We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place as Base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique
Ranked #47 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel for three days and used it as a base to drive to outlying sights and walk into the city. It is about a 15 min walk to the main strip in san jose (which can be a bit far if you go all the way down to the opposite end). the hotel staff was very nice, though not very helpful in giving us suggestions/directions about where to venture. the breakfast was great and the room itself was very spacious. The parking stuation was great, in a gated area that he staff would open for you when you left/returned.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marisa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

We used this hotel for the 1.5 days we were in San Jose before heading off to other places in Costa Rica. We got a good room with a king bed and its own backyard. The tropical plants and trees in the backyard were very nice, though they couldn't completely shield the noise of cars zipping by on the road behind them. The restaurant is very good though. The staff was very friendly and the food was really good. We tried the Tico breakfast and for dinner, we tried Seviche - which were both very good.

Walking to the main attractions and then down to the central market was very easy from the hotel. Very convenient location overall.

One thing - the hotel arranged a ride back to the airport and that costed me $32. Others may want to check calling a cab on their own. The main road is just a block away and flagging a taxi should not be very difficult.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sreeram N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Overall very nice stay!
Plus:
- nice, big room (#12) including balcony
- very, very clean
- good breakfast included in rate
- good location in a safe neighbourhood in walking distance to downtown San José
- free parking lot for rental car
- very nice and attentive staff
Perhaps a minor nuisance for sensitive guests:
- rooms in the main building get the noise from the reception area, for example from restaurant guests leaving in the evening.
We will definitely return on our next trip to Costa Rica!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank StephanieSusanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Three of us stayed here for one night. We were given a lovely large room (with three beds as requested) that had it's own small garden The staff was very gracious and helpful. We enjoyed lunch at the restaurant so much, we also had dinner there that night. We had a very early departure the next morning, and they went out of their way to make sure we had some breakfast before we left.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneD213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here two times on our Costa Rican honeymoon. It was our first stop when we arrived in the country at 5:30am and we appreciated the great service as we were of course pretty jetlagged. They were able to check us in when we arrived so we could take a shower and have the delicious Costa Rican breakfast in their cafe. We came back after a trip to Monteverde and stayed two more nights at Le Bergerac in the middle of our trip. The staff helped us book our tour to Cafe Britt, made restaurant reservations, and helped us with cabs. We found them friendly and helpful and it was always nice to return to such a welcoming place after a day exploring. We passed a nice afternoon chatting with Erick at the bar and enjoying the great happy hour deals.

The rooms were a little inconsistent. The first room we stayed in was quite a bit older and on the ground floor so a little dark. When we came back we were in a second floor room with an amazing blue bathroom with tall ceilings and a great view. That was room #12 and I highly recommend it.

Would definitely send friends or family to Le Bergerac when they're in San Jose!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CateBSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Le Bergerac. We were very excited to be there but after the Villa Decary [Arenal] and Hotel Belmar [Monteverde] we were disappointed. The hotel looks very charming, the building is beautiful, surrounded by a very nice garden. Unfortunately the room we were [#28 - deluxe] was pretty old furnished. But the worse is the lighting: we understand that hotel needs to reduce their electric expenses but all the bulbs are BASIC FLUORESCENT ENERGY SAVING LIGHT. Which means that your bedroom looks like a hospital bedroom. Le Bergerac has a great potential but unfortunately not explored by the owners. Very sad. The location is really cool, only 15mn from the noisy downtown and take the time to walk all around the hood, there is beautiful architecture to discover especially the "brutalist" church of Fatima, 3 blocks away. Rare piece of architecture.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luzzien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

It was hard to find the hotel mostly because no one thought to tell us it was 2 blocks away from a major shopping plaza. So many streets in San Jose are one way and the congestion was horrible,,,,,The rooms were simple but quaint. the little patio was a great place to meet with my business associate. The service was awessome and the restaurant well done..


  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Casa Orquideas
0.9 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 77 in San Jose
1,312 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites
0.7 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#25 of 77 in San Jose
495 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Cambranes
Hotel Casa Cambranes
#14 of 77 in San Jose
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique

Address: Calle 35 Los Yoses entre avenida 8 y central, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Le Bergerac)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £46 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 25 comfortable, colorfully furnished rooms, nine of which are small standard rooms whilst the remainder, from superior to luxury, all have a small private garden patio or balcony.Many of our touring guests have commented on how they look forward to returning to the peace, quiet and comfort of our small hotel. Free services include continental breakfast, Wi Fi and internet connections in all rooms and Secure parking.We can arrange airport pickup and transfer to Le Bergerac, situated in the old embassy district of Los Yoses. Our beautiful hotel is within minutes of the downtown city, while the rest of the incredible central valley is also easily accessible.The hotel has an experienced staff of well trained management that will delight in helping you with any travel or tour arrangements throughout the whole of this exciting and beautiful country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bergerac Hotel
Le Bergerac San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing