We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in San Jose” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Bergerac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Bergerac
Ranked #41 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in San Jose”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

We traveled to Costa Rica for the first time last February as part of a Tauck Company "culturious" tour. This is a well maintained boutique hotel with character. The Le Bergerac is well located- about a mile easy walk into the heart of the capital city, on a quiet side street. Rooms were generously sized, comfortable and well maintained. The bed was very comfortable. Staff very helpful. One desk clerk steered me to the Food Court at the nearby modern mall as a great place to sample good typical Costa Rican food. We were incredulous, but she was right. There were a half dozen local restaurants selling excellent "casados," at great prices. It was hard to choose. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for telling others about your experience in Le Bergerac. Our boutique hotel is located within walking distance near a shopping mall, a supermarket, international restaurants and San José downtown and its main attractions.
All our rooms have wooden floors, double beds and the Superior, Deluxe and Grande rooms have either one or two queen or king size beds, as well as private patios.
Our staff is more than happy to provide information and tips about what to visit or where to enjoy good food.
We look forward to seeing you next time you visit our country,

Hasta pronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    135
    61
    22
    20
See reviews for
68
168
41
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tinley Park, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Hotel Le Bergerac was a wonderful place to stay. Our room was cute and comfortable with a beautiful view of the mountains. It's located within walking distance to many cute shops and a small mall. The staff was friendly and very helpful with anything we needed. The dining room was lovely with your choice of indoor/outdoor seating. Dinner and breakfast were excellent with a wide variety of choices to make. I'd highly reccomend the Cream of Carrot soup! The waiter was great and we found him very charming and funny. We would have no problem staying here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Dear guest,

We are more than happy to read your comments about our property and that you have enjoyed the mountain view from your room patio.
Our Cyrano`s restaurant serves delicious meals to all our guests and also is open for people who is not staying at the hotel. We are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and as you have mentioned, we have available indoor or outdoor seating.
Next time you visit our beautiful Costa Rica, we hope you can consider staying with us.
Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Your enjoyment of this property (or not) will come down to your personal preferences. If you enjoy character and interesting architecture you'll probably love it. If you want modern rooms and decent sized bathrooms, then this is not for you. Because it is a converted colonial house/mansion, the rooms are small and the place is kind of chopped up. (we stayed in a standard room...other rooms may be different) They are also somewhat dated in appearance. The bathoom was clean but narrow...sitting on the toilet you have about 10" between your knees and the wall. Also, we don't like shower curtains personally, but the size of the shower itself was decent. The doors to the rooms are hollow core wooden doors so you here people out in the hall.

The area itself is quiet, but in minutes you can be in the craziness of downtown. I agree with other posters that the staff appears a little uptight, yet they were also very helpful when asked. It's almost as if the staff is anxious about doing well...I don't know for sure, but to me, this points to management. Maybe the staff is being scrutinized and it makes them behave this way.

The restaurant is nice and the breakfast was good, however, the same intensity was present in our waiter. He was very efficient but didn't smile and he looked uptight. We did not have dinner there so I can't comment.

Room Tip: We had a standard room...small but adequate if all you do is sleep and shower. Bigger rooms are avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking some minutes to write a review about us.

The hotel`s main building is a restored house dated from 1940`s. We have four room categories: Grande, Deluxe, Superior,and Standard whcih have been conditioned with private bathrooms, almond floors, handmade furniture and private patios.

The Standard rooms are suitable for one or two people due to its size. Thay have one matrimonial bed, private bathroom with hot water, cable television and direct phone and do not have a patio or terrace but are located near those areas.

Our staff can provide helpful assistance about places to visit in downtown San José, daily tours, restaurants, etc. We are sorry to hear that you found the staff uptight as we normally provide a welcoming tico environment.

We hope you can visit us on you next trip and we could then meet your expectations with a friendly service.

Hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

We only stayed for one night, but the whole atmosphere was very formal and not very relaxed - it is no more than a feeling but the staff didn't seem comfortable. When arriving after a very long trip I had to fill in a huge form with all kinds of details and was then handed another sheet detailing all the rules you have to adhere to. The room was fine, the shower rubbish (why renovate a room and not change the shower nozzle?), the environs fine, it is just a quite formal place with staff in uniforms standing to attention but not knowing quite what to do...Not my type of place but I can understand that some people might like it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MijoSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review and totally unsderstand and respect it.
Le Bergerac is a Boutique hotel of 25 rooms, surrounded by tropical gardens. The rooms have private bathroom with hot water. We regret you did not tell us about the shower we would have assist you anytime.
When checking in we do not guests to complete a registration form and we also give general information about the services we provide such as: restaurant schedules, exchange currancy details, use of the phone for local or international calls, the use of the safety box, etc.
Our main goal is to make all our guest feel like home and provide a personal service.
We hope you can give us a second opportunity so you can truly enjoy your stay with us.
Hasta pronto!

Le Bergerac Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

If you'd like to skip the noise and traffic of downtown San Jose, we'd suggest the charming Hotel Le Bergerac in a quiet neighborhood only 10-15 minutes by taxi from the city center. Our rooms were ample and spotless, complete with all the usual amenities. We used this hotel as a base for excursions to various regions of Costa Rica, the staff generously arranging transportation for some of these trips. Further, they stored whatever luggage we were not currently using, facilitated our attendance at a local synagogue, and canceled an unneeded rental car reservation. They could not have been more gracious or more helpful. As a bonus, we enjoyed several tasty and satisfying meals at Cyrano's, the in-house restaurant.

Sidney and Margo Friedman

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidney_Friedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Friedman,

Thank you very much for you review. As you did, many other travelers use our property as a home base while visiting different places in our beautiful Costa Rica. We provide luggage storage without any adittional charge and are more than happy to assist our guests with information regarding: daily tours, public and private transportation, places to visit downtown, etc.
All our rooms have private bathroom with hot water, hair dryer, safety deposit box, direct phone for international and local calls, ceiling fans, led screens and the Deluxe and Grande rooms have a little fridge.
Our in-house restaurant, Cyrano`s, is daily open for breakfast ( we offer complimentary Costa Rican breakfast to all our guests), lunch and dinner.
It was really a pleasure to meet you and we hope to see you on your next vacatio!!
Hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

From one standpoint I am reluctant to write as I do because I would hate to see Hotel Le Bergerac, where I stayed for three weeks, become difficult to book, but this is one of the best hotels that I have been in of late (I travel heavily in Latin America and Europe). The quality of service is consistently high, the staff (from room to recepcion) could not be more professional--or simpatico--the kitchen and dining room service are both excellent, the breakfasts (incluido) provide a bullish start to the day, my room was always spotless, birds sing around the hotel, and on and on. It is nice to be a short walk (20 minutes) from central San Jose, where museums and other restaurants are located. San Jose is a safe city--I literally walked daily from hotel to and throughout the center, but for those who prefer to ride, red taxis with marias are everywhere--and josefinos are accommodating and warm to strangers.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.! We are pleased to know that you find Le Bergerac your home away from home.
All staff is committed to give to all our guests a personal service so that our guests experience the tico friendly atmosphere.
The hotel is surrounded by tropical gardens, where you can enjoy the singing of the birds, the and butterflies. If you reserve a Superior, Deluxe or Grande room you can experience this in your own private patio.
Le Bergerac is located 20 minutes walking from dowtown San Jose and as you have mentioned red taxis with marias are everywhere. (A travel tip: it is better to pay in colones taxi drivers and it is not customary in Costa Rica to tip them)
We look forward to seeing you.

Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

This hotel is a haven of peace in the busy city of San Jose, just a short taxi ride away from the centre. All the members of staff we encountered were welcoming, friendly and helpful. Although the decor is not ultra modern, it is nevertheless charming, and the rooms and bathrooms we occupied on two different occasions were well decorated, with all mod cons and a very good size. I would highly recommend staying here and would not hesitate to return on another occasion.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheilaO693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeBergerac, Assistant Mamager at Hotel Le Bergerac, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for telling others about your experience in our property. We are pleased to know that the staff was friendly and that you felt welcome.
As you have mentioned, Le Bergerac is just a short ride form San José dowtown, but pretty far away not hear the noise of the city.
All the rooms have their own private bathrroom with hot water, shower and hair dryer. The bigger rooms are found in the Deluxe and Grande categories, These rooms have either one or two Queen / King size beds, a small refrigerator and a private patio or terrace.
We look forward to seeing you next time you visit our beautiful Costa Rica!

Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Cambranes
Hotel Casa Cambranes
#10 of 85 in San Jose
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Casa las Orquideas
4.8 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#27 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#21 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Tournon
Hotel Villa Tournon
#53 of 85 in San Jose
3.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
4.5 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#12 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bergerac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bergerac

Property: Hotel Le Bergerac
Address: Calle 35 Los Yoses entre avenida 8 y central, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bergerac 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 25 comfortable, colorfully furnished rooms, nine of which are small standard rooms whilst the remainder, from superior to luxury, all have a small private garden patio or balcony.Many of our touring guests have commented on how they look forward to returning to the peace, quiet and comfort of our small hotel. Free services include continental breakfast, Wi Fi and internet connections in all rooms and Secure parking.We can arrange airport pickup and transfer to Le Bergerac, situated in the old embassy district of Los Yoses. Our beautiful hotel is within minutes of the downtown city, while the rest of the incredible central valley is also easily accessible.The hotel has an experienced staff of well trained management that will delight in helping you with any travel or tour arrangements throughout the whole of this exciting and beautiful country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Le Bergerac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bergerac Hotel
Le Bergerac San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing