We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, but choose your room carefully”
Review of Hotel Don Carlos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Don Carlos
Ranked #14 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2010

This hotel is very charming, great location and the price is right. It's private and there's a beautiful courtyard in the back. Avoid the rooms in the stairwell, they are noisy and small. The staff was very accomodating and friendly. My first night there was disrupted by teenagers running in the stairwell and talking loudly until 3 am, then staff arrives at 5 am, and you hear EVERYTHING. After expressing my complaint in the morning and asking for a different room, the clerk graciously apologized and offered me a deluxe suite at the same price, and didn't charge me for the first night. I had stayed at this hotel in the past (NOT in the stairwell rooms), and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2010

I have stayed in this hotel twice. The first time was great, but the second time was very scary. I was swarmed by termites, and the staff really did not care. They finally moved me into another room at 3:00am. Two of my colleagues had things stolen by the cleaning staff, but the management shrugged it off. The hotel has lots of charm and a great restaurant and gift shop, but I will never stay there again. The internet was also very spotty and slow. You can hear everyone in the hallways, so bring earplugs.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsbu00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Excellent staff and amazingly clean location make this colonial charmer a great find. The beds are not comfortable but the setting, the restaurant, and the staff more than make up for this short coming. This is the perfect home base for 1-2 day stay in the capitol of san jose. Its centrally located to the museum of jade and gold (walking distance) and has a secure parking area. I would stay here again. The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leoedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Overall, a fantastic value if you're not to fussy. Hotel Don Carlos is located in Barrio Amon which is easy walking distance or a cheap cab ride to most of downtown San Jose. It was easy to walk to Avenida Central and take the pedestrian only section in. While we were underwhelmed with anything offered in San Jose, we appreciated the ameneties here. The service was personal, professional and superb. The price for that service was very reasonable $90. With that came free secured parking, and free internet (although it didn't work in the room). The hotel restaurant was nice and very fairly priced. Try the coconut flan, it was delicious. The Hotel had an interesting space with lots of art and interesting historical artifacts, as well as interesting open patio areas, etc. I would recommend it as a starting or ending point for anyone at the beginning or end of the trip. The hotel can also arrange tours, etc for you if you're interested in that. They were very very helpful regarding any question we had, directions, suggestions, etc. Regarding the rooms, they need a bit of work. The bed was incredibly uncomfortable, and we can generally sleep anywhere. Our ceiling fan made racket all night long, but it was too hot without it. The TV in the room (during the world cup) was at least 25 years old and had no remote control

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiquiHerrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

My husband and I stayed at the "Don Carlos" for 3 nights while on holiday in Costa Rica. I had read the reviews here and agree with most of what was expressed by other posters. It is a large, charming colonial style house in central San Jose - our room faced a gentleman`s club. On arrival, we were given a choice of 2 rooms and we thought this was a nice gesture! The room was really spacious with antique style furniture making it different from other hotels - I really liked it.
We had breakfast and was good, my husband loved the rice with black beans... We also had dinner once and enjoyed the food.
The only minor "complaint" was we didnt think it was a 4 star hotel as they advertise it and $100 a night wasnt exactly great value for money - otherwise, a pleasant stay with friendly and courteous staff.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holland75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Hotel Don Carlos is like a Jewel in the dust of San Jose. The rooms are big and the restaurant is so nice and romantic. Service is just excellent! I really recommend to go there.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhajnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

Built around a historic house near the San Jose business district, you can't knock the place for lack of character. There are a couple of attractive courtyards, and a lot of repro and original antiques as well as a lot of shall we say, colourful, art. The property is expansive, set over many floors and a couple of adjoining buildings, and all rooms are different. Ours was large, with two queen beds, perfectly OK for a one-night stopover with two children but eat, sleep, have breakfast and leave was about the limit of our aspirations for this hotel.

It;s quite a way from the buzzing centre, and it was suggested to us that a taxi is the safest way of reaching it at night - so we stayed put, also being tired from our trip; the restaurant was fine, even if service was so slow on my food that the family had eaten and left (at my suggestion - small ones were exhausted) before my main course arrived. Breakfast was good.

The front desk staff were exceptionally friendly, allowing us to do a long-distance call on Skype.

So, fine as a stopover, quirky, comfortable, clean, but a bit odd.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T5isHell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 78 in San Jose
989 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,563 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#7 of 78 in San Jose
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
1.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Carlos

Address: Avenida 9 y Calle 9, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £50 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Don Carlos 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Don Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Carlos Hotel
Don Carlos San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing