We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only reason to return to San Jose....”
Review of Hotel Don Carlos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Don Carlos
Ranked #15 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2009

Look, I wasn't a huge fan of San Jose. I'm glad I experienced it once but I don't have much desire to go back. That said, I'd consider going back just so I could stay at Hotel Don Carlos again. Located in a quiet, less touristy neighborhood, this hotel has got to be the best place to stay in all of San Jose. The decor is really interesting and the hotel is the perfect mix of indoor (rooms, lobby) and outdoor (dining area, hallways). The rooms are comfortable, cozy, and clean. They have three computers with free internet for those who just can't be without email. BUT...the real story here is the breakfast. On our ten day trip around Costa Rica, we never had a better breakfast than we did at Don Carlos. Served on the beautiful outdoor patio, surrounded by beautiful greenery and a flowing waterfall, you'll enjoy the best gallo pinto we had in Costa Rica, scrambled eggs, homemade tortillas, and so much more that I can't even remember. You will NOT go wrong staying at Hotel Don Carlos.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sassathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Don Carlos
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2009

The rooms are nice - more boutique style than McRooms at the Holiday Inn and such... and the staff is extremely helpful and friendly (like most Costa Ricans). The neighborhood the Don Carlos is in is one of the nicer neighborhoods with lots of old-school colonial architecture. It's also right next to Las Palmas Grill, an EXCELLENT Peruvian restaurant.

The rates are very reasonable and the gift shop is among the biggest in San Jose (and price-competitive as well). I stayed there twice on the same trip (first and last day) - so happy with that choice!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Speedy71471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

We spent one night with our three children (all under the age of 10) on our way out of CR. The hotel is like an art gallery with a super inexpensive restaurant. It's across the street from museums and in walking distance to markets to pick up souvenirs on your way out. The room was huge and super comfortable. The gift shop in the hotel is also incredible. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank famtym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

We stayed at Hotel Don Carlos on our first and last night in Costa Rica. 04/09/09 and 04/17/09. We stayed in San Jose thinking that a big city would have a lot to offer, we were wrong, the only positive of our stay was Hotel Don Carlos, we pulled up to a beautifully decorated old style hotel with art and character, the staff were all extremely helpful and nice, the rooms were plain but comfortable, nothing fancy but, affordable with a free delicious breakfast, internet and 1 international phone call- The city was dirty, noisy and very crowded with beggars. Unfortunately we were there on Easter Break and in Costa Rica this is Holy Week and a very sacred holiday, which I respect but nothing was opened and there was not a whole lot to do. The hotel was fabulous.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelGx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

We were greeted by Allan who was so helpful (and spoke English). Everyone working at the hotel was extremely helpful. The hotel is centrally located, being in walking distance to a number of tasty restaurants and things to do and see. We stayed here on our first night in Costa Rica and it was a great place to get integrated into the culture. The hotel is clean and the rooms, while not extravagant, are clean and comfortable. Great hotel for the price. Also, accessible to the airport (about a $22 cab ride).

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jewelz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2009

The interior of this hotel is gorgeous!! The rooms might not be anything really special, but they are clean, with hot water, and everything you need. Breakfast in the morning is quite delicious... what a spread! The entire staff is very friendly and helpful; they will go out of their way to make sure your stay is pleasant. This is the only hotel I ever stay at in San Jose. I usually only stay the first and last night of my travels- spending the remainder in the jungle. The location is perfect... near everything, and safe. The gift shop is also very large, with an amazing selection of everything you could want! They also have a computer cluster with free internet use for all guests.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thenaturebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2009

Don Carlos Hotel was authentic, located in a good part of San Jose, and the staff was very helpful and friendly. We opted for a "Superior room" which was located on the 3rd floor overlooking the city. The view was breathtaking, and the hotel was clean. However the minus of the hotel was the noise, the set up of the furniture -every time we got up during the night we bashed our shins on a end table located at the end of the bed, and worse the beds were extremely uncomfortable. For me a torture bed is a deal breaker, especially if you're on a vacation and travelling non-stop. If Don Carlos updated their beds, and removed the end tables I would have no complaints. Otherwise, try somewhere else if you want a restful nights sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VFee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
957 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 77 in San Jose
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 77 in San Jose
1,014 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#19 of 77 in San Jose
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Carlos

Address: Avenida 9 y Calle 9, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in San Jose
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £46 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Don Carlos 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Don Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Carlos Hotel
Don Carlos San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing