We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“depends on why you are there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
Ranked #35 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“depends on why you are there”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

we spent a nite on either side of our CR vacation. In fairness we didnt experience the hotel very long as we arrived late the first nite and left early the second nite.
Front desk was efficient (but certainly not as warm as the other hotels we visited on the trip). room was clean and spacious (hot water intermittent on second visit). Didnt eat there so cant comment (left before breakfast was served both days). Had a drink by the pool - had to go to the bar when the order wasnt satisfactory - not sure where the server went? Pool looked just ok - and is rite beside the bar (hope you are not self conscious in your bathing suit!)
Finally - i think the main issue i had is the location. You definitely dont want to wander outside the gates (day or nite) Not that it is really unsafe - but nothing there to see within walking distance anyways. In fairness - there appeared to be lots of business people there - so maybe this is the attraction of the place. We would definitely look for something different next time (either more downtown or closer to the airport - quite an adventure getting back and forth with our rental car)

Room Tip: we stayed in 2 different buildings on our two nites both seemed good - top floor is preferable and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaydee02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    94
    65
    25
    18
See reviews for
81
86
23
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Agree with many comments already made. It is not in the best or accessible area but with a driver from the airport, it was not an issue. The hotel compound is a nice place to come home to. Restaurant served tasty dishes and buffet was nice. Rooms were spacious. Washer / dryer was appreciated. We were looking for an evening soccer match and the hotel helped us set it up. They are very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hotel is one-of-a-kind; high on character with interesting architecture and colors. It is definitely NOT the generic name-brand hotel, so stay away if that is what you are looking for. It is an authentic latin establishment with all its quirks. The buildings themselves are rather old but have been renovated and maintained. One clue to the age is kitchen had a high "chimney" going up from the ceiling to take the cooking heat away - needed in pre-A/C days. Since it is older, some may also find the wear on the floors, doors, etc. putting off but I find it adds charm and history. You can also find modest dirt and grime in the less accessible nooks and crannies if you give it the white glove treatment, but you can also tell it has been cleaned and the important areas, such as bends, floors, and bathrooms, were very clean.

The location is not great - it was almost a half-hour ride from the San Jose airport and there is nothing in the immediate neighborhood. You need to take a taxi to get anywhere you need to go. But that is thankfully very easy - the hotel arranges for transport and it only costs a few dollars. We took a taxi to the downtown, and the driver arrived back at the agreed upon pickup spot within 2 minutes of our requested time. The location was quiet at night so good for sleeping - much better than downtown San Jose.

Overall, this hotel is not a destination in of itself but is an excellent stayover for arriving / departing through the airport if you would rather stay in a quiet, out-of-the way place with some color and character rather than a generic hotel that the general herd goes to.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldenJeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

It took us about 2 1/2 hours to get from the car rental facility to Casa Conde because we got lost numerous times, but not complaining. We stopped to talk to the locals as well as see San Jose and eventually had one of the kids in the neighborhood where Casa Conde is located, lead us to the facility as we followed him on his skateboard. Again, a great adventure but I would highly recommend purchasing/using a GPS. The Apartotel & Suites are literally off the beaten path in a residential area but once you reach it, you are amazed. The entrance is beautiful (and guarded) and the facilities are top notch. Easy check-in, parking right outside of our buliding, bellman service and a beautiful interior make this a great place to stay and relax. Definitely a place I would recommend but there isn't much to see directy outside of the complex. Casa Conde offers modern and comfortable fully furnished 2-bedroom suites equipped with a kitchen, dining room, living room with sofa bed, 25-inch TV, DVD player, air conditioning, secure parking and all the amenities to make you feel right at home. I was able to use the fitness center and the equipment was modern and in good shape.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We had made prior arrangements to be picked up at 9:30pm (after the usual shuttle hours) and we had given our Frontier flight number so when we finally arrived at 11:30pm, we were very pleased to see our shuttle driver with our name on his sign. He drove us the 45 minutes to Casa Conde and the next day our rental car was delivered to us so we didn't have any real experience with the neighborhood. The 2 bedroom apartment was clean and comfortable and we were exhausted. Breakfast the next morning was simply amazing, it was so good! We don't think it was because we hadn't eaten since the afternoon before in Denver, CO. All kinds of fresh fruit, waffles, omelets, coffee, juice, cereal, toast, and more. All of the staff were extremely pleasant and it was a good "entrance" to our month long stay in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonlit12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We spent four nights here in a four week visit to Costa Rica. The location is inconvenient for downtown but the hotel has a free morning and afternoon shuttle which help to alleviate the problem. Taxis are easily available with the various destinations and prices posted in the hotel lobby.

The neighbourhood in which the hotel is located is unsafe for walkers and we were told by hotel staff to only turn left outside the gates, not right, and to never walk at night. The razor wire and window/door bars on all properties in the area were more evidence of the kind of area we were in.

Our apartment had a kitchen and a very useful washer and dryer, a small sitting room/dining room, two double bedrooms and the smallest bathroom we had during our stay. The sofa (hide-a-bed) couldn't be sat on in any comfort and the tv was disconnected on our arrival but the helpful staff soon got that fixed. The floors were covered in a fine dust which we feel is likely volcanic in origin, so wear slippers! Generally, the whole place looked "tired" and needed an update. The pool is unheated with no loungers available and the spa/hot tub is tepid. We later discovered the loungers near the spa in a noisy location without a view of any kind. Our room was quiet at night.

The staff did their best to make our stay pleasant. Many speak reasonably good English and all were helpful and cheerful. We enjoyed the breakfasts but did not like the one evening meal we ate there as the mushroom risotto was undercooked and made with evaporated milk. We'd recommend eating prior to arriving back for the evening or bringing something back with you. The fully equipped kitchen is not full or equipped as 2 of everything does not constitute a workable situation.

Room Tip: We were in building no. 4 on the ground floor. There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertaFrankieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I had the opportunity to spend 8 wonderful nights in this hotel. The staff was courteous, my breakfast, which was different each morning, was included in the price. They are definitely large suites. I had a two bedroom, kitchen, dining area and living area with a 20 foot arched ceiling and all this for a very reasonable price. I was able to witness several Costa Rican festivities, like a wedding and a birthday party, in the common reception dining/pool area. The halls are nicely appointed and the walls of the various buildings are all painted with floral/jungle patterns intermixed with actual vines. Very nice.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor suites have vaulted ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreggLooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
874 reviews
3.3 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#13 of 76 in San Jose
1,295 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.6 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,417 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Conde Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Conde Hotel & Suites

Property: Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
Address: Transversal 11 | Southwest side from Parque de la Paz, San Jose 68-2400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Conde Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites is a Four Acre Colonial Village style hotel of 110 guest rooms located within a residential neighborhood where you will be able to share a cup of Costa Rican coffee with our Good Neighbor Package. Casa Conde Hotel & Suites is located 30 minutes from the Juan Santamaria International Airport and just 5 minutes from downtown San Jose where you will be able to enjoy spectacular plays in the National Theatre with our Cultural Package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Conde Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose Hotel San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel And Suites San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing