We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're staying in San Jose, stay here”
Review of Hotel Don Carlos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Don Carlos
Ranked #18 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“If you're staying in San Jose, stay here”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This place totally caught us by surprise. We ended up here only because our original reservation at a different hotel fell through, and we didn't quite know what to expect, based on what we read in our guidebook. But having experienced it, we absolutely would stay again. You need to understand that this isn't an ultra-modern hotel; if you want that, stay at the Holiday Inn downtown, or one of the airport hotels, all of which are almost certainly fine. And if you want something a bit more elegant, try Hotel le Bergerac. What this place has is tons of personality. The ground floor is almost like being in a Costa Rican art museum, with artwork displayed all over the place. The ground floor extends much farther than you think it will, with lots of little mini-lounges; you could happily spend a day here, finding somewhere to sit with a cup of coffee and a good book. The rooms are perfectly fine -- clean, with plenty of space. The location is excellent, just a five or ten minute walk from downtown (but not close enough that you get all the noise). And the staff are extremely polite, friendly, and helpful. In many ways, this is a magnificent throwback.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crs107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    175
    77
    20
    11
See reviews for
81
169
40
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This incredible little gem of a hotel was hot before boutique hotels were even in vogue. It had everything you could want in a local hotel and more. We stayed here the first and last night of our trip as it was an easy ride to the airport. It is located within easy walking distance of several good restaurants - including their own in the hotel. Breakfast was filling and delicious. They have a great souvenir shop with prices that were very reasonable.

Room Tip: The family rooms - located at the end of the building - are two bedrooms with a bath and very comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed here for our last night in Costa Rica and really we didn't want to stay there when we arrived. We wanted to be nearer the airport and just be on our way in the morning. However, we really enjoyed this hotel!
When first we arrived, they welcomed us and gave us a voucher for a free rum drink at the bar. Then one of the staff ran out as we headed to the room to take my gf's bag up the stairs (even though she is capable of it herself and normally does). The rooms are quaint and could use a bit of updating, but they are still better than 90% of the places we stayed! The staff were friendly, the place was clean and the free breakfast was decent. The bed was a bit hard, but after a couple drinks you won't notice. The hotel its self is a cute place with little plazas and shops as you walk through. The location was excellent! Far enough from the main streets that you aren't bothered by traffic, yet close enough that you can walk wherever. We went out for Italian at Da Vinci, past the university and then his an irish pub. Glad we stayed our last night here, it was great!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halmstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed two nights at Don Carlos and it's a wonderful place in the old part of San José. Surroundings are beautiful and it's walking distance to the main shopping street with a lots of restaurants.

The rooms are a bit dated although they are very large with lots of space. The bed gnarled each time we moved or turned around, so we didn't get much sleep. Walls are thin like papers, so it's like living with the neighbors.

We would definitely stay here again only for the beatutiful location in this old part of the town, and also for the cozy design and atmosphere of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malin_o_Jonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Good value, but they would benefit from updated, renovated rooms, furniture, TVs, etc. Good breakfast and excellent location only three blocks from downtown pedestrian area! Beautiful artwork and general look...super gift shop (and I don't usually notice gift shops!)

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jeffandsalimalash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I went through an interesting attitude change at Hotel Don Carlos. At first our room seemed a little dated, and we had problems getting hot water in the bathroom sink. But as we settled in and enjoyed the surrounding neighborhood, which has several excellent restaurants, coffee shops and galleries, it got to feel like home. As several other reviewers have mentioned, the staff is extraordinarily warm and helpful.And you need to wander around the hotel a bit to see the statues, fountain and so on. After two days we changed our reservation for a few days later to come back to Don Carlos for our last night in Costa Rica. Would return to this friendly, unique hotel, definitely.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

this is the best hotel I have ever stayed in - and I've been all through europe and the US, including hawaii! Old world charm, extremely helpful staff, wonderful nooks and crannies to just sit and enjoy, beautiful woodwork, tiles, amenities, good food, exceptional breakfasts, an affordable and extensive gift shop, little things like disposable slippers - I just can't say enough good things about this place! If you need a hotel in San Jose for just 1 night or for a longer visit - this should be your FIRST option!

Room Tip: ALL the rooms are great - basic but clean, quiet, good, hot water, etc.!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aannafred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 76 in San Jose
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 76 in San Jose
1,232 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Carlos

Property: Hotel Don Carlos
Address: Avenida 9 y Calle 9, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in San Jose
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Don Carlos 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Don Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Carlos Hotel
Don Carlos San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing