We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque compound but not a great area, hard to find hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
Ranked #36 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Picturesque compound but not a great area, hard to find hotel”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I just spent two nights in their modest style apartments, the staff were friendly and helpful, but you can't walkout the compound, very run down area, not safe at night. The apartment needed refurbishing and upgrading, the washroom is so small, when you stood up from toilet you hit the wall. The buffet breakfast included was quite good, as sitting outside on patio. The two nights I was there, the car alarms went on and off all night ruining any chance of a restful sleep. The other concern was they had a large gathering of the outlaw motorcycle gang the Bandito's staying the second night I was there in full colours and revving their bikes at night and morning, which seemed to set off vehicle car alarms. Not impressed staying at hotel which caters to outlaw motorcycle gangs as their clients. I won't go back there.

Room Tip: Away from parking area, many separate buildings on compound,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    94
    65
    25
    18
See reviews for
81
85
23
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

The buildings in the hotel compound are charmingly painted, and there are beautiful stained-glass windows in several of the buildings, but when we entered the building where our room was located, we were hit by a powerful musty smell which also pervaded our room. In addition to the smell, we had been assigned a room right next to the hot pool, and the noise from the pump was horribly loud, even with the windows closed. We were also desperate for a walk after a long day of traveling, but did not feel safe heading out beyond the guarded entrance to the hotel. My recommendation to the hotel owners is to take those rooms by the hot tub out of commission, or else move the hot tub to another location where it won't disturb people's rest.

Room Tip: Don't stay near the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4wildness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, AZ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Overall the stay at the hotel was nice. The problem was, the hotel was in a very bad part if town, so we couldn't go out sightseeing. It was also about 40 mins from the airport, so the cab ride there and back ate up any savings we may have had, but that part was our fault.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I liked the place but was warned that the area was unsafe to walk at night. The accomodations were nice the first 4 days we were there and clean but the floor was very dirty( like I had put my finger on an finger print pad not kidding) my feet were filthy. I thought maybe they had not mopped. The breakfasts were nice but I would not go back for dinner again. We came back for the last day of our trip to stay there and in a different room and the floor was the same way and the shower would not give hot water. I mentioned it to them and they said it was because of the wind etc. what a crock. All the other places we stayed had clean floors even the place we stayed in Monte Verde that has very high winds this time of the year had clean floors. I will never stay in the San Jose area again crazy drivers, people step out in front of you to try to get hit, it is flat scary. We loved the Cloud forest area, Puntarenas area, La Fortuna, Liberia.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herorank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
166 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We arrived in Costa Rica late. I'm not sure how tough the neighborhood was, but it was not a good start to our trip. It seemed so heavily guarded that we were not at ease upon arrival. We were told there was a pull out sofa bed and there was not. Though the staff brought us an extra bed.
the staff was functionary, but having come off a long day of travel, it would have been good for the staff to be a bit more welcoming. We were off before breakfast the next day. if it was my hotel, I would have sent along a little travel package considering we could not have breakfast.

I would not come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobwphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
254 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

The hotel was very nice, rooms were small apartments with full kitchens, all located in a guarded compound we were cautioned not to leave on foot at night. So without a vehicle, there was no local sightseeing nor outside strolling, which left us feeling a bit claustrophobic. The restaurant and bar were good; nice pool, but it was a bit chilly to swim. Our room safe wouldn't work, and the repairman, who came promptly, repair it, so he just hefted it onto his shoulder and walked out, bringing us a new one the same way. Hmmm. What's the value of a hotel safe you can just pick up and leave with? Every other place in CR we visited had the safe bolted to the wall. Overall, nice place to spend a day or two, but personally, I like to be able to walk outside my hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Royan17200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at Casa Conde. The staff is excellent and more than willing to make your stay pleasurable. The rooms are clean and very well decorated. The breakfast buffet great! Although it is a little distance from the airport, it is worth the drive.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ford A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
4.5 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#13 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
4.7 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#30 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Conde Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Conde Hotel & Suites

Property: Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
Address: Transversal 11 | Costado Sur, Southwest side from Parque de la Paz, San Jose 68-2400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Conde Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites is a Four Acre Colonial Village style hotel of 100 guest rooms located within a residential neighborhood where you will be able to share a cup of Costa Rican coffee with our Good Neighbor Package. Casa Conde Hotel & Suites is located 30 minutes from the Juan Santamaria International Airport and just 5 minutes from downtown San Jose where you will be able to enjoy spectacular plays in the National Theatre with our Cultural Package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Conde Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Conde Apartotel And Suites San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose Hotel San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing