We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint French themed hotel away from the high rises but within walking distance to everything you could need.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
Yarmouth, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint French themed hotel away from the high rises but within walking distance to everything you could need.”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

First time visitors to Costa Rica ~ A friend and I used Hotel Le Bergerac as our home base during a 10 day stay in Costa Rica. We were greeted by the manager upon our afternoon arrival and he gave us a tour of the property and escorted us to our beautiful corner room with a balcony #14. The entire staff were attentive, friendly, caring, kind and made us feel like FAMILY. All spoke very good English, with the exception of the maids.
My daughter is studying abroad at Universidad Veritas which was an easy walk from the hotel. I chose this location because it was convenient to her school and host family's home. There is a new bakery called "The Whisk" close to the University as well as a lovely pizza place just next door to the school. Employees at both locations speak English and are friendly. Any future trips planned to Costa Rica will include Hotel Le Bergerac again, but because of the wonderful friends we made there and the lovely accomodations. We liked not being in a chain hotel with rooms that are all alike. This property has charm.

The value was reasonable given the large room with a lovely view from the balcony; bathroom; safe to lock up valuables; "typical Costa Rican" breakfast included daily served by our jolly waiter Erik; currency exchange and airport taxes at the front desk; a tasty variety of dinner options at Cyranno's restaurant served by waiter/bartender Eduardo; and computer and/or wifi available for easy airline check in and printing of boarding passes. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day.
The hotel manager (Artruro) advised us and arranged for various tours including private transportation to and from Manuel Antonio for a 3-day excursion. We opted to keep our room at Hotel Le Bergerac even while we were away for the 3 days. Each time we left the property we were wished well and given advice on how to travel safely. Upon returning we were always greeted with smiles and sincere interest in how we enjoyed our excursions. We had one minor problem in 10 days and it was resolved quickly, with humble apologies and sincere concern for our satisfaction.
San Jose is a bustling city with lots to offer. Given it's proximity to the equator, we often returned with pink cheeks and shoulders despite the regular use of sunscreen.....that would be my only warning to first time visitors. Do not take the intensity of the sun for granted, no matter what time of day. There is no air conditioning in the room but it was not a concern, there was always a nice breeze and the ceiling fan helped circulate the air sufficiently.
Gracias ~ Pure Vida

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djdYarmouthME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    137
    62
    24
    21
See reviews for
69
169
43
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kalama, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We arrived with booking number and a email copy of reservations Sunday March 9 to Tues March 11 but no reservation found.The manager not available. Clerk sent us to a nearby hotel telling us the same rate would be honored. After a long hot bag drag the new hotel quoted us a much higher price and said no mention was made of cost.Very bad experience for 2 senior travelers.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank me360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed at Hotel Bergerac for two nights. Our room was clean and very large, as was the bathroom. The hotel is in the city, but once you are inside it is like being in a little garden world- very lovely. The staff was nice, the included breakfast big and delicious, and we enjoyed our stay and would love to return. The only downside is that it is a bit of a walk to the center of town, and there don't seem to be many restaurants in the immediate area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank SS1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nimes France
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel but technically outdated and noisy. No cold water in bathroom. Toilet continued flushing. No airport tax pass could be supplied.
We were not received as a regarded guest. They asked us to make a credit card imprint and sign it with NO amount filled in and sign it. Blanco cheque! I have never done this before. They told us that they had to be sure that we should pay. The hotel already was paid. Not a hotel to come back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Theo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed in Le Bergerac our first two nights in San Jose after reading fantastic reviews on TripAdvisor. The room itself was fantastic and our breakfast delicious. Nothing to complain about with regard to the accommodation itself. We had booked before we arrived through Orbitz.com, as we did for our entire trip. The problems arose when we went to check out. The person at the front desk let us know that there was a problem with Orbitz not giving the correct payment to Le Bergerac and despite my showing my own credit card already having been charged for our stay by Orbitz, she made us pay the amount again until she could sort it out with Orbitz, which I found quite fishy--if it is a problem between the hotel and Orbitz, this is not something you should drag your customers into!

We travelled two weeks through Costa Rica and called several times speaking with various employees to see if it was sorted out as we could tell on our credit card account, the money was not refunded. Each time, they promised they'd call us back once they knew more. We never heard anything from them. Our last day in Costa Rica we spent in San Jose staying at a different hotel (El Maragato--great value), and because it still had not been rectified and no one had called us back as promised, we had to go to Le Bergerac again to sort it out, spending time we would have of course rather used to do some last sightseeing or activities in San Jose.

At Le Bergerac, we spoke to several people for approximately 1.5 hours, but the top manager at the hotel would not speak directly with us for whatever reason. Though they agreed that we had paid twice for our stay and that the problem was between the hotel and Orbitz, they still were saying it would take up to 30 days to get our money refunded. Because I was a bit skeptical of waiting around for the refund, given their track record of not calling us back and not following-up, I asked for a cash refund, if that would be easier for them. To me, waiting 30 days while they would "sort it out" was not ideal given that we were traveling back home and would not be able to keep checking in on the problem.

After speaking with three different individuals, it apparently became possible that within five days (instead of 30) our money would be fully refunded to our credit card, at the personal guarantee of one of the mid-level managers. That was the best we could get in our short time before needing to get to the airport. Thankfully, approximately a week after we returned home, the money was refunded back to our credit card but it still leaves a very bad impression of the service level of the hotel. It was a shame that this all happened how it did, because as I mentioned, it was a very lovely hotel room and breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank dorsey222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This is a clean, safe, quiet, and elegant hotel, with good-sized rooms and some attractive gardens. The staff make you feel welcome, and they are helpful and informative. It's close enough to downtown that you could walk, although I wouldn't walk it after dark. An additional plus: a very good breakfast. We stayed in two hotels in San Jose, this one at the start of our trip and Hotel Don Carlos at the end. To be honest, I preferred the location, personality, and decor of Don Carlos (which has a fascinating collection of artwork and numerous lounges and winding pathways) to the elegance of Le Bergerac; but that's probably just a matter of personal taste. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at either again. Tip: the shopping mall, which is just a few blocks away, is a nice, safe place to get money from an ATM.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crs107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
994 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,021 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed one night and the location is convenient to San Jose but a bit off the main streets which is nice for less traffic, crowds, and noise. It is on a steep street if you are walking. The interior shows charm, with the main hall to the rooms overlooking an outdoor courtyard. Rooms were surprisingly large and clean. The dinner menu was good and the food good but anticipate some slow service (seated at 7:30 and departed at 9:30) which is fine if that is your main activity for the evening. Breakfast was exceptional. I had the "traditional Costa Rica" breakfast which was awesome.

Minor concerns: They are administratively disorganized and slow -- we stood a long time to check in while several people changed money even though there were four people in the area who could have helped. We were there with a tour group, and in the morning with all the showers the water got cold. My shower was not even luke warm but tolerable.

All said, I would stay here again.

If this review is helpful then please indicate so below.

Room Tip: Recommend asking for a room away from the reception area so that it minimizes noise from people at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trek-Always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Cambranes
Hotel Casa Cambranes
#11 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Casa Orquideas
4.6 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#13 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
2.8 mi away
KC Hotel San Jose
KC Hotel San Jose
#40 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
4.8 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#30 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique

Property: Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique
Address: Calle 35 Los Yoses entre avenida 8 y central, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Le Bergerac)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 25 comfortable, colorfully furnished rooms, nine of which are small standard rooms whilst the remainder, from superior to luxury, all have a small private garden patio or balcony.Many of our touring guests have commented on how they look forward to returning to the peace, quiet and comfort of our small hotel. Free services include continental breakfast, Wi Fi and internet connections in all rooms and Secure parking.We can arrange airport pickup and transfer to Le Bergerac, situated in the old embassy district of Los Yoses. Our beautiful hotel is within minutes of the downtown city, while the rest of the incredible central valley is also easily accessible.The hotel has an experienced staff of well trained management that will delight in helping you with any travel or tour arrangements throughout the whole of this exciting and beautiful country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Bergerac Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bergerac Hotel
Le Bergerac San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing