half the size it was a decade ago. But if you need to pick up some last minute gifts, this is a great spot. The onsite restaurant was great, and you can sit outside and people watch.

Lastly, there is a nice Jade Museum across the street, which the kids really enjoyed.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saprissaCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York Mills, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed 5 days at this Hotel. Was really nice, the reception agent was very friendly with us, very informative in all our quetions that we have it. They have a Gift Shop with a lot of costa Rica Art & Craft. The coffe was the BEST =)

I would recommend this hotel for shorts days. is a real colonial Building.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Mercifully we only stayed here for one night and that only lasted about 8 hours due to our late arrival and early departure.
Room was like stepping into a 1970s motel and in the morning the shower was full of bugs, that looked like they'd come out of the woodwork around the door frame.
The hotel is situated in the red light district so heading out after dark is not for the feint hearted!
On the slight plus side the staff were friendly and laid out some coffee and biscuits for us in the morning as we left before they started to serve breakfast

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nottles82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The Don Carlos hotel in San Jose was really comfortable. The concierge upon check in was more than friendly, informative and helpful; as well were the staff at the restaurant. The gift shop was quite affordable and had plenty of options of trinkets and souvenirs.

The only downside was that the wi-fi connection in the room was poor but none the less, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Clean and safe rooms, friendly and informative staff, a short cab ride or walk to majority of the city. Loved it!

Room Tip: we booked through the travel agency Anywhere Costa Rica.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laure_ent06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I would recommend this hotel for shorts days. is a real colonial Building. The romos are largers, basic ist not luxurious.
The staff was the best are terrific. they help us in everything.

Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahPress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
945 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 77 in San Jose
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#19 of 77 in San Jose
396 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Carlos

Property: Hotel Don Carlos
Address: Avenida 9 y Calle 9, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in San Jose
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Don Carlos 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Don Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Carlos Hotel
Don Carlos San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing