We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Don Carlos
Nearby Hotels
US$127
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
US$155
US$95
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$114
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
US$88
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cocoon Hotel(San Jose)(Great Value!)
US$43
US$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$181
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (499)
Filter reviews
499 results
Traveller rating
182
196
89
21
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
196
89
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjade museuma large gift shopreal charmcosta ricalocal artistscharming hotelwelcome cocktailthree blocksnooks and cranniesinner courtyardchain hotelsold mansionrooms are largeeasy walking distanceseparate nightsquiet streetrecommend this hotel to anyone
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 499 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Good value, but they would benefit from updated, renovated rooms, furniture, TVs, etc. Good breakfast and excellent location only three blocks from downtown pedestrian area! Beautiful artwork and general look...super gift shop (and I don't usually notice gift shops!)

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank jeffandsalimalash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I went through an interesting attitude change at Hotel Don Carlos. At first our room seemed a little dated, and we had problems getting hot water in the bathroom sink. But as we settled in and enjoyed the surrounding neighborhood, which has several excellent restaurants, coffee shops and galleries, it got to feel like home. As several other reviewers have mentioned, the staff is extraordinarily warm and helpful.And you need to wander around the hotel a bit to see the statues, fountain and so on. After two days we changed our reservation for a few days later to come back to Don Carlos for our last night in Costa Rica. Would return to this friendly, unique hotel, definitely.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

this is the best hotel I have ever stayed in - and I've been all through europe and the US, including hawaii! Old world charm, extremely helpful staff, wonderful nooks and crannies to just sit and enjoy, beautiful woodwork, tiles, amenities, good food, exceptional breakfasts, an affordable and extensive gift shop, little things like disposable slippers - I just can't say enough good things about this place! If you need a hotel in San Jose for just 1 night or for a longer visit - this should be your FIRST option!

Room Tip: ALL the rooms are great - basic but clean, quiet, good, hot water, etc.!!!!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aannafred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night upon arrival in Costa Rica from the UK. We arrived just after 9pm and left just after 7am so our visit was sadly very short. The staff were genuinely very friendly and have the impression that nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were fairly basic but very clean and on the morning that we left breakfast started early so we were happy with that. The main attraction of this hotel is the colourful Costa Rican artwork dotted all the over the place. The hotel is only 20 mins from the Airport but even closer to the red light district!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We spent a short night at Hotel Don Carlos arriving late and departing for the coast early the next day. It is a well maintained, clean hotel. The staff is exceptional - warm, helpful and go out of their way to help. At check in, they upgraded us without being asked. We were disappointed that the restaurant was closed as we'd heard it was very good; the staff quickly directed us to a nearby restaurant. When one of us lost our passport (we later figured out it had been stolen), the staff helped us turn the place upside down looking for it, even retracing our steps to the restaurant. In the morning, they helped us get to the US Embassy where we got help. Tough start to vacation but the concern of the staff - and the excellent service we received at the Embassy - quickly put this in the past and we enjoyed a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: Very few hotels in Costa Rica have air conditioning - if this is a requirement for you, check the hotel amenities carefully.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews